John Frieda • Spotlight detangler • Styling Products

rated 4.2(61 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 splash0306 on 11/22/2009 10:51:00 AM more reviews by splash0306

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My hair has suffered some major aging, weight loss, coloring and highlighting. I loved my hair, and I was very upset at the loss of it's shiny, sleekness. I had to resort to the additional salon expenditure of a gloss. I havenít had a glossing treatment in 4 months and you could never tell. This product does not weigh my hair down (wasnít happy with Fekkaiís) and cost far less than Fekkaiís Glossing Cream.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zandiland710 on 6/7/2009 8:03:00 PM more reviews by Zandiland710

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because of all the great reviews and I am happy I did because every day I use this product I have a good hair day. It smells good. Not fruity or anything, just clean. I run it through my hair when it is wet and then comb it though and blow dry. I finish with the original john freida frizz-ease serum. My hair is long, thin, and blonde. This product makes it shiny and frizz-free. Like glass. I gave it a 3 on packaging because I wish it had a pump instead of a twist-on lid. The price is good but I took one lippie off for the inconvenience of having to buy it on ebay. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 5/26/2009 2:39:00 PM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good alternative to high end hair serums when you just don't have the money to spend. I have long, thick blonde hair that tangles extremely easily. This serum does a descent job of helping to detangle my hair, while smoothing split ends and highlighting the color. Concentrating on the ends of my hair and staying away from the scalp, it helps make my hair shiny and managable. You only need a very small amount, too much and your hair will look greasy. It smells nice too, hard to describe the scent, but it is a light and pleasant smell that stays on your hair for awhile. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hannah16 on 8/16/2008 12:04:00 AM more reviews by hannah16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Amazing. I wasn't sure how much I would like it, but after reading reviews I went out to find it. For some reason Target doesn't carry any of JF blonde styling things, only shampoos, but I found it at out Meijer. (Which might just be in Ohio..) But anyways, I use it on wet and dry hair and it's all I need. Its not really a good detangler for me since my root area gets tangly and it would be too greasy, but it makes my hair SO smooth. It's better than the JF heat protection serum. I sometimes feel like I have to reapply that too much and it evaporates off or something... This doesn't at all. It's on my hair now, and it feels great. It makes my hair look like glass and I LOVE it. :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chiodancrgrl23 on 5/24/2008 4:45:00 PM more reviews by chiodancrgrl23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'd heard good things about this product but then I tried it. It is supposed to be a detangler and polisher but it is fairly thick and the consistency of vaseline. Or maybe shoe polish. Anyway, it seemed like it would be greasy once applied. It really didn't end up being greasy, but it was thick and kind of sticky. It didn't really aid in detangling but might have added a bit of shine. This product seems to be the same product as the Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock Perfecting Glosser but just marketed to blondes and as a detangler. My hair didn't look that great after using this so I probably wouldn't buy again unless it is for a finishing gloss after flat ironing. It actually reminds me of many of the shine polishes out there. Not really anything special.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anastasia2123 on 10/28/2007 1:39:00 AM more reviews by anastasia2123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this product since 2000. Back then it came in a silver bottle with a pump dispenser. It smelled like fabric softener--so fresh. I instantly fell in love with it and have used it since. Nowadays it comes in a gold tube with a flip top cap and smells kinda citrusy. Not crazy about the packaging--I prefer a pump as it's easier to control the amount of product being dispensed. I miss the old smell too--the one now is nice though. I have tried every imaginable hair serum on the market, and I can't believe that this cheap drugstore product outshines everything. I have bra-strap length highlighted dry wavy hair of medium thickness. It tangles easily and gets so frizzy. I use a dime size amount on towel dried hair and it creates perfect slip. It never coats my hair, and it does add some shine (maybe not mirror-like---but I'm blonde anyway so that's never gonna happen). I love how healthy my hair looks and feels with this---oh and no frizz yay! I've also used this on dry hair to tame humidity induced frizz. Works like a charm. It's so cheap everyone should at least try it! BTW I hate Frizz Ease by John Frieda---does nothing for my hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* centerfuse on 4/24/2007 9:06:00 PM more reviews by centerfuse

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product has kept my highlighted and colored hair in top condition. No one can believe how much I do to fine textured hair and still have it bounce back to shiny health. Yes...even when I really mess up and have to fix...This is a MUST if you blonde or highlight your hair!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rockkitty on 3/29/2007 11:43:00 PM more reviews by rockkitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. I absolutely love this product. I have just-past-shoulder length, color treated, extremely thick and coarse hair. It tangles and snags so easily throughout the day and I was having real problems even blow drying it without getting the brush caught in snarls! This stuff works wonders. I use this after my shower, in conjunction with Chi's keratin spray. I run a good size dollup of spotlight through my wet hair (more than the dime size amount they reccommend, but only because I have very thick hair) and then spritz on the keratin spray and let air dry for a little bit. When I blow dry, the brush glides through my hair and I am left with silky, tangle free locks that don't look fried or dried. Hooray!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluezinnia on 3/7/2007 10:52:00 PM more reviews by bluezinnia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great product for detangling hair after shampooing. I have long, color-treated hair, and it works very well for me. Since it's clear, it can be used by anyone, regardless of hair color. It has a light, somewhat lemony fragrance which is preferable (to me) to the heavy, coconutty smell of J. Frieda's hair glosser for brunettes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ylrebmik7 on 2/16/2007 3:41:00 PM more reviews by ylrebmik7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

Having recently switched over to the Blonde line of shampoo and conditioner, I thought I'd give this a try. My reaction is it's ok, nothing HG for me. I have long blonde hair that tangles easily and I was somehow hoping to get that "glass" effect that some others have reported. Outshine by Redken works better for me, actually really well but I have to alternate because it loses it's punch. Would I buy this again - no. This is good as far as cheapy detanglers go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Styling Products products