Essie • Very Structured • Polishes

rated 4.0(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Cheungc on 2/1/2014 1:34:00 PM more reviews by Cheungc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I bought my bottle of Very Structured in South Africa, where I paid almost US$ 10 due to the mark-up. I had been going through a phase of wanting a tan-leather nail varnish, but didn't like the leather-effect offerings from OPI and this Very Structured product looked like it might come close to what I wanted.

The colour is like a burnished sienna, but what you see is what you get: the colour doesn't change under different lighting. It's a close match for my tan leather accessories.

I've never used Essie before and was very pleasantly surprised by how easy it applies: the texture is thin enough to get even coats, although I do need to apply about 3 coats to get a full coverage. Each coat takes around 5 minutes to dry properly, and I'll finish off with Sally Hansen's Mega Shine top coat to make the application last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 swatters on 3/19/2013 12:27:00 PM more reviews by swatters

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I found this polish at Marshall's for $3.99.
With that said, the price for me was great. I've had this polish in my makeup drawer for months, to be honest I had forgotten about it. I finally grabbed it this past week and I was pleasantly surprised. It's not as boring as it looks in the bottle. Although it is brown, it's a red leaning brown (think of a brick). Looks good on my skin even though I seriously need a tan. Like all Essies it went on fine and dried quickly. I probably won't use this enough to ever repurchase, but it is nice to have in my collection, especially since it only cost me $3.99.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sofia9714 on 11/17/2012 10:54:00 AM more reviews by sofia9714

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this nail polish on a whim in T.J. Maxx. It was on sale for $3.99, and it looked like a pretty brownish-pink in the bottle. I got it home and put it on my nails and I was not exactly upset, but certainly surprised. The polish went on very evenly and was easy to apply, but when a looked at my nails, they were chocolate brown! Not even a tiny bit of pink. I'm not big into unconventional nail colors like this one, and that's why I gave it three lippies. But if this is your kind of color, it is an excellent nail polish. Will I be repurchasing? No.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TuttaPanna on 9/9/2012 4:28:00 PM more reviews by TuttaPanna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I found this Essie color on sale at Marshall's in the US for 3.99 and decided to try it - this and one other I bought are my first Essies.

This is a really nice color for fall, sort of a "deep neutral." It's like a mix of cocoa brown and brick red - I want to call it "cinnabar." It's a deep color but not bright and would probably be appropriate even as a polish to wear to work. It was a bit streaky after 1 coat but became opaque after 2 coats (though I don't apply polish very thinly... if you do, you might need 3 coats).

I love the color and after a couple of days I have no wear on most fingers, and only minor tip wear on a couple of fingers. I plan to repurchase because I love this color and have nothing else like it in my collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 olithea on 6/26/2012 4:46:00 PM more reviews by olithea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first color of Essie I ever purchased. I saw swatches of Very Structured and I had to have it. The color is unlike anything else I have, a midpoint between terra-cotta and light brown, which looks very tailored without being too conventional. It looks very good against my pale-cool skin, and works equally well whether I have long nails or short. This color is in my go-to bin and gets a lot of use from late summer to early spring.
The packaging for Essie polishes is pretty good. The brush gives me good drag-free application, and I think I have more control than with most other brand's brushes.
At $8 with no discounts at local stores, it's a bit hard for me to just buy a bottle whenever I feel like it, I have to really want a color. This has more to do with me being on an extremely tight budget. Because of this though, I have to deduct a few points because I don't find that the wear is as good as OPI or Sally Hansen Complete. I get more tip wear and peeling sooner with Essie than those two brands at the same price point. Still, when there's a very unique, have-to-have-it color, I'm happy to save my pennies up and splurge on Essie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 1/14/2012 10:48:00 AM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I ditto katrosado5's review (3 below mine). I think this is a very nice color and the formula is great. I only wouldn't repurchase because I have a ton of nail polishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SareenaS on 1/10/2012 5:49:00 PM more reviews by SareenaS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I found this colour to be very deceiving. In the bottle it is gorgeous muted brownish orange...a colour which is very popular this fall/winter. But once applied it looks like a mucky brownish red. It stays this colour in all different lighting as well...I was hoping it would be more orange under bright lighting. I gave it a two because application on this nail polish is very good. It goes on creamy without any streaks. Make sure you swatch this one before purchasing. Some people will love this colour...unfortunately, it just wasnt what I was looking for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itsaddiiiii on 12/21/2011 7:16:00 PM more reviews by itsaddiiiii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One of the best Essie bottles I own. Great formula, ironically it's easy to apply, no streaks. Pretty much applies itself. It's not too runny nor thick, it's just wonderful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katrosado5 on 11/22/2011 7:52:00 PM more reviews by katrosado5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Essie fall 2011 line. It goes on darker than it appears in the bottle. In the bottle it looks like a burnt sienna. On my nails it is a medium warm brown with definate orange leaning toward sienna. I like it. It's a unique color. I got opaque coverage with just one coat (I was in a hurry and didn't want to wait for 2 coats to dry). I do like essie's formula. Worth purchase price because it is a very unique color. I have the color carry on from this collection too. It's amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maggiejeanjones on 11/19/2011 8:03:00 PM more reviews by maggiejeanjones

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful dark, burnt sienna shade (the perfect polish shade for fall/winter). I agree with other users that it does go on darker than it looks in the bottle. I get a nice opaque finish in 2 coats, and the wear is 4-6 days for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products