Prescriptives • Camouflage Kit • Concealers

rated 4.2(48 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 thrpschr on 9/11/2008 4:47:00 PM more reviews by thrpschr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I'm very pleased with this concealer. I have been using Laura Mercier's Secret Camouflage for years and I really like it, so that's what I'm comparing this too - and it stands up well to the competition.

I like having two different shades to mix, that's why I was drawn to this product. SC was too expensive for me last time I ran out, and this seemed like a nice substitute. I ended up liking this as much, but it's quite different in some respects - first off, the consistency. SC is quite hard; this stuff is much creamier, but still very pigmented and a little sticky. It is definitely better suited for undereye circles than SC, and the pink-toned shade is perfect to counteract the blue-green undertones in mine.

I use the yellow-toned shade on spots and redness, which works very well too. I have it in the lightest shade, and it is a very good match to my pale skin with yellow undertones (NC15-20). It stays put, and stays very natural-looking too.

I don't get an awful lot of use out of the powder, but it's very good and definitely comes in handy when I'm traveling with the compact.

Great concealer, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shauna23 on 12/11/2005 9:07:00 PM more reviews by shauna23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My HG of concealers! This comes in a nice compact with 2 heavy duty shades - a yellowish and a pinkish tone. It also has a powder to set the concealer once you're through applying it. I've been searching for this to cover my dark, dark under eye circles since I was 15. I get so many compliments on my skin now that I use this. DH says he can't even tell the circles are there. I find it's easy to apply with the brush - I also use my finger to pat and smooth it out. Then I use the brush to apply the powder. I don't wear any foundation so I can't comment on how the application would work with that. I wouldn't recommend this for areas that only need light correction - it really is a heavy formulation for things that really need to be covered. I'll keep buying this till they don't make it anymore!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pseudokool on 8/6/2005 11:27:00 PM more reviews by pseudokool

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, again with the "perfect concealer." This also isn't it. I really wanted to like it, but it gives me so-so results. The packaging is handy. It looks like a square compact with a mirror and 4 compartments. The top two are two different shades, and then theres a spot for the tiny nylon brush, and the little powder brush. The last compartment is the powder. With everything you need, you can't go wrong, right? I really wanted to like this product. Too bad the coverage is pretty decent, but can't last for half a day. The consistency is creamy, and its easy to blend. But after a half day, I find that the coverage fades quickly and makes me look oily and greasy where I've applied it. It smears right off. I used it initially under my eyes, to see if it could cover the punched out eyes, but after a few hours, nada. Then I tried using it just around my nose (Those are the only places on my face where I need help) well it turns into oily little halos around my nose. I have combo skin (T-zone), but the rest of my face where it isn't even applied looks better. Blotting it smears it off. I think it would be better in the Winter, and its great that you can mix your own color, and theres everything you need right there in a little kit. For 28.50 I wish it could do something for me. I'm trying to make myself feel better that I spent so much on a kit that doesn't do much for me. I think maybe girls with almost perfect skin and not on the combo oily side would fare better with this kit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ericadiva on 1/23/2005 12:27:00 PM more reviews by ericadiva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

i have a love-hate relationship with this. love it because it's the best thing i've found so far for covering red marks from old zits, it blends nicely and stays on pretty well, and hate it because even with all these things it STILL does not completely cover some of the redder marks on my face. i mean i guess it does if you really pile it on, but that would look awful because the texture is so thick and greasy, you'd look like you had five pounds of makeup and lard on your face. still, it is better than bobbi brown and laura mercier concealers i think. i have yet to try the famous becca but maybe that will be next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jillysue on 1/12/2005 3:17:00 PM more reviews by Jillysue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great concealer. I use Laura Mercier and Bobbi Brown too. This is very similar to the Bobbi Brown concept of 2 shades-one more yellow and one more pink along with a setting powder. Don't know which one was first but they seem to have the same idea. Would never use a setting powder under my eyes as that only emphasizes wrinkles, but love it for my face. I am 37 and use level 1 and have very dry skin. Hope this helps someone!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rthusia on 11/2/2004 5:45:00 PM more reviews by rthusia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I would rather have 1 color suitable to my skin tone, along with the powder and brushes. Maybe that sounds like too much work to them though.
I tried this in level 1 the lightest available. The lighter yellow based color worked great as an under eye concealer. The color blended nicely, but I could see that it might be a problem for some skin types. It looked like it really wanted to enhance any flakey skin in the vacinity of my eyes. The setting powder worked well under eyes, nothing too garish looking, smooth, and did not draw attention to dry skin. The other color looks way too orangy to even joke around with putting near my face.
It doesn't work well to cover blemishes, and I would not use it for oily skin coverups. It seems to have a problem with staying power.
Love the compact. Big mirror, two little brushes, powder, concealer... All in one very easy to operate system; opens effortlessly, closes quietly.
Just wish the concealer was more appropriate for oily skin and came in a wider range of colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cychen on 8/6/2004 11:20:00 AM more reviews by cychen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am a medium/fair skin Asian with an undereye circle problem. I have a strange thin blue circle line and finger-nail sized dark areas under my eyes. Even if the problems might be fatigue or allergy-related, I am still hopeful that I can find products to alleviate them. Since I like how Prescriptives custom blend foundation matches my skin color, I decided to spend $25 on their concealer. I used level 2 during winter time and level 3 during summer months. The best thing I like about this product is its blendability and its texture. Even for a makeup novice like me, I find the color pallets easy to use and goof proof. I don't think people can tell that I am wearing concealer (which means that it's suited for Asian skin tones). It doesn't crease and it has staying power. It covers minor broken capillaries I have on the side of my nose and minor skin discolorations here and there. However, it covers only 85% of my blue line and 70% of my dark areas under my eyes. I'm not sure if it's best formulated to cover that kind of problem. Even if Px concealers come in 6 levels and each level has two pallets (one darker and one lighter for custom blending), I think it's missing something that would cover my problems entirely. Maybe it's a problem that can't be fixed unless I am wearing a super heavy concealer. I don't know. All I know is that the color is good for Asians, too, it has a very easy-to-use texture, but it doesn't cover all the problems. One last word about the brushes and the powder that it comes with. I don't use the powder because I think the cream is fine by itself without the risk of powder settling into creases. I haven't evaluated that claim seriously, however. As for the tiny brushes that the kit comes with, I think it's a bit awkard for non-expert makeup appliers. The brushes work, but they get dirty and clumpy and I don't bother washing tiny brushes. Instead, I bought Prescriptives concealer brushe and I get better precision applications and blending.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mendlmt on 7/7/2004 11:18:00 PM more reviews by mendlmt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG of concealers!! Covers my blemishes without a problem and still looks natural. Love it!!!
Unfortunately it is no longer in Australia!!! I'm devestated. I'm currently using the Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage but is no where near as good as the Presciptives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brwneyedgurl429 on 7/1/2004 1:57:00 AM more reviews by brwneyedgurl429

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use MAC pot concealer but I felt that the one color wasn't cutting it for my complexion. A friend of mine intoduced me to Prescriptives Camo kit. When I first used it, my friends asked me what I do to not have circles under my eyes! I was floored, I have never looked so refreshed since I was little. Definitly worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chitchatgo on 5/11/2004 9:07:00 PM more reviews by chitchatgo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This is a very decent concealer. I've never really been able to find a product to match my skintone, and this product is able to offer flexibility in that area. It comes in 2 shades, a matching setting powder, and two brushes. One of the shades carries a yellow undertone the other a pink undertone so that you can blend it to your custom coloring. It's actually very easy to use and the setting powder is what I like the most about the concealer. It lasts all day for me even when I was out in a hot summer day. I only used it on the undereye area and it covers up my dark circle very well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Prescriptives products

More Concealers products