Living Proof • Restore • Shampoo

rated 2.9(20 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loveoutdoors on 4/2/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by loveoutdoors

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I went camping in an area that has extremely hard water so I knew I needed to take a shampoo and conditioner that was both gentle on color yet still got my hair clean and worked with very hard water, This shampoo fit the bill, 2 weeks with the extremely hard water using the shampoo and my hair still looked good. Has a slightly fruity aroma so if scent bothers you that could be a glitch, however the scent doesn't last on your hair. My hair was clean, soft and shiney so I think this was the perfect product at the perfect time. I also used the conditioner and the two together worked really well. For reference my hair is mid length, past shoulders, a bit wavy and slightly fine, though lots of it and I color regularly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 3/30/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Good, but not $28 good. And it's only an 8oz bottle too.
This shampoo is very heavily scented with that perfume-y Living Proof scent, but it doesn't linger. Very rich and thick texture, lathers up and cleans my hair thoroughly.
I do find it makes my hair a little bit more tangly before conditioning, it isn't really moisturizing at all. Definitely not worth it for the price.
When I bought this from Ulta I had a generous coupon and I redeemed some of my rewards points, so in the end I ended up paying about half price. I'm glad I got such a great deal because while this is a decent product, it's an overpriced one. I really don't see why a plain old shampoo from the drugstore wouldn't be as good if not better than this one.
Have to say I wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hbon98 on 2/15/2014 4:18:00 PM more reviews by hbon98

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was really excited to try Living Proof Restore. After seeing all the ads and the fact that is endorsed by Jennifer Aniston who seemingly has perfect hair, I just had to try it. I really thought it was going to be a miracle in a bottle and truly restore my damaged highlighted hair. I bought the trial size restore kit and I was very disappointed with the results. It made my hair dull and limp and greasy. I am glad I only bought the trial size. If you are going to try this product I recommend starting out with the trial size before investing in the full size bottles.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fuzzysham on 1/30/2014 8:52:00 PM more reviews by fuzzysham

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this with the matching conditioner and it has really improved the condition of my hair! Like a previous reviewer said, it lathers really well for a sulfate free shampoo and you really don't need a lot at all. The packaging is really nice too, easy to open in the shower. I would be so happy to see a bigger bottle option for this shampoo and the conditioner. I haven't used anything in weeks and my hair has never looked and felt this good! Love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci23 on 10/10/2013 6:57:00 PM more reviews by staci23

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am a huge fan of this shampoo and conditioner. I was surprised to see how well it lathers given that it is sulfate free. My hair feels strong and healthy after using both products. I like the packaging. The cap and bottle are easy to control with one hand while in the shower. The only downside is the price, but I will say that I was using Kerastase Bain Satin 1 and stopped using it to switch to this. Kerastase was more expensive than this. I feel like this shampoo cleanses my hair without stripping it, but it also gets rid of any product in my hair as well. It leaves it feeling nice and balanced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Bellerusa on 9/2/2013 9:43:00 AM more reviews by Bellerusa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to like this product. Beautiful packaging and inspiring image of J. Aniston on the ad, together with ULTA girl's words of praise, were so persuading. I bought it. I've used it religiously every 2-3 days ever since, for about a month already, together with the light volumizing conditioner by the same brand.
Let's put this way, I'm not happy with the product. I like the smell, I like the texture, but it just doesn't do much for me. I feel like my hair got even frizzier and drier, I have add argan oil to damp hair every time and to use tons of product to make it look decent. Frustrated. Search for the perfect shampoo continues!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anapp822 on 8/16/2013 5:13:00 PM more reviews by anapp822

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Absolutely hated this line. I have dark brown, highlighted hair that's mid-way down my back. I blowdry every 2-3 days and occasionally use a flat iron. I try to use sulfate- and silicone-free products to preserve my color and protect my hair, and had heard great things about the LP line.

I tried the Restore Shampoo and Conditioner, No Frizz Styling Creme and Weightless Spray, and Satin serum. I could tell that the shampoo and conditioner were drying out my hair while I was still in the shower -- I couldn't run my fingers through my hair at all. I used the three styling products when I got out of the shower, and started to blow dry. My hair felt like straw, and when I tried to add a little more of the Satin serum, it just felt like sticky straw. My ends looked completely fried and the cuticle just looks frizzy and not smooth at all.

I tried the shampoo, conditioner, and products 3 more times since I first purchased and tried them 2 weeks ago, and finally returned everything to Sephora today. In 2 weeks, I have not worn my hair down once because of how poofy and dry it looks. Not recommended!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Katejang81 on 8/16/2013 3:51:00 PM more reviews by Katejang81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is long,full of thin hair,and slightly damaged. I received a sample of this shampoo and conditioner. It did not wow me at all. It left my hair dry yet greasy looking. I wouldn't purchase the expensive full size. I've had drugstore shampoos that have worked better than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sopheeya on 7/29/2013 12:48:00 AM more reviews by sopheeya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Was very generously given some samples of this in the shampoo, conditioner and mask to try at home; I was given twice the usual amount as I have a lot of hair. First off, I needed to use all of the product to clean and condition my hair, in fact I used both conditioner samples and one mask at the same time because I didn't feel as though it was moisturising or detangling enough. My hair came out dry and not as clean as it could have been, so value for money + quality doesn't seem to be very good. On the plus side it smells lovely, but as this is a premium priced product definitely not worth it. Very strange, considering when I wash my hair with practically any new shampoo and conditioner it always feels so lovely the first time even though over time it may not be the best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Greenishblush on 2/22/2013 12:03:00 AM more reviews by Greenishblush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I so badly wanted to love this shampoo but I did not:( it made my hair look/feel like it was super dry and in bad condition. Also it was expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Living Proof products

More Shampoo products