Yves Saint Laurent • Volume Effet Faux Cils Shocking Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.3(78 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Auburn404 on 4/6/2014 12:38:00 PM more reviews by Auburn404

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this at Nordstrom when they had a mascara sale. The salesgirl convinced me to try it so I thought why not, even though I had never heard of it. This is just okay, not great. It does give you fairly thick and long lashes, however the more you put on, the more they clump and start to look spidery. I have to use a light application and I have to use something different on my bottom lashes. I also recommend wiping most of the product away on a tissue before you put it on your lashes, that way you won't get the clumpy lashes look. But the fact that I even have to do that makes me not want to buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jccmz on 4/3/2014 1:08:00 PM more reviews by jccmz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was completely wrong for my sensitive eyes and "Asian" (thin, short, point straight down) lashes. There is a fragrance that is so overpowering and, either the frangrance or something else in the formula makes my eye tear constantly. And since the formula isn't waterproof, then of course the mascara would start to run and make a huge mess of my eye makeup. I was disappointed that the fragrance was so strong that I think I was able to try it a total of three or four times before it became clear this mascara would not work for me. I tried it with a layer of waterproof mascara under it; I also tried it with a layer of waterproof mascara over it. Each time, the fragrance or the formula would make my eyes water and then the mascara would run and/or flake. Too bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 charmressa on 3/4/2014 5:55:00 PM more reviews by charmressa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Formula is extremely wet, clumpy and difficult to work with. After 4 hours of wear, it was flaking and leaving a mess all over my face. Removal was difficult with flakes sticking to my face. For $36 (Canadian price at Sephora), one would think that this was more than just an "okay" mascara but obviously that wasn't the case. Would never repurchase or recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 prinsessekristine on 2/23/2014 2:26:00 PM more reviews by prinsessekristine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this mascara as a gift, so I really wanted to like it. But I really did not. I think it is one of the worst mascaras I've ever tried. The product looks sticky on the brush, and after applying just one coat, my lashes are like "glued" togheter. It looks like I have three thick and wide eyelashes. I'd rather wear no mascara than this... After one week, It's totally dried out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LivingItUp on 2/18/2014 5:35:00 PM more reviews by LivingItUp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Shocking, but in a bad way. I LOVE YSL products but this one was not good. The first time I used it... Flakes everywhere! Brand new tube, it wasn't because it was dried out. Heavy, did not hold my curl. Too wet.

I tired it with a different brush, better but volume not in a good way. I will probably use it up cause it was pretty pricey. Won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stacyavdeeva on 2/10/2014 4:07:00 PM more reviews by stacyavdeeva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

The YSL Faux Cils Shocking mascara is great for very black, dramatic lashes without layering. I received a sample of this from the YSL website when ordering some lipsticks, and I fell in love with it and ordered the full size. Expensive mascara for sure ($30). This intensifies your lashes very quickly. However, I prefer my mascara wand to have little product on it, and the packaging does not control excess very well, so you're left with a lot on the wand. This is where the tricky part comes and why many people said it's clumpy.
From my experience, you need to wiggle a little at the root of the lash then gently and quickly pull up towards the tip of the lash to avoid clumps. Some still happen, so I would recommend a lash/eyebrow comb to be on hand. But it really lengthens and volumizes beautifully (if you can get it to look not clumpy). When dry, your lashes don't feel stiff either. My eyes tend to water, and this mascara can smudge a little due to it not being waterproof.
Overall, this mascara needs a little work but if done right, it's amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shi1 on 1/25/2014 2:09:00 PM more reviews by shi1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review for the sample version I received from Sephora so I can't comment on the packaging of the full size product but just from what I've seen it looks beautiful and luxurious.
This mascara is advertised as a volumizing product and it definitely delivers on that front. It is very black, lengthens and gives a lot of volume and drama. It is decent at separating lashes but it can get clumpy /spidery if you try to put too much of it on. It is perfumed, and it leaves your lashes soft (not stiff) after it dries. I have straight asian lashes that require curling and a mascara that will hold that curl, and this doesn't do that so its a no go for me. I do sometimes use it on top of another mascara to add more oomph. If curl isn't an issue for you, and all you want is that major feathery volume in a few quick swipes, then this might be right for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 paleandpink on 12/30/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by paleandpink

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok so where do I start? I was doing yet another mascara research and came across this one. I had high hope for glorious lashes the were long and clump less. Well I ran out to buy it and got it home and of course had to try it right away. Loved it at first as my lashes looked so long and no clumps. Fast forward a couple of weeks using the mascara and it started to clumped like crazy and had pretty much dried up. I HATE THIS MASCARA.
BTW: I exchanged for another tube and same results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theprincessmelted on 12/29/2013 12:53:00 PM more reviews by theprincessmelted

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I received this mascara as a gift. It works wonders on my asian eyelashes! It makes them long and noticeable without being too clumpy and doesn't flake or smudge. I wouldn't use it on my bottom lashes but on the top it makes them nice and feathery. Best mascara I've ever used (although I've only tried drugstore brands).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Makeupbyamandam on 11/24/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by Makeupbyamandam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I read a lot of reviews about this mascara before I bought it. While I am no stranger to the higher priced mascaras (I find that I always go back to Dior Blackout) I have found myself liking the performance (and price point) of Loreal Voluminous Full Definition but felt I was missing something with a more luxurious feel. People complained about the formula and the clumping and flaking so I was naturally apprehensive. I already have rather long lashes so I always go for volumizing mascara and the sales clerk in Sephora tried to talk me out of this one and into YSL's Baby Doll (I think) but I stuck to my guns and bought it anyway and I love it! The trick to this mascara is to not be in a hurry when you use it. If you pull the brush out too fast you will deposit too much product from the brush to your lashes. But if you work at a moderate pace and apply in short wiggling strokes it applies very smoothly it does give a voluminous false lash effect. I tend to work from the middle of my lashes out so there's less product once I get to the corners of my eyes and I don't dip back in to do the bottom lashes. I was impressed with the pigmentation (I only wear black mascara and some appear grayish to me) and my lashes actually feel nourished upon removal. What I love about it is that my lashes stay put once it sets and don't seem to get weighed down by the product throughout the day. I found one coat is all I need for my lashes to look their best. As far as the wear goes, I have not experienced any flaking and removing it is a breeze, which I love because getting mascara all the way off my lashes is a pain. I followed Sephora.com's application guidelines (in addition to my own) and got an even better result the second time I used it. Some were hung up on the scent which doesn't really bother me. It's on my eyes not my nose! I find that this is common with higher end cosmetics anyway. However, I am sad I love it so much because I tend to choke on the $30 price point since as I mentioned, I have been wearing Loreal a lot lately at 8.99 per tube. I've used it now daily for 2 weeks and the consistency is the same. I think I will be purchasing another tube regardless though!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Mascara products