Koh Gen Do Cleansing Spa Water

4.5

39 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dipropylene Glycol, Peg-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Lactic Acid, Arginine, Butylene Glycol, Artemisia Princeps Leaf Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Perilla Ocymoides Leaf Extract, Betula Alba Juice, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract, Glycerin.


on 5/7/2015 5:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've used a few different cleansing waters or micellar waters in the past and have never been particularly impressed with any of them. I seem to have the exact same problems with all of them. First, I have to use a LOT of product to clean all of my makeup off and I don't even wear much. I can't imagine how much you would have to use if you wore a lot! The best method of using, I've found, is to soak a pad in the cleanser and then press it against the skin, letting it dissolve the makeup a bit and then wiping away. After cleansing all the makeup off, my face feels sticky and a bit irritated from the wiping. I always have to follow up with cleanser because my face just doesn't feel clean afterwards. All in all, I don't think these are worth the expensive price tag when it performs the exact same way as a box of $5 wipes at the drugstore. I will not repurchase.



on 2/24/2015 3:04:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Ohhhh...finally a product that makes me actually login to my Makeup Alley account and post a review. This gem of a product removes even stubborn mascara with ease, and without oil. Leaves my skin much better than it found it. Use a round cotton pad, apply, and enjoy clean skin. Product never strips skin, but rather leaves it soft and quenched. Bottle looks small, but product lasts for a couple months. Addicted to this from day one.


on 2/10/2015 7:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is my first micellar water. I use it to take off my eye makeup and concealer when I get home from work, and I can't get over how great it is. It removes mascara so much better than what I was using previously (Almay eye makeup remover pads), and it doesn't irritate my eyes or leave an oily residue. I normally don't like to waste things, but I threw out my old makeup remover after seeing how good a makeup remover can be. It really feels like water but it removes makeup so well, and it isn't fragranced. It's gentle and hasn't irritated my skin - my skin feels good after I use it (neither too dry nor too oily) - and I like that there's a tiny bit of lactic acid in there. I can see why micellar waters are so popular. If you wear a lot of makeup you would need quite a few pads to take everything off - you'd probably be better off with a face wipe and then rinsing afterwards. For my purposes it's excellent.

I'm going to try the Simple micellar water after this to see if that works as well as this does, since I'd love a cheaper option.


on 1/25/2015 3:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love it, but it's expensive and I'm not certain it is better enough than others to be worth its price. I use other waters which are cheaper and seem to do the same (reversa micellar solution, bottle is 3 times bigger and I paid like 10% more for it, and it pretty much does the same thing so...) Like I said, nice stuff, but I'm sure this is just overpriced and I will be restocking on cheaper stuff when I'm out of my supply even though I love this.


on 1/8/2015 9:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I loved this product so much, I bought it for the toughest critic, my mom. When I didn't hear anything from her about it, I was surprised, but forgot about it. Turns out, she was finishing up something else. She called me yesterday and said, did you give me this little red bottle? I said yes, I was wondering what happened with it. I love it. I need more. It removes my eye makeup like a dream and doesn't irritate my eyes (which says a lot. She has the MOST sensitive eyes of anyone I know). I personally love it because other products designed to remove eye makeup (such as Mary Kay and Lancôme Bifacil) leave an oily residue that ruins my contact lenses.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2014 11:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

BEST MAKEUP REMOVER EVER.
I don't fully comprehend how something so light and gentle can destroy even the toughest bits of makeup. No stinging, no discomfort (even in the eye area) whatsoever. It's so good that after thorough usage of this, you don't even have to wash your face afterwards (hallelujah for us lazy girls!). Also, it doesn't stop working at makeup removal-- the morning after, you will notice that your skin looks so much better, and yes, the wonderful cleansing water is to thank for it.
Seriously, forsake all your old makeup removers and defect to this gem. It is a tad expensive but it is SO worth it.


on 12/16/2014 3:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've only ever used this micellar water, but after using it I definitely want to try more in the future. I find it's easier and less messy to remove my makeup with this than with a makeup wipe, cleansing oil, straight oil, or dual-phase makeup removers. This also leaves my dehydrated skin feeling moisturized and not tight at all.

I do have to use a good amount of product (going over each area twice, each with a new cotton pad) if I want to remove a full face though so I'm hoping to find one that is a bit stronger. Overall, I'm still pleased that this works so well with my skin type and would purchase this again immediately if I didn't enjoy trying out new things so much.


on 12/10/2014 6:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

It didn't really clean my eye makeup or make up off. I use regular mascara and light mineral makeup. The pros and reason why I bought it was because it had no fragrance or Dyes. I have sensitive skin so was very excited about his product. Unfortunate;y returned it since doesn't clean. Even a toner, or baby wipe cleans better than this.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Talk about an overhyped bottle of crap. Seriously. I had been hearing RAVE reviews about this product amongst Pro MUAs and amateurs alike for so long I finally broke down and paid the rediculous $30+ price tag for a bottle of this so called miracle makeup remover.

Let's start with packaging. The bottle is huge and ackward. It doesn't fit well inside my medicine cabinet. The flip top dispenser on the end is equally disappointing. It just kind of "drops" out of the cap. Forget squeezing the bottle. The plastic is thick and it takes a lot of pressure to squeeze it usually resulting in too much product being squeezed out when you finally succeed.

Then there's the product itself. As a makeup remover it removes almost very little. When compared to my usual makeup remover I'd guess this removes MAYBE 50% of what that remover does. When I use this product I always wake up the next morning with raccoon eyes from left over traces of mascara and liner and a few fresh zits to go along with it. Not to mention this burns my eyes and I noticed quite a few lashes falling out after 2 uses. No Bueno.

Being unsatisfied with its usefulness as a makeup remover I tried using it as a toner or pre makeup prep as some others have suggested and it's equally disappointing....again. While its touted as being gentle I found it to be ineffective and over drying although I can see how it might possibly be effective for those with extremely oily skin. I however will stick to my good ol trusty witch hazel.

So yeah.... save your money. This isn't a miracle in a bottle at all. It definitely does not deserve its over inflated price tag and the hype that goes along with it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2014 7:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Buy this. It's the best. I've been through a 3.5 oz and now it's sold out on Sephora and I'm jonesing. My poor eyes are so irritated from using something else that required me to scrub. This just sloughs off the makeup so easily, my waterproof eye stuff with no effort. LOVE.


Back to Top