Jan Marini Bioglycolic Facial Cleanser

4.4

150 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Glycolic Acid (12%), Sorbitol, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Ammonium Hydroxide, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben 10/1/11


on 5/12/2015 8:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am 19 and for the last few months have just started breaking out bad and it was progressively getting worse. I tried every cheap product and nothing worked. I went to a skin nurse clinic and they suggested using this cleanser. Ontop of this I use the iS CLINICAL pro heal and cooling serum followed by sun cream during the day and the active serum at night. First week of this cleanser was amazing: no new spots, old marks fading, softer even skin tone. Second week I did have a break out (may be the purging stage) however, this was the time when I usually break out anyway (Half way through my cycle). Although I broke out my spots were no where near as bad... They didn't last as long as they weren't deep and painful. I will keep using this product and hope I get out of this stage! Would defo recommend tho.
I use it x2 a day. Really does take off all your make up and leaves you feeling clear (DO NOT USE MAKE UP WIPES)
Because it leaves your skin feeling even it means make up goes on better which means acne scars and active spots are less visible with make up on... Win win!



on 12/28/2014 9:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this product has done nothing but break me out for the past 3 weeks. I am taking this back to my dermatologist on Monday and asking for a refund. I've been using this along with the bio clear lotion. the lotion seemed to be working at first but now I see no result from it. from all the good reviews I thought this combo would be a miracle worker for 80 dollars, but much rather have clogged pores than all these whiteheads and cysts. this product also has done nothing for the discoloration of my skin. it has not smoothed out a patch of acne scars located on my temple from a previous break out nor has it made them appear less red. if you have ethnic skin like me, I am of Latina decent and although I am fair skinned; be very cautious if you decide to use this product. I would recommend asking the dermatologist for an anti biotic while on this product. birth control is not enough, as that is what I am on and broke out anyway. why did you continue to use this product for so long although it made you break out, you may ask? well I was obviously desperate for the product to work, reading reviews of "a purging period," but that's not right; I was also out of town most of the time and this product did do a good job at making my face feel clean and free of make up, but it's not worth it. I woke up everyday to new painful acne and I am terrified of scarring now or to put anything on my face. please keep in mind that when I say it made me break out guys; I am not exaggerating. I'm talking I had a number of 23 combination of pimples and cysts on my face. I know because I counted them. I've never even had that many pimples over time since hitting puberty and I'm 22 years old. Can you imagine the embarrassment thanks to this face wash? it has ruined my life, and looking at the website I should have known better and done more research. All the before and after pictures of acne prone skin were over a minimum time of 6 months and weren't even good results. The person never had amazing skin at the end and still always had scarring and pimples. Mind you these people were using the entire line. Why don't you just go check it out for yourself? Anyway I decide to post this review, as I have already read every single review for this product and the bio clear lotion, and many people say they see "instant results" and say they will update later, but usually don't...to warn you if you have oily, acne prone skin or clogged pores, that this may not be the product for you. don't believe the hype. "purging period" is not worth the scarring acne will leave on you forever, unless you want to pay for laser resurfacing later, although I would still say it's not worth it. now I'm going to have to take labs and ask my MD for Spironolactone just to clear this mess up, and who knows how long I will have to take that, but much rather do that than continue to use this product. Also this product did not dry out my skin, which many people said it did, and it also did make my skin appear shiny and dolphin like, which many people say it didn't.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2014 2:17:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been using this on and off for a long time. I can confidently say that I am now using my last bottle of this cleanser ever.

PROS:

Fragrance free
Non-foaming, so it is appropriate for winter
Does not appear to break me out

CONS:

Burns a little bit
Burns A LOT if it gets near my eyes or touches my eyelids
Not appropriate for sensitive skin, so it is not good for all skin types as billed
Expensive ($30US for 8 oz.)

So there you have it. I have recently been more attracted to gentle foaming cleansers made by Neutrogena and Eucerin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2014 12:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I came about this product 6 years ago when I had a major break out at 18. Before my major break out, my skin was very typical of combination skin. Blackheads and slick oil in the T-zone, clear everywhere else! But my major break out caused cystic acne around my cheeks and pimples all over my forehead. I saw a skin specialist who performed 6 glycolic peels and recommended this product as my new cleanser along with several other jan marini products and jane iredale makeup. This is the only product I still use from 6 years ago. I have consistently had this product in my skin care regime. At the time I started using this product, my skin was extremely sensitive because I had tried so many different products and I had finished a course of peels. This product has never caused irritation or redness. On several occasions, I have washed my face with this cleanser alone at night and my skin has never felt dry or tight. It has always been balanced. I can see though why many reviewers would recommend not using this product on a daily basis. It is a strong product, and my skin is probably more tolerant to glycolic acid due to the peels. When my skin was a lot more prone to break outs and oiliness, I used it everyday. Now, I only use it once every two days or so, but this is probably because I've also stopped doing peels. It is fantastic for targeting blackheads, will help with hyper pigmentation, as well as tone and texture. Compared to MD formations, this for me is the far more superior product. It has an easy pump, and I find the product more effective. MD's glycolic cleanser has a great smell and is still a good product, but I have never repurchased.


on 8/26/2014 6:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Excellent product - do not make judgement based on negative reviews... Not every product suits all people. I have very oily skin ( prone to cystic acne on jawline) I had lots of blackheads, this product has transformed my skin - although- use with caution ... I use this about 2 / 3 times a week max, I have been using it for about 10 week & it has reduced my breakouts & oil production, but what I am most impressed with, is how even my skin tone is now ( had a lot of faint scars from acne & dark patches hyper pigmentation ) my skin is now scar free & is of even tone, I sometimes go foundation free : ) This product is very strong, too strong to use everyday, I use every other day. Do not use as face wash! I cleanse off make up using cleansing oil, I then wash with gentle cleanser , then paint this on dispensing a squirt of product into an egg cup then painting it on using a foundation brush like a face mask ( leave 10 mins ) then remove with wet face cloth & splashing face... There are a lot of negative reviews re this product drying out face ... I once used it 3 times in 2 days & face was very very dry ... Now I just use every other day & have perfect results... It has even reduced some forehead wrinkles . I used the ' oily skin ' formula, I'm nearly out & will definitely be repurchasing, this stuff does give salon results at a fraction of the price... If used correctly & not too often. First time application will sting ( not unbearable) but that feeling disappears after repeated use. It does take time to see results.. But so worth it ! No more blackheads... Scars... Even skin tone... Love this product. Not for sensitive skins.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2014 9:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought this reading the reviews here and I have to say this is perhaps the worst cleanser I have used especially since its the case I originally have dry skin. I made my skin severely dry. It also made my skin darker - so this is a no no for people of darker complexion and people who have dry skin.

Throwing it away and opting for perhaps a more hydrating cleanser.


on 5/30/2014 5:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my absolute favorite cleanser. I have acne prone (but not oily) skin and this product has done absolute wonders for my hormonal acne. I first remove my makeup with a cheap, soap-free cleanser, pat my face dry with a micro fibre cloth and then massage this into my skin. I then let it sit the 2-3 minutes I brush my teeth and remove it with luke warm water. I follow up with Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic acid hydrating gel. I've tried other glycolic cleansers, but always go back to this one. HG!


on 5/27/2014 8:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Due to MD Formulations discontinuing their products I found this and thought it would be brilliant as an alternative to their cleanser, as it is basically the same ingredients... BIG MISTAKE.
First use was fantastic, it left my skin feeling so soft and squeaky clean, second use was ok too, but by the third and fourth time I had such a bad reaction. My skin was left extremely dry, tight and red raw. It completely stripped my skin of its natural oils, which you should NEVER do. It felt like I had been very badly sunburnt, it hurt so much, I was in agony. It was such a state that my moisturiser did not help.
The only positive I have is it did not break me out in spots (which is my main concern) & despite the dryness, in the shower (only), my skin felt very soft (which is odd).

Its been two weeks since I have not used it and my skin is still recovering from it. It is so so dry (not a good base for foundation) I am really not happy with this cleanser.

I wouldn't recommend this as an everyday cleanser, maybe once every month or two months to exfoliate your skin. I for one, though, will not be using it ever again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My experience with this cleanser has been rather disappointing although perhaps my hopes were too high after having read so many positive reviews. I have oily skin with blackheads but no acne, I clean my face meticulously but always using organic soaps and scrubs. I was hoping to use this cleanser for a week or two to exfoliate my skin to help get rid of some pesky blackheads. I followed instructions and applied the gel unto my dry face in circular motions quickly and cleaned my face off with a damp washcloth, within seconds my skin began to burn around my mouth especially and I didn't think anything of it other than that it was slightly unpleasant but I loved how clean my skin felt and how tight it made my pores.
The second time I used it the same way, I noticed that red splotches began appearing around my nose and mouth. It has been 3 days since I have used it and there is a red ring around my nose and mouth which is incredible dry, flaky, wrinkly...it looks terrible to say the least and I have been moisturizing every few mins and hoping that it will go away soon. I have never had a reaction like this to anything and wouldn't consider my skin to be sensitive. I have read that people get reactions like this after glycolic peels.
I am torn because I could see how quickly and effectively it was getting rid of the blackheads and oiliness, but I am not sure if it's worth it and why only part of my face reacted so strongly to the chemicals. I would highly recommend doing a patch test and not leaving the cleanser on your skin for more than a few seconds just to be safe, the ingredients are very effective yet may be very harsh for certain skin types. I also find the scent to be incredibly chemical-y and cheap.

Update 10/2014: Have switched to an amazing all natural glycolic cleanser by be natural organics that I use occasionally. Same effectivity but without harsh chemicals. Mostly using Lush products now which have completely cleared up my skin with a diligent routine, mainly: Coalface, Grease Lightning, Ocean Scrub, Enzymion Moisturizer, Cosmetic Warrior and Mask of Magniminty are the only things that have gotten rid of all blackheads and have gotten rid of and prevent pimples..never using anything else.


on 1/23/2014 5:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Green

WARNING! Over-exfoliation is VERY possible with this product. Your skins natural barrier is there for a reason; it helps protect you from UV rays, environmental pollution and prevents chronic inflammation that speeds up aging of the skin. Without the protective barrier your skin is more vulnerable to the elements, bacteria etc. and though it may make your skin look radiant and younger for a while, the underlining factor could be that you’re doing more damage than good and causing premature ageing so proceed with caution. Before started using this make sure it is an AHA not a BHA you would benefit more from (AHA best for fine lines, more even skin tone, reducing signs of sun damage and BHA best for clogged pores, blackheads, acne). I cannot believe the instructions - use every day and night. My opinion with any AHA product is that you should very very gradually introduce it into your regime - especially when they have a high concentration of 12% like in this product! Exfoliation at that concentration is recommend more like once a week if not a month!!! Over-exfolation can create a whole lot of other issues! To mention some:
1. photosensitivity i.e. your skin is FAR more susceptible to sun damage when using an AHA regularly and I have read a review where someone mentioned they got a permanent sunspot after using this range and had to have it professionally lasered off.
2. increased sensitivity in generally and therefore increased likelihood of damage from pollution and other external factors
3. dryness, flaking and other irritation
4. destruction of the skin's hydrolipidic layer and acid mantle both which are extremely important for protecting the skin and having natural anti-bacterial properties.
I have normal to combination skin (oily t-zone) and I bought this based on the amazing reviews but it was too much for me. In hindsight I should have started with a lower concentration AHA or a BHA product. I bought it because my skin was quite congested from using La Mer (original ultra-rich formula, way too heavy for my skin). I used the cleanser as directed every morning and evening and only the contact with skin is only fleeting, it stung a lot! The sensitive skin either side of my nose became very red and flaky where previously that area was perfect and I never had any issues there. I also found that the congestion from La Mer turned into bumps and the cleanser made them very red whereas usually these would have just gone away on their own without become red, irritated or inflamed looking. Definitely would not advise using on broken skin because it would probably prevent this from healing by continuously exfoliating off the healing skin. I also have the lotion which is better for me because I can apply to specific areas and leave on overnight whereas this cleanser is obviously washed off and it does not sting like the cleanser does.
Definitely think about trying a product with salicylic acid (2% concentration- Paula's Choice has a great range) if your issues are oiliness and/or small breakouts like me, first. Or try Jan Marini's Bioglycolic lotion first without incorporating the harsh cleanser because overdoing the exfoliation can lead to more problems!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top