Koh Gen Do • Cleansing Spa Water • Eye Makeup Remover

rated 4.9(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.9
Would buy this product again.95%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 okidoki35 on 4/5/2014 5:16:00 AM more reviews by okidoki35

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I prefer to clean my makeup off prior to using a cleanser. I bought the smaller size to try, and I find this product very effective. Since it's water-based, it doesn't leave your face feeling dried out, no having that film I normally get from using a cleansing oil (don't really matter at the end since if use a cleanser at the end). It probably won't replace your cleanser, but if there's that lazy day, at least swiping your face with this water will help you get most of your makeup off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lulululululu on 3/31/2014 8:44:00 PM more reviews by lulululululu

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

It is hard to believe what an amazing product this is. In a gentle way, this product is able to clean your face and remove stubborn makeup. Perfection!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hautevita on 3/16/2014 5:48:00 PM more reviews by hautevita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

price: expensive
packaging: great, especially the large size with pump (wished it was EVEN larger)

i love how there is so scent to it. it feels so fresh and i feel so clean.

before jumping into the shower, i take one cottan pad and do 1 pump onto the cottan pad and remove my foundation/eye makeup- takes it off without feeling any stings or fragrances/chemical scent (i have extremely dry sensitive skin- mac, josie maran, biore makeup wipes all feel too overpowering in terms of scent and it stings my face)

after in the shower, i wash my face with foam cleanser, sometimes before that a milky makeup remover

after i get out of the shower, i use my hitachi crie and pump 1 pump onto cotton pad again and go over my face...

i really feel clean, but i dont know if im over cleaning my face (very paranoid with suncreen+foundation leaving residue)

overall, its easy to use, great for sensitive skin like me and i feel cleansed

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princess2010 on 12/17/2013 8:11:00 PM more reviews by princess2010

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am on my second bottle of Koh Gen Do Cleansing Spa Water. It's my favorite overall makeup remover ever. It's pricey, but so worth it! This is some sort of miracle product because I can put it on a cotton pad and brush it over my eye and remove all my eye makeup. It doesn't sting at all and gets the makeup off. I can never find eye makeup remover that doesn't sting my eyes so this stuff is like liquid gold to me. I use it to take my makeup off before exfoliating as well. It doesn't smell to me and comes in a travel size or a bigger size. I love the travel size because it's more affordable. I can't imagine anyone not liking this except for the price. Despite the price tag I have to have this product in my life so I just repurchased 6 travel size backups to have on hand!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mspicky on 11/17/2013 10:04:00 PM more reviews by mspicky

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ridiculous.that's what I thought. But I bought some because I was low on bioderma. For the first time people say, what are you using because your skin looks amazing. Me, have amazing skin? I'm 40 with a history of cystic acne and rosacea. The only things I use are clarisonic machine with a dab of neutrogena every few days and this cleansing water. Random moisturizers and serum round out my skincare, when I remember to use them. So yeah, ridiculous expensive water that works. I bought because beauty look book said its good. She is reliable, that one. Anyways, now I have amazing skin. It makes me feel giddy. And thats worth more than any other makeup I can use. All I can say is, try it. It sounds unbelievable. I became a believer!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slc on 8/19/2013 6:51:00 AM more reviews by slc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Niiiice! Consistency of water but removes all makeup, even eye makeup, with no stinging, no oily residue, no nothing. It's like magic.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MelissaMH on 7/17/2013 10:41:00 AM more reviews by MelissaMH

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Great stuff. I saturate a cotton pad with two pumps of the product, and wipe it across my face, removing foundation and blush first and then my eye makeup (I find that if I've worn a large amount of eye makeup I might have to remove it first with a traditional product like Lancome's). In the evening, I use this as a pre-cleanse before using my LMdB creme cleanser, although there have been many times where I have used the Koh Gen Do cleansing water on its own. It works wonderfully. There is a faint, clean herbal scent which I don't finding irritating. For a truly sublime experience, try the cleansing water with a Koh Gen Do organic cotton pad.

On to the price. Yes, it is expensive, but so is Bioderma if you are purchasing outside of France (one should be wary of counterfeit Bioderma being sold for super low prices online--500 ml of real Bioderma sold in the United States costs at least $40). And the Koh Gen Do water gives skincare benefits that Bioderma does not. I purchase the Koh Gen Do in the 480 mL size at Barney's (it comes with a pump) for $52 which is the best price per mL out there. I get more than five months out of a half-liter bottle, meaning that a large bottle of Koh Gen Do costs about $10 per month. That's three cappuccinos at Starbuck's that I have to go without in order to afford this product. Easy enough. And Koh Gen Do products are categorically NOT tested on animals. This isn't urban lore, it's clearly stated on their home page.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nicolekm on 6/26/2013 3:24:00 PM more reviews by nicolekm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a HG product for me. It's absolute perfection. It removes all of my makeup (from foundation to mascara) effortlessly. After using this, my skin always feels so soft... never greasy. I have really sensitive eyes, and while removing mascara or eyeliner, I've accidentally gotten some of this in my eyes... I've never experienced any discomfort or irritation as a result. It's amazing! Definitely worth checking out... especially if your eyes are sensitive like mine. I started out with the smallest size, just to test it out, and have since moved on to the largest size they have with the pump. It's great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hopelessheart on 5/12/2013 9:16:00 PM more reviews by hopelessheart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is amazing. I originally bought this product on a whim because I love Japanese cosmetic brands (although I hadn't heard of it before, but I have located it in Japan and its just as expensive). Anyways this is fantastic, I use it to remove my eye makeup and it does not sting my eyes at all. As the product is so expensive I remove the bulk of my makeup with a wipe then lightly go over my face with the other side of the cotton rounds I used on my eyes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AD1990 on 5/11/2013 10:33:00 PM more reviews by AD1990

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation remover (for eyes, I use Lancome's Bi-Facil). This does take eye make up off very well without stinging, however, since I use waterproof eye make up, it takes some rubbing and I just don't want this precious product to go away so quickly because of the price, nor do I want any premature eye wrinkles from all the tugging without the help of an oil. I find it a nice substitute for all the facial-oil cleansing fad that is happening (which usually leaves me with deep cystic acne the day after). For someone as acne-prone and sensitive as me, this cleanses thoroughly without breaking me out, and I love the thought of it feeding my skin with nutrients while I'm cleaning it! Also, it's convenient for traveling if you need to take off your make up but don't have access to a lot of water (camping, etc). Though normally, I do wash my face after wiping my face with cotton pads soaked in KGD. *A tip to save some money: since water is the first ingredient on the wonderful list, you can just fill a smaller bottle with half KGD cleansing water and the other half with clean drinking water! It works just as well and doubles your supply ;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Koh Gen Do products

More Eye Makeup Remover products