Burt's Bees Ultra Conditioning Lip Balm- with Kokum Butter

2.3

42 reviews

28% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Burt's Bees is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

coconut oil, olive fruit oil, sunflower seed oil, sunflower seed wax, avocado oil, vegetable oil, beeswax, sclerocarya birrea seed oil, soybean glycerides, cocoa seed butter, garcinia indica seed butter*, shea butter, shea butter unsaponifiables, cymbopogon martini oil, orange oil, clary oil, tocopherol, balsam peru oil, vanilla planifolia fruit extract, anise fruit/seed oil, cananga odorata flower oil, soybean oil, citric acid, geraniol, linalool, benzyl benzoate. *Kokum Butter


on 3/21/2015 2:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Everyone keeps saying how drying this product is but I think it's really moisturizing! It goes on really buttery, but dosn't last long especially if your eating, drinking, or talking. I'd say this is best to use at night before you go to bed, but now during the day



on 3/13/2015 12:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

4 hour moisturization? More like 4 minute moisturization. I wish I read the reviews before purchasing this product today. Like the other reviews stated, this lip balm is extremely oily and doesn't absorb well. The grease sits on my lips, dries quickly and leaves my lips even drier than before. I've been only using this for a day and my lips are still chapped and more uncomfortable than before because this lip balm has left a gross grease film on top of my lips. Extremely disappointed. I'm afraid I'll have to throw this one out and buy something else tomorrow.


on 1/4/2015 5:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This one feels nice when you first apply it (very slick and silky) but it lasts for only a few minutes. It seems very drying, too. I'm not a fan.


on 12/27/2014 1:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I should have checked the reviews before I buy this product. It is the worst lip balm I ever purchased! It feels like a thin layer of oil on top of the lips that dries up after 20 min (and the product claims to have 4h moisturization...yeah right). It leaves my lips drier than before application. I also have the impression that it damages my lips by making the skin thinner...I'm going to throw this away.


on 9/22/2014 8:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Easily the worst lip balm I've tried from the Burt's Bees lip balm line. I've used the mint, honey, pomegranate, blueberry & dark chocolate, and original - all phenomenal lip moisturizers. This, however, is a huge miss. It feels like a greasy wax that just sits on top of your lips without doing anything. After applying, it is gone within 15 minutes and your lips are left feeling dry, if not drier, than they were prior to application. I love Burt's Bees lip balms, but this one just doesn't cut it with the dry Colorado air. I thought maybe I had developed a lip condition, that's how much I trust the Burt's Bees line of lip products, but when I read that other users had a similar experience, I knew it wasn't me, it was an inferior product.


on 8/11/2014 3:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This lip balm has a nice scent and is hydrating enough that I used it almost daily after purchasing it. It wasn't stellar but certainly wasn't terrible either. Here's the kicker, though: For about three weeks I was dealing with terrible, recurring breakouts around my mouth. Extremely sore, under the skin type acne that was hell to treat. When one would finally begin to go away, another would appear until I had several on my chin and one above my lips. I sifted through all of my makeup trying to figure out what I was using differently and then I realized... it had to be this stuff. I put it away and ever since my skin has been slowly improving. Not saying this would happen to most, but if you're acne prone, I would be leery of this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2014 3:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

An alright lip balm - it does actually soften up my dry bits and makes them easy to be rid of. Perhaps it would serve better as a lip exfoliator. It can leave your lips greasy, but that doesn't bother me a whole lot. This lip balm does not give off any strong smell whatsoever - just a slight citrus-y taste. I think this product over-promises and thus delivers underwhelmingly. It's also a bit pricey for my budget, and I much prefer Burt's Bees Tinted Lip Balm range.


on 3/7/2014 1:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using the regular burts bee's yellow lip balm for a few years. I've been out of balm for a few days since the closest BB is a bit out of my area. So I have chapped and dry lips that hurt (also on Accutane), and I bought this thinking it would be a better version of the regular balm. Wow, I couldn't have been more wrong. The sales girl said it has wax (showed the ingredients) and said the difference between it and the regular was mostly the mint. I didn't like the mint smell so much so it convinced me to get this. Oh, plus the words 'ultra conditioning' and '4 hour moisture'.

Right out of the store I swiped my lips with it. It has such a watery, greasy feel that just stays on your lips and doesn't seem to sink in. It feels like taking cooking oil and smearing it on. A few applications later, my lips still feel dry under the lip balm, and the dry flakely bits don't soften either!
Have no issues with the smell, it only smells a bit like insect repellant if you sniff the tube. If its on my lips, no.

Thank goodness I bought the regular one as a back up in case I didn't like it. It's happened before. I hated their sunscreen lip balm and also their tinted lip balm. So will just stick to what works from now on. I wish I read MA's reviews first. Seems like a lot of people have given a bad score for similar reasons.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This makes my lips very soft and smooth. the texture when applying is very buttery and nice. i will be repurchasing and recommend this to people with very dry lips.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is sooo a 1 or less star item. I should've read reviews here from MUA. It is true that this smells like fruit loops. It is also true that it only lasts 10 minutes on my lips before my lips are dried out. I'm not really big on Chapstick in general (it's what my bf uses all the time). Chapstick works better than this. The dollar store has dollar items that work better than this. This was the first product I ever tried from the Burt's Bees line, and I am not impressed. Do not purchase! I guess if you really want to try it, then get it from Walmart or Walgreens where you can get a refund.


Back to Top