MAC • Glaze Lipstick in Frou • Lipstick

rated 3.4(27 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Annelien1987 on 4/12/2013 10:32:00 AM more reviews by Annelien1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought this and i'm wearing it. I told the girl at mac I wanted a frosty grey colour. She gave me this. I bought it, not knowing it's a glaze, because I dislike glaze lipsticks (frosts are my favorites). But I like it, very moisturizing and gives a frosty grey colour on my pigmented lips. I'm surprised to read all the negative reviews for this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 10/17/2012 7:26:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

IMO, it is just a very outdated color...very late 90's when people were trying to leave the dark browns lippies of the early 90's behind them and went into uber frosty mode. I am sure, as with all lipsticks, someone could make this look good for a "look" they were trying to achieve. But especially on my NW20 skin this is the anti-perfect lipstick for me. Everything I hate in a lipstick...this color is: Frosty, icy, very dated...not good. Out of all the Glazes, this one is in the bottom two. If you like the Glaze finish, check out some of the other shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hollydolly24 on 8/6/2011 8:32:00 AM more reviews by hollydolly24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Very boring colour, washes me out, makes lips look blue/grey! Also vdry drying

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Designkelly on 3/30/2011 10:05:00 AM more reviews by Designkelly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an OK lipstick by MAC...Its best described as a pale, light brown with beige frost undertones. Its considered a "glaze" by MAC, however it seems more like a frost to me. I do wear it by itself at times however it usually looks best layered with other glosses and provides a great base for that purpose.
I wish I reached for it more often as I would probably re-buy if I was out of it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 supersophie on 10/15/2010 3:28:00 PM more reviews by supersophie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

The only pros are pros of all the other MAC l/s... gorgeous vanilla scent, chic packaging etc...
However this is the least pigmented l/s I have ever tried! When I put it on it looks like a sprinkle of gold glitter on my lips settling into the cracks - it makes me look really washed out..
I don't really see how this would suit any skin colour! (For ref, I am NC20) It's just a "nothing" colour...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lauralikes on 10/17/2009 11:51:00 PM more reviews by lauralikes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i love this one. im really into taupe/greyish lips with a true brown liner lately and this is such a good topping to my liplook for some extra, sexy, interesting sheen.
it's a glaze but it adds a nice silvery (not scary) shine...such an interesting pop of color.
btw, it's pronounced: FROH-OO

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seven12 on 5/21/2009 4:22:00 PM more reviews by seven12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Frou is not for everyone, but on the right coloring it is fabulous. I never understood the appeal of this lipstick until I saw it on someone with coloring like mine. For reference, I am LLL w/ warm undertones, dark hair, brown eyes & pigmented pink lips. When I finally tried it, I was skeptical (ugly in the tube, ugly when swatched), but when I put it on it was love! Frou tones down the pinkness of my lips and turns them a pearly light nude. I actually really like that it's not super glossy-- it makes it look more natural and last longer. It's surprisingly wearable and versatile. In fact, it's probably the best "My Lips But Better" shade I've ever tried. I can totally see now why it's part of the perm. collection, but I can also see why so many people hate it! It's one of those colors you just have to try for yourself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Violet912 on 4/27/2009 7:09:00 PM more reviews by Violet912

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I'm surprised people don't like this more.

This is my go-to lipstick for when I want a nude that's a little bit more dressed-up and un-boring. I hope it doesn't get discontinued because while I wouldn't wear this every day, I would miss not having it.

Also, how do you pronounce "frou"? Is it like the German "Frau" (rhymes with "brow") or the French "frou-frou" (rhymes with "tutu")? If someone knows, please tell me, I'd much appreciate. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jenniferroyea on 2/21/2009 4:56:00 AM more reviews by Jenniferroyea

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used to wear this a lot in the 90's - so much that I bought a second tube. But I never wear it now - it is just too frosty for me, which makes my lips look dry, It also makes them sort of disappear (in the 90's I wore it with mega-liner in Spice of course!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* svetlana89 on 11/15/2008 2:35:00 AM more reviews by svetlana89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

My first MAC lipstick and I love it!

MAC describes this as a soft muted beige with silver shimmer (Glaze).

By itself, it is probably WAY too light it will wash you out no matter what your skintone.

Layered on top of something else, it is amazing!

I usually wear it on my bottom lips on top of another nude lipstick, and it makes both my lips and hazel eyes stand out. A must for any smokey eye look!

Would repurchase again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products