Unlisted Brand • Eco Styler - Olive Oil Styling Gel • Styling Products

rated 3.3(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 snkatha on 2/4/2014 4:16:00 PM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This gel is the business! I used it for a couple of months & switched to Ic fantasia gel & my wash and gos that lasted all week barely lasted 2 days!! Listen, use a little bit at a time to start a little goes a long long way with this gel. For my wash and go i do my leave in underneath, apply this gel in sections cos i have a lot of hair, smooth it through with my fingers then leave it to airdry. I don't put in any oil or anything. When it airdries it leaves a crunchy feel I usually leave it that way the first day or scrunch the crunch out, then run a little oil all over my hair. You have easily a full week with a fab wash & go. works a treat for the edges too! Love this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leemitchell on 8/8/2013 1:10:00 PM more reviews by leemitchell

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I think some of the other reviewers are using this product incorrectly, as there is a learning curve. This review is for Eco Styler Olive Oil. I've used the other gels from this line, and they are all pretty much the same, but this one is the most moisturizing for my hair. I think the Argan Oil and Krystal are maximum/level 10 hold, as is this product.

I love this product! I wash or co-wash my hair, and then divide it in sections and apply this ONLY -- no leave in. Then, I let my hair air dry and I end up with frizz-free, bouncy, soft curls. I have type 4a/3c hair that is past my shoulder length when it's pulled.

This gel is heavy, so it does minimize some shrinkage, but not much. However, I *love* my hair and it's shrinkage! The defined, curly look is what I'm after. If I wanted looser curls, I'd use relaxer, and I leave my hair in its natural state.

I used to use Kinky Curly Curling Custard, but I cannot go back to paying $30 for a product when I can get better results using something that costs $4. There is no slip to this, and the hair can dry a little hard. If your hair is crunchy after it dries, just scrunch out the crunch! I have no flakes from this, and my hair is in a happy, healthy, natural state.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 curlygirl24 on 7/13/2013 9:31:00 AM more reviews by curlygirl24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I learned about this gel from Mohagany Curls youtube channel. I bought the huge jar of it at Sally's beauty supply for about $5, which is a steal considering the jar is so very big and a little goes a long way.

There is a learning curve to this gel. When I first tried it, I hated it, but then I decided to give it another change. I wear this gel with Aussie Moist conditioner under it (the bomb conditioner to take and define my curls. I leave a hefty amount in my hair). After getting out of the shower, I gently shake my hair so that the clumped curls can loosen, and then i section my hair off. I the sections out so that the curls can define and clump, and then I put on about a nickel to quarter size of gel on each section depending on how thick the section is. I rake the gel through and shake the clumps of strands (Oiudad style), then I move on to the next section.

This gel does not have slip. When applied there is this coated sensation to the hair, but it doesn't dry that way. The gel cuts down on the drying time of my thick and plentiful hair, and then the curls do not frizz at all. I tell you, I get 7-day hair. 7-day hair! I used to be lucky to get second-day hair! Sometimes, this gel in combination with the Aussie conditioner can leave some white specks, but I just smooth/pinch them out, and I am good to go. Once I am done with this tub, I might try the argon oil one just out of curiosity, but I am very happy with the olive oil version. It worth giving a second change and working with it.

Oh, and if my ends do frizz throughout the week, i just put a little of this gel on my ends (dry hair) and it seals the ends no problem!

(I gave it a four because there is a little bit of an adjustment period, and the occassional white speck left behind.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Blackdoll24 on 4/1/2013 8:55:00 AM more reviews by Blackdoll24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It's ok, does the job. No complaints. I might try the other to see which is best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 2/19/2013 8:00:00 AM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm also not understanding all the negative reviews on this product. Anyway, I got a *huge* tub of this at a local Korean-owned hair supply store for dirt cheap. A friend of mine raved about it so I wanted to try it for my naturally wavy/curly hair and I'm glad I did. I wear my hair up and back quite a bit, while letting my curls go free at the ends. This gel imparts a lovely sheen and softness to my hair while keeping it completely in place. Best of all, there is not a bit of dryness/brittleness or residue in sight. This gel is a great product at an even greater price.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 YanyCosmetics on 1/12/2013 9:54:00 PM more reviews by YanyCosmetics

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great for soft holds on edges, twist-outs or other styling. very inexpensive and I like the olive-oil in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 taciturnxlove on 8/30/2012 8:03:00 AM more reviews by taciturnxlove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not understanding the negative reviews, but I think it's because when people don't realize what a product was meant for, they use it wrong, leaving a negative review on it. Educate yourself on products before you buy them, it'll save you money in the long run. Anyways, I really like this gel. It doesn't leave my hair dry, brittle, hard, or with flakes. It holds my hair well, while still being soft to the touch. It has water and glycerin in it, which is probably the reason why it leaves my hair soft and shiny. I haven't had problems with the wheat protein in it, my hair likes protein. (Again, if your hair doesn't agree with protein, this product may NOT be for you!) It's cheap, for around $4 you're getting a huge 32oz tub. Overall, if you're looking for a good gel to have just for quick slicked back hairstyles, this is the gel for you. However, this was NOT designed to help define curls, waves, etc. So if you're getting it in hopes of that, this won't be of use.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 afrakanpearl on 2/16/2012 3:34:00 PM more reviews by afrakanpearl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This review is actually for the gel with argan oil in it. This is hands down the BEST gel ever. It is dirt cheap at Sally's and last forever. I have naturally curly hair and like for my curls to have definition but not be crunchy. This gel does that perfectly. I pair it with a leave in conditioner and mousse. It doesn't flake, which is another plus. The best thing of all is, if you have unruly edges, it smooths them down without drying out your hair. LOVE IT!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 berrylush77 on 12/23/2011 2:53:00 PM more reviews by berrylush77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is not the gel for me. My hair is tightly curled and wavy but when I put the eco styler in it gives it this puffy dry look. I need something that will define my curls, not make them look mushy and dry. I read somewher it's better on short hair. Oh well...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deliberateangel on 12/2/2011 3:21:00 PM more reviews by deliberateangel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This was not the best. It made me hair gets drier and drier with each use. I don't think my hair likes products with protien.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Styling Products products