Jan Marini • Bioglycolic Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.4(142 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Insipidgrimskie on 3/19/2014 2:18:00 PM more reviews by Insipidgrimskie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My experience with this cleanser has been rather disappointing although perhaps my hopes were too high after having read so many positive reviews. I have oily skin with blackheads but no acne, I clean my face meticulously but always using organic soaps and scrubs. I was hoping to use this cleanser for a week or two to exfoliate my skin to help get rid of some pesky blackheads. I followed instructions and applied the gel unto my dry face in circular motions quickly and cleaned my face off with a damp washcloth, within seconds my skin began to burn around my mouth especially and I didn't think anything of it other than that it was slightly unpleasant but I loved how clean my skin felt and how tight it made my pores.
The second time I used it the same way, I noticed that red splotches began appearing around my nose and mouth. It has been 3 days since I have used it and there is a red ring around my nose and mouth which is incredible dry, flaky, wrinkly...it looks terrible to say the least and I have been moisturizing every few mins and hoping that it will go away soon. I have never had a reaction like this to anything and wouldn't consider my skin to be sensitive. I have read that people get reactions like this after glycolic peels.
I am torn because I could see how quickly and effectively it was getting rid of the blackheads and oiliness, but I am not sure if it's worth it and why only part of my face reacted so strongly to the chemicals. I would highly recommend doing a patch test and not leaving the cleanser on your skin for more than a few seconds just to be safe, the ingredients are very effective yet may be very harsh for certain skin types. I also find the scent to be incredibly chemical-y and cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dive14 on 1/23/2014 5:50:00 AM more reviews by Dive14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Green    

WARNING! Over-exfoliation is VERY possible with this product. Your skins natural barrier is there for a reason; it helps protect you from UV rays, environmental pollution and prevents chronic inflammation that speeds up aging of the skin. Without the protective barrier your skin is more vulnerable to the elements, bacteria etc. and though it may make your skin look radiant and younger for a while, the underlining factor could be that you’re doing more damage than good and causing premature ageing so proceed with caution. Before started using this make sure it is an AHA not a BHA you would benefit more from (AHA best for fine lines, more even skin tone, reducing signs of sun damage and BHA best for clogged pores, blackheads, acne). I cannot believe the instructions - use every day and night. My opinion with any AHA product is that you should very very gradually introduce it into your regime - especially when they have a high concentration of 12% like in this product! Exfoliation at that concentration is recommend more like once a week if not a month!!! Over-exfolation can create a whole lot of other issues! To mention some:
1. photosensitivity i.e. your skin is FAR more susceptible to sun damage when using an AHA regularly and I have read a review where someone mentioned they got a permanent sunspot after using this range and had to have it professionally lasered off.
2. increased sensitivity in generally and therefore increased likelihood of damage from pollution and other external factors
3. dryness, flaking and other irritation
4. destruction of the skin's hydrolipidic layer and acid mantle both which are extremely important for protecting the skin and having natural anti-bacterial properties.
I have normal to combination skin (oily t-zone) and I bought this based on the amazing reviews but it was too much for me. In hindsight I should have started with a lower concentration AHA or a BHA product. I bought it because my skin was quite congested from using La Mer (original ultra-rich formula, way too heavy for my skin). I used the cleanser as directed every morning and evening and only the contact with skin is only fleeting, it stung a lot! The sensitive skin either side of my nose became very red and flaky where previously that area was perfect and I never had any issues there. I also found that the congestion from La Mer turned into bumps and the cleanser made them very red whereas usually these would have just gone away on their own without become red, irritated or inflamed looking. Definitely would not advise using on broken skin because it would probably prevent this from healing by continuously exfoliating off the healing skin. I also have the lotion which is better for me because I can apply to specific areas and leave on overnight whereas this cleanser is obviously washed off and it does not sting like the cleanser does.
Definitely think about trying a product with salicylic acid (2% concentration- Paula's Choice has a great range) if your issues are oiliness and/or small breakouts like me, first. Or try Jan Marini's Bioglycolic lotion first without incorporating the harsh cleanser because overdoing the exfoliation can lead to more problems!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Em104 on 10/17/2013 7:39:00 PM more reviews by Em104

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this cleanser. After using Clinique 3 step skincare which totally ruined my skin - I find this cleanser gets back to basics. It has drastically cleared up my acne including cystic acne around the jawline. I love the smell of it and the feeling when you apply it to the skin. Will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 XOXkay on 8/26/2013 11:38:00 PM more reviews by XOXkay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not quite sure how I feel about this product, so I'm not going to bash it or glorify it. I think it just might be too harsh for my very sensitive skin. I used it for 2 weeks, once a day and I have been breaking out like crazy since the beginning. I don't believe purging is real, but I do believe it might just be over exfoliating my skin, either way I'm going to stop using it for now. I'm going to let my skin calm down and then retry it twice a week. It is acid after all, so using it daily wasn't great for my skin. It's a little pricey, but if it works for you it'd be worth it. It made my skin tingle on application, and I thought it was working. After I retry this I'll update my post.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wf on 4/30/2013 9:43:00 AM more reviews by wf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have very sensitive, acne-prone skin, and this is the cleanser for me. I will keep using it as long as they make it. Wonderful - reduces blackheds, helps with oilyness, just all around wonderful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifebythedrop on 1/16/2013 3:29:00 PM more reviews by lifebythedrop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser really is amazing. I have combination skin that is extremely acne prone. This cleanser keeps my skin acne free, soft, glowing, and not dry at all. My skin looks amazing when I use this stuff!! What I do is apply it to dry skin, massage for a good 20 seconds and let it sit for a minute or two. Then I take my wet microfiber cloth to remove the cleanser, and splash my face with water about 15 times. It also removes makeup like a pro!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sparklysocks on 12/26/2012 6:20:00 PM more reviews by sparklysocks

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I had mild to moderate acne and this cleared up my skin 100%. On top of that it made ny skin soft and glowing and also helped alot with hyperpigmentation left from spots. It is expensive but certainly worth it and I find that it lasts a lobg time. Must be used on a dry face as I think the water deactivates the glycolic acid (or something like that) which is the active ingredient.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 danira5 on 10/19/2012 3:05:00 PM more reviews by danira5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I used this is conjunction with a bunch of other JM products for a good six months I'd say. I liked it. I guess it worked OK? Or maybe it was all the other stuff I was using. Anyways, then I stopped using it, tried some other stuff like CeraVe, and then tried to incorporate this stuff again. And my skin is not having it. I thought it worked pretty well the first time but I think my skin is thinner or more sensitive now---perhaps as a result of using this and the clarisonic too much---and this just dries out my skin and makes it really angry and red. It is way too harsh for everyday use. And if you read Paula Begoun's review of it, it really is not on your skin long enough to exfoliate but if you do leave it on that long the other ingredients in it (which don't look too friendly---ammonium lauryl sulfate or something? ouch.) will do a number on your skin. I am taking the exfoliating down a notch and throwing this away. I still love the Bioclear Lotion but I think my skin has been overexfoliated by this line so I am going to stick to the Lotion just at nights, and perhaps alternate days or weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CdnSusen on 9/8/2012 12:12:00 PM more reviews by CdnSusen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Finally I've found my HG cleanser! The Bioglycolic Cleanser was a little "weird" for me at first. You apply it on DRY skin, massage it in and rinse. I now find it works best if I cleanse my skin of all makeup first, dry, massage in the Bioglycolic, let it work for 2 - 5 minutes, then rinse it off with my Clarisonic. It "tingles", so be aware of that. It seemed "itchy" at first, but now I'm used to it. When the "tingling/itchy" sensation dissipates, that's when I wash it off.

My skin definitely feels ultra clean after use, and it looks more radiant. My 21-year-old son ran out of his cleanser & used mine. He now LOVES it, too. It comes in a very basic, plastic, sanitary pump bottle. At $30, it's on the pricey side for a cleanser, but a very little bit goes a long way.

My son and I highly recommend this cleanser!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nguyen8733 on 7/20/2012 12:23:00 PM more reviews by nguyen8733

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser was too harsh for my skin. I would get itchy bumps if I use it everyday.
It does exfoliate the skin nicely if my skin could tolerate it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jan Marini products

More Cleansers products