Dolce & Gabbana • Perfect Finish Creamy Foundation • Foundations

rated 4.1(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 hbeavers on 9/7/2014 11:48:00 PM more reviews by hbeavers

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This avoids the mask-like effect of many medium/full-coverage foundations. However, while it's not opaque, it gives a more"finished" look. It's a soft, elegant matte that's lovely with a strong lip, but I wouldn't bother with it on weekends.

I think a silicone-based primer's absolutely necessary for a good result and decent wear. You do not want this melting into your skin--dry skin will soak it up, you'll use too much, and it'll look heavy. Assuming you use primer, it doesn't take more than a dab on the spatula (don't take a scoop) for all-over medium coverage. I buff in a tiny bit more over some discolorations.

Although it's at the higher end of the price scale (although less than what Cle de Peau or Guerlain foundations run), it will last forever because it's so pigmented. Unless you wear this daily, the SPF will expire long before you finish the.

The packaging is awful. The jar's opening is far too wide, so it requires a light touch when getting some out so it doesn't glop up the rim, and some care's needed when fitting the squared-off cap on--if it's misaligned, more glopping. I realize a tube wouldn't look as pricey as the heavy glass jar, but it would work much better and be more sanitary. I move a spoonful to smaller container so it's not an issue if I want to use a finger to dot in on or dip the end of a beautyblender or brush in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swolf123 on 5/21/2014 6:21:00 PM more reviews by swolf123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After my regular foundation from La-Prairie changed colors on me, I was in search for the perfect replacement. I found a color match, which has been my biggest problem since I've been on the search. I'm light olive complected and every line seems to be catered to the pink or peach toned. This is a pretty decent foundation, unfortunately I was matched and purchased this foundation with GA's Shaping Designer foundation. I was matched to Beige 78, which is just a tad lighter than the Shaping foundation 6.5. When I got home with both foundations I tried both on at the same time, one on each side of my face. They looked almost exactly alike, however this foundation looked streaky/broken apart, and the GA Shaping foundie looked like a dream. I would have been probably happy with this one if I didn't try them on at the same time and compared. The one good thing I can definitely say about this one is that the color does not darken or oxidize like GA, and it is a perfect color match. GA also seemed a bit more luminous. I may try it on again and see if I can make it look better, but I'll more than likely return this one and keep GA.

Update: It was powdery and patchy the 2nd time as well. Maybe I need to use a sponge? I ended up returning it. Sads.

For reference, I use Marc Jacobs Sculpting Foundation Brush No. 2 for application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 11/29/2013 12:25:00 PM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

REFERENCE: I'm a very yellow NC25 Asian - I matched the shade "Natural Glow 100" perfectly.

Holy amazeballs, this foundation is incredible! It has a light, whipped, gel-like texture but is actually medium to full coverage. It has a demi-matte finish and looks natural even if you layer it in place, so it won't look cakey or obvious in person. My skin felt soft and comfortable wearing it, and I couldn't stop rubbing at my cheek because I was amazed that it didn't come off on my clothes. It photographs well (no flashback!) and its staying power is impressive, about 9-10 hours before any obvious fading. I have oily skin so I typically expect foundations to melt right off me, but this one held up very well and even held off my excessively oily shine until the end of the day.

The packaging is meh, it's made up of a heavy, absolutely NOT travel-friendly glass tub. I use a spatula to move some foundation to a little plastic container for when I travel. Also, the $66 price tag really makes me cringe, but if you can afford it, it's worth it! This is very quickly becoming my favorite foundation because of its beautiful finish and perfect color match.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 4/29/2013 6:18:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Things changed, especially fdn., probably just as personal as fragrance to the individual. For once something that was HG is now a "meh".
This cream fdn. is satin matte, no glow, no shimmer, not matte either. My skin is dry with slight oily T-zone, the colour Caramel will suit NW25-30 or NC30-35. It covers melasma, uneven discolouration, which is my most concern, since I have no pore issues. Applied with or without silicone primer is just as wonderful; after a thin layer, I went over some areas more heavy handed like a concealer, it still looks natural, without powder. My skin looks like a little boy, I am actually a 60 year old fart, this product is truly amazing.
Although this is called a cream, this is not greasy/slippery. A little touch of luminizer on the peak of the cheekbone will add more wonder to this canvas. This cream fdn is truly a godsent.
ps. love the sturdy elegant paper-weigh glass jar which the product is housed in, those with oh-so delicate hands may end up with a fracture wrist.

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NoirAngelx on 4/2/2013 10:23:00 AM more reviews by NoirAngelx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an absolutely beautiful foundation for normal, dry, and combination skin. Not only is the packaging very luxurious, but the product inside is great as well. Unlike traditional thick creme foundations, this one has a light-as-air consistency and blends effortlessly. The gel-creme texture reminds me of Chantecaille Future Skin, but with slightly more coverage. It can easily be built up to medium-full coverage, with a satin finish. Not dewy, but not matte either. It isn't the longest wearing foundation out there, so if you have combination skin you will probably need to blot and touch up throughout the day. I wouldn't suggest for oily skin unless you are willing to carry around a powder compact and touch up several times throughout the day, and possibly need to re-apply.


My only issue with this foundation was that I could never find a color match. I am NC15 with pale olive undertones, neither yellow or pink (you could say a bit greenish). Bisque was the right depth but had too much warmth for my skin, and Beige had the correct undertone but was too dark. I would probably get the best match by mixing Beige with Classic (the lightest pinky-neutral) but it would be too costly for me! All in all, if you can find a match I highly suggest this foundation for a natural, flawless coverage.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sailorj on 1/26/2013 12:42:00 PM more reviews by sailorj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I just started trying this foundation-I love it. Bobbi Brown long ago discontinued my favorite Smooth Skin Foundation and this is similar, and superior to that formula. It provides medium to heavy coverage, and lasts all day without patchiness or fading on my oily sensitive skin when I wear this over my favorite Murad Oil-Control Mattifyer primer. I do not get more than 3-4 hours of wear over an oil-free moisturizer or alone. Wear over Laura Mercier oil-free primer gives me a good 5-6 hours of wear (I do have to blot). The finish of this is matte on me, and I do not feel that it oxidizes though I use the lightest shade, Classic I believe, and it is super-pale. I wear Warm Ivory in Bobbi Brown foundations (sorry, I have never worn MAC foundations, but I should find my equivalent) and find the Classic to be more equal to Bobbi Brown Porcelain. I should have purchased one or two shades darker-75 or 78-but I ordered online and it's the dead of winter-I don't mind just using this up and going up a shade when the sun shines again in the spring. For me this is a perfect winter foundation. I need a bit more coverage this time of year as I get super pale and any redness or slight imperfection stands out more. I apply this with my fingers. I don't know if I will be wearing this or my other favorite, GA Maestro in the summer as this is more coverage than I generally need in summer. I work hard to keep the flaky patches off of my skin with peels and other products so I can't address how it may or may not highlight that common winter skin issue. My only complaint is the unnecessarily large container that it comes in. Way too big. I don't mind a pot, I don't know that there is a better way to hold this texture of foundation, just not so large. It comes with a spatula that I use to take product out and then I wash it afterwards. If you google the Beauty Professor she recently posted swatches of almost all of the shades of this foundation (a couple were missing from the counter she was at) along with a great review. UPDATE 6/2/2013: I still love this foundation but never got to finish it, I had some wear issues that I only realized after using it a bit longer. It doesn't last like the Bobbi foundation that I miss, I only get about 4-6 hours with my favorite Murad Primer. Maybe this is only a winter foundation for me when it's super dry outside-extending the wear time. My favorite for the last two months has been Stila's Stay All Day Foundation. I'm reducing the rating to three stars.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamourdoll on 1/17/2013 3:35:00 PM more reviews by glamourdoll

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

So I found myself feeling frustrated after P&G re-launched their Clean Liquid Makeup, the Classic Ivory shade 110 is now as thick as wet cement and has a strange, unflattering orange undertone. I hunted down 14 bottles of the previous formula and decided I would have to find something else before the hoard runs out. I saw print ads for this foundation and had wanted it for months. I took the plunge with a Sephora gift card. I am about an NC30, and after some research, decided to try this in the Caramel 110 shade. It looks like beautiful skin, not like makeup. It looks like beautiful skin at a distance or up close. It looks like beautiful skin under indoor lighting or out in natural daylight. It looks like beautiful skin whether I buff this in with my flat-top Shiseido brush, or when blended in with fingertips. This is a bit expensive but thankfully, a little goes a long way. The heavy glass jar is very pretty and luxe-looking, I leave it out on my vanity just b/c it's so pretty. As expensive as this is, I do plan to re-purchase. lv EDIT 02/22/2013: I think that I may have gone too dark with this. I am wondering if the Caramel 110 is more suited for NC 30 or 35 and I think I might be NC 20 (for now) at the most NC 25 in summer, so I think that I may have to go back for the Beige 78 shade. As expensive as this is I think I will try this and update when I can.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ashley2011 on 12/2/2012 7:55:00 PM more reviews by ashley2011

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Big disappointment! Part of my face looks powdery and patchy. My revlon colorstay works better than this pricey product. #78 beige is a good match for my NC 20 skin though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dazzlelight21 on 9/26/2012 9:44:00 PM more reviews by dazzlelight21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Stunning foundation! The Dolce and Gabanna Perfect Finish Creamy Foundation provides great coverage that lasts throughout the day. I purchased this foundation in Beige, which matches my yellow undertones perfectly. The formula is soft and creamy, almost like a whipped foundation and comes in a luxurious gold jar. I usually apply this using my fingers or a MAC foundation brush and the product is quite blendable and smooth. It leaves my skin glowing with a satin semi-matte finish. I would definitely re-purchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Artbabe on 7/24/2012 12:54:00 AM more reviews by Artbabe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Gorgeous cream foundation. I have been using powder foundation (mostly mineral makeup) for years, and haven't been able to find a liquid or cream foundation that works as well and looks good on my skin until now. This gives an amazing, natural satin finish with terrific coverage, lasts beautifully, and once you get the application down, is quick and easy to use. I use very tiny amounts, apply with fingers and tap into skin with a damp BeautyBlender sponge. I also use a primer underneath (Rouge Bunny Rouge Metamorphoses), which allows me to use even less foundation and makes blending it in a snap. It has a light, non-greasy, very smooth texture. My skin tone is pale and cool (NW15 in MAC) and the shade Classic (the lightest) is perfect-- very neutral (I hate pink-toned foundation).

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dolce & Gabbana products

More Foundations products