Butter London • The Black Knight • Polishes

rated 3.6(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Jayblab on 7/17/2014 8:36:00 PM more reviews by Jayblab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is somewhere in my top 3 polished of all time. Quite possibly top 1. I love the color, love the name, love that one coat is enough, love that it looks like the universe/galaxy which I'm into. All butter London polishes are overpriced but they are really good quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bikerchick on 4/11/2014 2:18:00 PM more reviews by bikerchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The Black Knight is probably one of my favorite blacks! I guess I'm not surprised by the negative reviews, this polish does have some negatives, it's a bit thick and the finish tends to be rough, but I still love it! I use a ridge filling base coat by Nailtek, 2 coats of TBK, the first coat thin the second thicker, then a heavy coat of Sally Hansen Insta-Dry. Sometimes the polish will still feel a little rough so I will add another layer of top coat and it smooths right out. TBK dries super fast, I can polish my nails 15 minutes before I get in bed and won't have any dents or sheet marks the next morning. I have none of the flaking and wear issues other reviewers are complaining of. I get 4-5 days of chip-free wear and that is pretty much average for me with all brands of polish. I also love Butter's rather small and short brush, I feel like I get great control with it. As for removal, I use the acetone Up&Up brand Dip It jar from Target (if you don't have one, go to Target and get it! Now! Run!) and the polish comes right off, glitter and all. Overall, TBK is a great polish and I would happily repurchase in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TickTockAlice on 8/15/2013 1:04:00 AM more reviews by TickTockAlice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Alright...Butter London....listen up. I've been avoiding writing this review but, the time has come. I just can't take it anymore. I have purchased only 3 Butter polishes and 1 Lippy and I am dead serious when I say that I will not be repurchasing anything from this brand ever...again.

I love this color, I do. I love most of their colors tbh. The packaging really shows the colors off, makes them look almost good enough to eat. You see them...you want to buy them ALL.

However....the quality SUCKS. Hard.

Every single time I attempt to wear one of my Butter polishes (I have Disco Biscuit, the Black Knight, and No More Waitie Katie) I regret it quickly after. Their formula applies worse than 99 cent store polish. You seriously have to use coats upon coats to get close to the color it looks like in the bottle. Make sure you use a base coat because if you don't and you apply one that has any glitter in it, you're gonna have a bad time, I can promise you that.

What's WEIRD about that is that removing it with polish remover is about the most difficult task I have ever encountered, yet their polish doesn't just chip off...it PEELS off...in large chunks. You'll find em all over your house, in your hair, in your bed. Im not kidding. Every single color has done this and I've tried them all in every way I possibly can...base coat, no base coat, top coat, no top coat...under or over other polish....doesn't matter. After maybe a day of wear after using so much of the bottle to achieve the color it's "supposed" to be it just...pfft...flakes off...leaving a trail of $14 glitter in its wake.

I have NO clue why these are so popular. Yes, the colors and the sparkles are very pretty, but dude...$14 for a bottle of crap polish is absolute insanity. Don't even get me STARTED on the tiny stiff brush...

Their Lippy (which I bought in Trout Pout) was the most DISGUSTING smelling, feeling, looking thing I've put on my lips. Ever. Planet Beauty wouldn't take it back. I might as well have flushed $17 down the toilet. So nasty, I tossed it.

Butter London is a total rip. I've talked to a lot of people who feel the same way and have similar experiences with their products. I honestly feel they are straight up ripping people off under the guise of cute packaging and fine glitter.

I'm anti-Butter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cindi33 on 11/6/2012 11:32:00 PM more reviews by Cindi33

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is an absolutely gorgeous polish to wear! The color is rich and the glittery sparkles so fine that it's like stardust on your nails. It took 2 coats to cover evenly and I used Seche Vite top coat to seal it all and give it a nice smooth glassy finish. The downsides, and sadly there were a lot: the polish was thick and gloppy and didn't flow on evenly and had to be worked to get a mostly even layer of polish on. It dried very quickly so I had to work fast. The brush handle/cap was small and hard to hold onto. The brush itself was small too and had stray bristles that kept a perfect application from occurring. The polish dried gritty and had no shine. And worst of all, by the end of day 2 I had a lot of chipping and they weren't small ones either! Such a gorgeous polish, but it's some work to get the desired results as they aren't going to come straight out of this bottle. I love the way the cornered bottles nest together and take up so little space and are so convenient for storage, but the brush is such a disappointment and frankly for $14, I expected a much better quality overall in this polish. I have 1.99 Wet n Wild polishes that outperform this $14 disaster. I'd buy this again as I love the color and the way it looks on once you get it finished, but I couldn't recommend this to a friend. Buy it only if you really love the color because that is all it has going for it. It would be great for a special occasion or date night, but don't expect it to last as long as your manis usually do. It's not going to happen. It was hard to say if I would buy it again. At $14, absolutely not, but if it were on sale then I certainly would as I am still sitting here looking at my mani even with chipped polish it is soo beautiful and I love this color. every little movement and my nails come alive with dancing lights. I have had many compliments on this mani.

*EDIT* You want a dupe for this for less than $2? Private Show by Pure Ice Seriously. I tested them on my own hands. Skip Butter London's cute package and buy the Pure Ice. Save yourself $ and hassle.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pretty_please on 11/4/2012 4:00:00 PM more reviews by pretty_please

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This polish is gorgeous but it takes a bit of work for it to look flawless and awesome. I have heard some had luck using a bit of thinner in it right off the bat and also putting gelous base coat over it (before topcoat) to deal with the gritty texture or doing one coat of TBK over black. I like the polish so much and also really into BL a lot so I don't mind it taking some extra TLC...but it's also pretty chippy. More so than other BL polishes...I just think it's soooo pretty.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DiscoverBeauty on 9/23/2012 6:39:00 AM more reviews by DiscoverBeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I understand why some people won't like this polish, but I still love it! It does apply a little goopy, dries matte, and is gritty once dried, but Seche Vite fixes it all. I used 3 medium coats and finished off with 2 coats of Seche Vite top coat. It was a sparkly, smooth, and spectacular manicure. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jade716 on 8/26/2012 8:28:00 PM more reviews by Jade716

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this and saw that the glitter in this is the same as Sally Hansen's Rockstar Pink that I already owned. So I returned the Butter London since I can simply paint a coat of Rockstar Pink over a black polish and save $14. I am dying to have a Button London in my collection but they continue to disappoint me. :-(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 18psu55 on 4/29/2012 1:03:00 AM more reviews by 18psu55

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have tried two Butter London glitter polishes and I am so disappointed with both of them. This looks gorgeous in the bottle, but when put on the nails it is a very different story. It was opaque in 3 coats, but it was a very rough texture that not even a super thick top coat could fix. It actually dried to be a bit matte as well. And it chipped about two hours after wearing it! I've heard such great things about this brand but every polish I have tried has not lived up to any hype. I will be returning this polish for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 demmer on 4/27/2012 10:20:00 PM more reviews by demmer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I looooove this colour so much, black base with blue, hot pink and silver fine glitter running through it, this looks like tiny galaxies on my nails. The application was great, my bottle wasn't gloopy at all, I used base coat, three coats of The Black Knight and one layer of top coat. The polish still feels a tiny bit gritty after one layer of top coat so I usually put on a second coat the next day. This polish virtually chemically bonds with my nails so I get agggges of wear out of it, I usually take it off to switch colours, rather than because it has chipped. Like all the other Butter London polishes I have tried, this is amazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julia941 on 3/6/2012 11:28:00 AM more reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love ButterLondon polishes and this is no exception. It is a deep black with subtle flashes of multi-coloured glitter and it lasts roughly forever on my nails. I used BL base and top coat with it and it has been on for several days with almost no signs of wear. Not even tip wear. It was kind of thick and gloppy going on but I think cleaning the neck of the bottle and maybe a drop or two of thinner would easily fix that. I applied this right before cooking dinner, which I thought would ruin it, but it didn't. The following day there were no sheet marks and I was thrilled because I really didn't think I gave it enough time to really dry and harden. I proceeded to do chores all weekend, folding towels, cleaning out closets and drawers, opening boxes, dealing with the cat box, etc and nothing. Still looks great. Then it became an experiment to see how much abuse it would be able to take digging in my purse for keys, showers, nothing fazed it so far. It is growing out but still not chipping. It has a slight ding from a drawer being closed on it but it's not really visible to the naked eye, but I can feel it. I know the colour isn't super unusual, it can be frankened, and it's expensive but if you are looking for long lasting polish for a trip or something this will probably hold up the entire time. I want to take it off soon because I have untrieds I want to use and I'm afraid it will be more difficult than most glitter polish because it's bonded to my DNA or something. Highly recommended.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Butter London products

More Polishes products