Unlisted Brand • Jacques Fath - Fath de Fath • Fragrances

rated 3.3(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ncashen on 3/1/2014 12:13:00 PM more reviews by ncashen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Fath de Fath Jacques Fath for women is one of the finest fruit-topped fragrances I've ever owned.

I'm not sure why others are comparing it to something as simple as canned peaches. It's much too sophisticated and multi-faceted for that.

Fath de Fath is a luscious, velvety, cognac-colored elixir that sparkles with currants, plums, and citrus. Its heart blossoms with tender tuberose, heliotrope, rose, and orange blossom. I was very surprised that I could love a fragrance that contains orange blossom, because it's a note I normally cannot tolerate.

I think Fath de Fath must be expertly crafted with high quality ingredients. It's just so beautifully balanced.

The sweetness is countered by the floral bouquet and the base of amber, tonka bean, patchouli, musk, vanilla, cedar and benzoin. Although, the musk is very subtle.

Fath de Fath is a real gem in an elegant bottle. It strikes me as a modern and unique scent. I find it hard to believe it was launched in the 1950s.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 debrsl on 1/23/2013 7:19:00 PM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have a bottle a vintage Fath de Fath; however, it is not a green fragrance, more of a fruity oriental, so I don't know how old it is. The juice itself is very dark and thickened. I like it, but am not into the fruity notes enough to repurchase. It does have a fizzy quality to it like someone else mentioned.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lucinka01 on 6/4/2012 7:15:00 AM more reviews by lucinka01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Remindes me on Van Cleef van Cleef, but much stronger than that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maggiequinn on 5/1/2011 12:03:00 AM more reviews by maggiequinn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have this fragrance in extrait - quite serious floriental, a tad too sharp to my nose, but it is actually growing on me despite that. It reminds me a lot of the original formulation of Poeme. Great lasting power, elegant bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msm4slm on 9/3/2010 4:57:00 PM more reviews by msm4slm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is for a vintage (70's) version. I'd call this a floriental; I don't get much, if any, fruit from it. Perhaps the fruity notes were added in later versions (or I just can't smell! :-) ). I get a woodsy floral with very predominant vanilla in the ambery woody drydown. This is a warm floral with retro charm. Yes, it is powdery-- to the same degree Chanel No. 18 is powdery as opposed to Lorenzo Villoresi Teint de Neige or one of the Loukhoums popular this past decade. It's easy to believe this was created in the 50's; it definitely has that very feminine feel to it. Very charming, but not for everyone. Also not one to overapply; it's very strong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 1/30/2009 3:12:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A heavily fruity oriental over an old-style base, almost reminiscent of a Jean Patou. Both familiar and alien at the same time. It lacks the ashy weight of most orientals on my skin, having a creamy cedar base instead for the fruity notes to ride over. An evening scent definitely and interesting. Strange that something so oriental would at the same time be so different from the majority of orientals.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Casafras on 9/18/2008 12:18:00 PM more reviews by Casafras

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love orientals and I definitely love this one too. Just an overall good, warm, spicy, fizzy oriental.....not old-ladyish in the slightest.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 holisticzen on 4/29/2008 1:31:00 AM more reviews by holisticzen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

It's really fruity...reminds me of fruit rollups at first. Then there's something pretty and floral...I think it's Jasmine? The base is really oriental and it's kind of just too much... for me anyway. It has a weird pugent smell too. Interesting but not exactly in a good way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* manon on 9/26/2002 11:59:00 PM more reviews by manon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Originally launched in 1953 and re-launched in 1994, Fath de Fath is a powdery Oriental that begins with a fruit accord of peach, plum, mandarin and cassis. There is a distinct green note as a blend of jasmine, tuberose, and orange blossom take over. If the fragrance could have stayed like this for a while, I might have liked it. But unfortunately, the voluptuous floral notes evaporated too quickly, leaving the powdery base notes of amber, vanilla, benzoin and tonka to irritate my nose. So, even classical designer fragrances don't make the cut for me.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products