Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Stress Control Power-Gel Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.2(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 dri5hti on 5/2/2013 11:50:00 PM more reviews by dri5hti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well, just a heads up - if you have dry skin with occasional breakouts DO NOT PURCHASE this product. I made the mistake of doing so. Within a day my skin broke out again. I tried it for a few more days thinking it was a coincidence but the breakouts just got worse. This product might work better for oily skin but it certainly doesn't for dry. I'm going to have to throw this away. I might try out Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash which has great reviews.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lindseynikki on 8/23/2012 6:14:00 PM more reviews by lindseynikki

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My mom picked this up for me because recently, my acne has been the worst it's ever been. I've been breaking out in groups and I've NEVER had that problem before. The first night I used this cleanser with my clarisonic, my skin purged. I figured it would all clear up the longer I tried it so i've been using this product along with my clarisonic religiously every night. It's been almost two weeks and I'm still breaking out! I'm getting so frustrated with this product!!! The acne that it brought up to the surface is barely clearing up, it's leaving nasty acne scars that were never this dark or deep, my combo-oily skin is dry, I'm breaking out in little pimples, and the acne I had before using this product is barely clearing up! My time of the month is a 2 weeks away so it can't be that. But I will say it lathers up really nicely and the pores on my nose seem a lot smaller. I'm going to keep using this product to see if it takes time to clear up, but so far I'm really not impressed. I could see this product as a slow-working product, but it's hard to be patient when you have acne :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ijsi on 8/15/2012 10:08:00 PM more reviews by ijsi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product worked wonders on my skin. It made my skin a little dry but not enough that it would bother you. I have had no acne whatsoever since i started using this product, and all the acne i had before i started using it is gone. After a couple washes it made a noticeable difference. I also enjoyed how it didn't smell like an acne cleanser. It smelt more like cucumbers which i wasn't crazy about but it was a nice perk. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT AND WILL DEFIANTLY RE-PURCHASE!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailokaye on 6/24/2012 10:20:00 PM more reviews by bailokaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This really does seem to be helping with my acne. I have dryish, sensitive combination skin and it works well. It washes clean and doesn't leave a residue; my face does feel a bit tight and dry after using but not overly so. It smells really good and I love the pump bottle packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 monkeytron on 6/14/2012 2:01:00 AM more reviews by monkeytron

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I love the packaging. For some reason, the bottle and the look is very appealing. But more importantly, the cleanser itself is very nice. I was looking for a gel cleanser to use with my clarisonic. It does a great job of cleaning my skin. It foams up nicely.
I have noticed that my skin felt a slight bit drier, but it didn't feel dehydrated. I don't know if this has really cleared my skin, but it has not caused me to break out. I also haven't had any new major acne since using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 frazzletree on 5/29/2012 2:04:00 AM more reviews by frazzletree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I just need to second AmyForster2's review. I used the foaming gel, for a couple years and was very happy with it. Ran out, and didn't see the foam - but this power gel was available. Seemed like the delivery system was the only difference.
Was I ever wrong! Extreme dryness and bumps and irritation under my eyes appeared. It took me forever to figure out that this was related to the Neutrogena power gel - as I had never had any problems with them, ever.
What the heck did they put in here?
The great thing about drug store buys is that they are usually tested up the whazoo and don't have any obscure ingredients.
I really wish the foam was still available - that stuff was fabulous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 amyforster2 on 5/20/2012 1:34:00 AM more reviews by amyforster2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've been using the neutrogena fresh foaming cleanser for years and decided to try something a bit stronger for some breakouts. i have very fair skin which is dry/combination, and i live in a dry climate where it is usually cold. i don't think my skin is sensitive, but i've always been careful with my skincare in general, and usually don't react to anything. i always tend to have at least one stubborn pimple on my face at a time (thank you university) and thought that staying in the same brand would be okay. i also purchased the toner in the ance-stress-control line and have been using it alongside this cleanser.

I'm not sure if it's the salicylic acid, or the fragrance, or the different chemicals in this line.. but since the very first use my skin has been dry and tight and stings. i used it for 4 days and nothing improved, so i threw it out. I've even started getting a cyst type pimple on my chin and i never get those! worst of al.. ii've been getting red and painful patches next to my nose and mouth, and around my eyes. they have a burning sensation and flake and are irritating. my skin is very fair and it is very noticeable!

although it was only $6 cdn on sale at the grocery store, i've since spent $40+ on redness soothing serums and masks to help my horrible eyes. overall... this cleanser is not for you if you have dry skin and should be discontinued at the FIRST signs of dryness or irritation (learn from my mistake here lol)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HesterMofet on 5/16/2012 10:59:00 PM more reviews by HesterMofet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for about a month now, and with the coordinating toner for two weeks and I have noticed a huge improvement in the clarity and tone of my skin. I'm noticing the pores on and around my nose are buch smaller giving my skin a smoother appearance, and the breakouts I've had (which are due to hormones and me picking at my face!) Are much smaller and heal faster than when I wasn't using this. The only real downside I can see is that I don't find it to be very effective for removing makeup, so I remove it before I shower and wash my face. I spend a good minute or two really massaging it into my skin and my face feels so fresh and clean, I love using this in the morning, the scent is very light and invigorating but not overpowering. Definitely a fixture in my skin care regimen!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 michelle92 on 1/11/2012 10:15:00 PM more reviews by michelle92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used this cleanser for two weeks. I received compliments on how bright my skin looked. But it did nothing to clear my pimples. Also after the second week I started noticing dry patches on my face and I have oily skin so this I can imagine would be very drying to people with dry or even normal skin. So if you do still really want to try this cleanser I would recommend using a good moisturizer as well. Personally I stopped using this bc overall it did not prevent pimples nor did it clear my existing acne plus it was too drying

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 northernbeauty on 1/8/2012 2:03:00 PM more reviews by northernbeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great product! This product helped clear my acne and improve my skins texture within one week. I like the scent. The only downfall is that when I travel I lose a lot of product because it has a pump. Before this product I was using the clinique 3 step system and I feel that my skin reacted better to this cleanser than the clinique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products