Chanel • Illusion d'Ombre Epatant #84 • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Rebeccaa242 on 6/9/2014 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Rebeccaa242

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Gorgeous shade, primer is a must with it though. Catches the light beautifully!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 12/19/2013 10:20:00 AM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this e/s thinking it would be a nice olive bronzed green but it turned out to be extremely shimmery/glittery with olive green pigmentation that had a very strong yellow undertone to it. It literally looked yellowish green on my lids. It just didn't look flattering on me. Perhaps made me look like a clown. Regardless of how much I like the feel of the e/s (silky smooth texture that is so easy to blend and apply), it does crease in a few hours. Similar to the other 2 colours that i own (Epatant and Emerville), it also dried up after a few months of purchase and was useless. For reference I am chinese with NC20 skintone, Chantecaille Future Skin in Alabaster, and GA Maestro/Luminous Silk in #3, with dark hair and eyes. Usually green e/s really accentuate and bring out my eyes and gives me a nice warm, earthy look, but not this one. I have hardly used it 5 times and tossed it away. Total waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slim5555 on 10/3/2013 10:25:00 AM more reviews by slim5555

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this based on all the great reviews I saw on here, I have brown eyes with a lot of gold in them and this green/taupe color really brings that out. I like at as a liner for day and on the lids when I want some sparkle. FYI I am 60 and yes ladies you can wear sparkle if you use these shadows. I bought it because I am streamlining my make up drawer and this has allowed me to get rid of two powder shadows, I put it on with my finger tip and use a brush for lining the upper lid. Yes it is expensive but it is long wearing, to the tune of almost twelve hours and it did not crease or "settle". I will definitely buy in another color, so much for streamlining. A very little goes a very long way, just make sure you keep the lid tightly screwed on to preserve longevity.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ninthe on 9/11/2013 7:48:00 AM more reviews by Ninthe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Nice soft texture. Very easy to blend. Colour is greyish/silver on my skin. Only negative thing is that it creases so you definitely need a primer underneath.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LaylaRose1 on 6/1/2013 1:27:00 AM more reviews by LaylaRose1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I just bought this the other night and it's a really pretty unique color. Its kind of like a gunmetal khaki color to me. It really glams up your look for a night out or I even wore it to work the other day and it added some excitement to my daily look. I haven't quite used it enough yet to tell which is the best way to apply it, with a brush or with fingers but I will keep experimenting. This was on the expensive side, but is definitely a worth it purchase for me so far!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 1/16/2013 7:10:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

This is my first Illusion d'Ombre shadow, and I love it. It is a beautifully pigmented frosty ice shade with a tinge of green. You can apply quickly with your finger and blend it across your lid for a simple shimmery look, or layer on thick with a tiny brush for a very pigmented party look. I really enjoy how versatile it is, and how lovely the silvery shade looks without being exactly "silver". a keeper! FYI - at least on me, I MUST wear primer with this! even a light wash slides right off into my creases in about two hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diamondtiara on 12/26/2012 4:05:00 PM more reviews by diamondtiara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Stolen from my own Illusoire review, because it's the same information for all of the Illusion D'Ombres I posess: "This is one of the best Chanel products I've ever purchased. Truly, I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could. My one qualm is that this is supposed to be a setting cream that doesn't budge, but I absolutely need a primer underneath this if I want it to last more than 4 hours. (My lids are normal, not oily.) However, I use a primer under all my eyeshadows anyway, so it's not a huge deal, just one little issue."


Longevity aside, Epatant is a stunning color, and strange as it may seem, a must-have for green-eyed girls. I know it can be hard to wear anything with a green tone around the eyes when your eyes are already green (or sometimes even hazel) but this will make your natural eye color look amazing. Every time I wear Epatant, I am complimented on how beautiful my eye makeup look, how green my eyes are, and how lovely the overall effect is.


Epatant is classic Chanel: A very complex, unique shade that has an interesting depth but enough sparkle to keep it feeling fun and special. There are so many nuances of colors here: Silvery gray, smoky taupe, pearl white, soft gold, and pale green. I have a light swatch of this on the back of my hand, and I keep looking at it as I type, mesmerized by its beauty. What I love about Epatant is that a very soft sweep of this over the lid with a fluttery, lash-separating mascara can make for a sophisticated yet eye-catching look that looks complicated but is effortless to apply. You can also use this color heavily on the lid, blended into the crease, and accented with a shimmery gold or silver powder e/s into the crease and outer V, and the effect is gorgeous.


When I wear Epatant, I feel inspired to experiment with new eyeshadow looks. I think that feeling alone is a testament to how lovely and unique this color is, and how highly I recommend it. As for the formula, this particular shade of the Illusion D'Ombre range is the softest of three that I own (the other two being Illusoire and Emereville). It's extremely buttery and just as easy to apply with fingers as it is with a flat, stiff brush. I know this is a very expensive product, as far as single-shade eyeshadows go, but it will last a very long time if you store it well: Lay the glass pot upside down, with the lid sealed on very tightly, and leave it inside a drawer. I've owned this particular color for about 6 months now, and it's still as creamy and pigmented as it was the day I purchased it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 deanna424 on 12/11/2012 9:53:00 PM more reviews by deanna424

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful silvery green color and excellent formula and lasting power. It feels creamy but dries like a powder. There's a lot of shimmer but no glitter fallout.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KatieA on 11/30/2012 1:47:00 PM more reviews by KatieA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Chanel's Illusion d'ombre shadow/liners, but this color didn't work for me. I have very fair, neutral to warm skin with auburn hair and hazel-brown eyes. The color looked weird on me and even though it made my eyes brighter, I didn't like the shade. I think this would work wonderfully with darker skin. I own three others in different shades and love them. (Ebloui which is my favorite, Illusoire, and Emerveille). I returned this shade and purchased Illusoire which is deep purple and works better with my fair skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tigerlily1787 on 7/26/2012 2:35:00 PM more reviews by tigerlily1787

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was the first Illusion D'Ombre eyeshadow I purchased, right after Chanel's fall release of these beauties just last year. Epatant's amazing longevity, easy-to-work-with formula, and incomparable shimmer were just a few of the reasons I fell completely in love with this eyeshadow. Yes, it's very expensive for a single eyeshadow at $36 USD. Luxury comes at a price, but I have to say that I've got more use out of this than any other eyeshadow in the past year, and I probably have about 60% of the product left. Some days I apply a sheer layer, resulting in a silvery shimmer all over my lids, and other days I build it up into a beautiful, metallic green that perfectly compliments my brown eyes. I haven't used this particular shade as a liner, so I couldn't comment on that. I can, however, say the brush that this comes with is actually surprisingly nice. I don't use it for this product--I much prefer my fingers--but it's probably my favorite brush for gel eyeliner. That's another thing with this eyeshadow: fingers seem to give the best results. If you're looking at the Ilusion D'Ombres and want to try one, this is my favorite (I also have Mirifique, Illusoire, and Ebloui) and I would highly recommend it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Eye Shadow products