Tokidoki • Gelato Lip Balm Stain • Lips

rated 4.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Ceesaroni on 9/28/2012 2:56:00 AM more reviews by Ceesaroni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

These are some of the newest craze which is a lipstick/lip balm hybrid so theyre both pigmented as well as moisturizing! what more could you want in a lip product? Plus there's a broad color range! They have a creamy texture to them and best of all they dont get on your teeth BUT they're a little too greasy for my taste. Everytime I put some on theres always residue around the rim :/

Not to mention theyre kind of pricey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 theinfinitepet on 8/17/2012 10:39:00 PM more reviews by theinfinitepet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this on sale online at Sephora for three dollars(although I believe the original price is $9), and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this product! I got the shade "Donutella" which, more or less, matches the color of my lips. The balm, which has a nice fruity scent, is more moisturizing than many others are, and the color stays on your lips for a couple of hours. If you are looking for a rich, deep color, this is probably not for you because it tends to give a more natural look. I probably wouldn't buy again at $9 - would probably go for Revlon's balm stains instead - but I would repurchase again on sale for casual use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shectasy on 7/29/2012 9:04:00 PM more reviews by shectasy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the shade "Pink Martini" and I absolutely love it !

Packaging : Very cute, more for teenagers/young people since it's not "sophisticated" neither chic. The only problem with it is that it doesn't have a sharp shape, it's "flat" so it's not really easy to apply, but well it's not a huge challenge (at least for me, maybe for very thin lips).

Color : A really pretty pink, not too bright though. It has not a lot of shimmer, which I like.

Quality : It DOES moisturizes ! I don't lie ! I have very dry lips, and it helps a lot ! After a point it starts to dry again, but just reapply the lip balm and it's right.
For the stain power, I actually don't know how long does it stain until it fades. I only wore it like 3/4 hours, but at the end of those hours the color was still nice and pink.

I'm so happy with this product that I'm going to buy the others colors !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* syeung2 on 7/24/2012 3:58:00 PM more reviews by syeung2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Donutella - bright reddish peach in the tube, but wears more like a soft natural peachy nude (MLBB) tone

Mozzarella - bright reddish orange in the tube, but wears more like a bright warm-toned rosy pink on me (AAB/NC25). very bright and vibrant color.


Product - The pigmentation is surprisingly rich for a lip balm, and perfect for a lip balm stain. And it does actually stain my lips for several hours, and without drifting onto my face. The color wears evenly, too - no odd faded rings on the lips! Feels like a lip balm, soft and moist, not hard or waxy.


Comparisons - Texture and wear remind me of Tarte Lipsurgence lip balm stains, though the Tokidoki last a bit longer. Texture also reminds me of Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment.


Packaging - Twist-up lipstick type tube with long lid and short exposed base. Clear plastic lid with tokidoki graphics specific to each character/shade.


Overall - I love lip balm stains and these are a great find (did I mention they have great pigmentation?), plus they were a steal on Sephora closeout at $5 each.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dustgirl on 7/5/2012 9:35:00 PM more reviews by dustgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I recently purchased Carina, Ciao Ciao, Mozzarella, Pink Martini. Was so pleased with them that I decided to hunt down more and added Skeletrina and Donutella, even getting a back up of Donutella.

These are all lovely. A Chapstick like balm, but more glossy, and sheer color that you can layer for more intensity. The real selling point is that these balms are also stains, yet they do not dry out my lips. Of course you do have to reapply to maintain the glossy finish, but if you don't, you will still be left with a lovely stain on your lips. Sephora is discontinuing the Tokidoki line, do get these while you can! I was able to buy mine for $5 Canadian.

Edit to say I've uploaded a couple of pics and normally I am into more elegant makeup packaging, but these are just so darn cute!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissRaffix3 on 6/30/2012 2:59:00 AM more reviews by MissRaffix3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this in the color Pink Martini at Sephora today for only $3 on sale. The color is a very pretty hot pink. It goes on smoothly, and while the balm wears off like a normal lip balm, the color does stay on your lips like a stain. So you will definitely want to be careful of how much you apply!
It smells slightly sweet like candy, which I like. And I adore the packaging! It's so cute and it's probably the thing that sticks out most to me about this product, as I've never owned a lip balm with such an interesting looking tube before. I would definitely recommend heading to Sephora to get these for only $3 before they're all gone!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SoraHime on 4/18/2012 11:34:00 PM more reviews by SoraHime

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I initially bought Donutella without realizing it was a lip stain as well (I got caught up with how cute she was) and was pleasantly surprised that it was a lip stain as well! The scent is pretty nice too. I made it a point to visit another Sephora store shortly since it had a light feeling to it and did have a decent moisturizing and staying power to pick up Skeletrina and did regret not picking up Pink Martini at the same time (so this means another trip to Sephora)!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ayalalaya on 2/21/2012 2:31:00 PM more reviews by ayalalaya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

$9 is the most I have and ever will pay for a lip balm. This balm is very moisturizing when first applied but then dries my lips out in less than an hour. I bought this in Skeletrina which smells sweet like grapes. The color in the tube looks so dark and purple but it appears on my lips as a raspberry color. It is very pigmented and the stain it gives lasts quite a while, even after eating and brushing my teeth. The tube is designed with little cartoons which is cute and I would guess that the targeted consumer is of the younger crowd. I would repurchase, but I wished the lip balm was shaped more like lipstick so that applying would be more precise.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MalibuMands on 11/28/2011 5:29:00 PM more reviews by MalibuMands

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in Pink Martini - a well-pigmented glossy, hot pink shade.


My Gelato Lip Balm Stain is just as moisturizing as Lip Smackers, ensuring my lips are kept hydrated and flake free during cold weather and central heating. And, true to it's name, not only is it a highly effective balm, but the colour actually does wear like a traditionally drying lip stain - it stays put for hours, through both eating and drinking.




I'm loving mine and I wish that I'd bought more shades when I was in America.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BebiMou on 11/18/2011 4:59:00 AM more reviews by BebiMou

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hmmm. I have never heard of a lip balm stain before now, but I'm glad I came across this on Sephora's site. I got it today and I've been wearing it for about 2 hours so far, and it's still there. I have it in Pink Martini, and it's sort of a fushia pink. It's really pigmented and my lips are still very moist as of now and the color is also just as it was when I first applied it. It really feels like a regular lip balm, moist and shiny. I don't know how it will be when it starts to wear off, so I will update on that later. The packaging is really cute, which is always a plus, and it tastes like some kind of cherry candy, which I love. So far, so good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tokidoki products

More Lips products