Burt's Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser with Cotton Extract

3.5

65 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
Burt's Bees is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

aqua (water, eau), helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, glycerin, cetyl alcohol, cera alba (beeswax, cire d'abeille), sucrose stearate, cetearyl alcohol, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, gossypium herbaceum (cotton) flower extract, oryza sativa (rice) extract, beta vulgaris (beet, extrait de racine de betterave) root extract, quillaja saponaria bark extract, theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, yucca schidigera leaf/root/stem extract, artemisia umbelliformis extract, euphrasia officinalis extract, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) water, saccharum officinarum (sugar cane, extrait de canne à sucre) extract, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, silica, sucrose, fructose, glucose, coco-glucoside, inositol, maltodextrin, citric acid, benzoic acid, trehalose, xanthan gum, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate, CI 77947 (zinc oxide), alcohol denat., phenoxyethanol.


on 5/5/2015 10:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Although it is a thick formula, I think the cleanser is indeed great for sensitive and normal/convo skin types. It is moisturising and cleans the skin very well. After thoroughly rinsing the cleanser off, it may feel as I there is a bit of residue, however it doesn't clog your pores, instead it creates a moisturising effect. Using a toner over the top will balance your skin'a Ph levels. Burts bees sensitive cleanser is also frangrance free and has no skin irritating ingredients.
Overall, I am pleased and will repurchase.



on 1/19/2015 3:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this product, because I noticed that Aveeno products I've been using are drying out my skin and even skin on my hands after I wash my face. My face is oily, it is a fact, but wouldn't it be bad for your face if it is dry for your hands? I used Aveeno Foam cleanser for sensitive skin and Aveeno Positively radiant. Both contain SLS, which is not supposed to be good for your skin and leaves a pore clogging film on your skin as some acne sites claim. Burts Bees product claims it is mostly natural and has no sent. There are ingredients in there that are not natural still and it does have a sent. It smells like raw dough. Not very pleasant at first, but after some time you get used to it. It feels like liquid raw dough too. Maybe sounds crazy, but trying to be honest. It also says it will take off your makeup (foundation), but it doesn't unless you use it with a brush like olay prox the one I am using. Also, it says that it is noncomedogenic, but it has coconut oil and cotton oil, which are on pore clogging list. Unless it doesn't matter for face washes, because you wash it off anyway. I am not sure. Plus: It is not drying out my skin and acne gels don't burn when I put it on my face after I wash it. That is a plus.
After a week of use:
I will not be buying it again because of the smell and the consistency, but maybe that how natural products are. After a week of using this product, it made me breakout even on my chicks where I normally do not break out. It is not a product for someone with oily and acne prone skin. It is comedogenic. It doesn't take of makeup. The information on the packaging is misleading. Hope the review will help someone who is thinking about buying this product.

I wanted to make an update to this review due to changes in my skin. I use it in the mornings now and it is the only face wash that doesn't dry out my skin. I would only recommend it for someone with normal to dry skin.


on 12/21/2014 8:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love Burt's Bees products usually however I'm on the fence with this one. It's about 98% all natural ingredients, no chemicals. It has a light scent, no added fragrance or anything just the natural aroma. It didn't irritate my skin. It's incredibly thick, but very easy to apply and massage onto my face. I let it sit for about 2 minutes to let it soak into my skin before I use my Clinique Cleansing Brush to wash it off. It leaves my skin feeling very soft and hydrated. But not very clean, I always feel like there's still residue. And it does a terrible job at removing make-up.


on 11/4/2014 4:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

My skin, like many people, is normal on the cheeks but oily down the t-zone. In the past, I've tried many different types of cleansers with no real success...until last year!

I finally found one that I absolutely love last: the Origins Clean Energy Cleansing Oil. However, because the price is a bit too high for me, I've been looking for a good alternative oil-based cleanser. In general, my skin has really improved since switching to oil-based cleansers because it helped balance my skin MUCH better than any soap-based cleansers have. It's more gentle and don't strip the skin of the oil it needs. Instead, replaces it with with natural, nourishing oils.

So with all that said, onto this product. I purchased it on a whim and I'm so glad I did! I love that the ingredients are all natural.

The cleanser itself has the texture of a rich, creamy balm and washes off very cleanly. (If you're used to using foaming cleansers, this may feel a little odd in the beginning but you should stick with it!)

I like to apply a dime-sized amount and massage it all around my damp face for a couple of minutes (rubbing it into the skin and emulsifying it with the water helps it wash off later and working the product into the skin has the added benefit of "dissolving" all the oil/dirt on your face).

Overall, I would say this product is gentle, natural, and affordable. It fits the bill of what I was looking for (and I feel that it deserves a higher rating!).


on 8/20/2014 12:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have really sensitive skin and after a few days of usage, the redness of my skin died down significantly. People around me were commenting as my cheeks used to be really significant. I'm really glad and will definitely purchase again! However the smell is something that one may not like but I'm okay with it. As for price wise, it's really worth it for $20 for a tube. Can get it from sephora.


on 7/31/2014 9:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really enjoy using this face wash. To be fair, I have extremely dry skin...the kind that looks like a lizard molting during the dry seasons. I need a cleanser that will get my skin clean, while not stripping the oils as well. This seems to do the job. It's unscented, but does have a pleasant, natural aroma. The cream is very thick, and it is easy to spread on my face. I only need to use an almond-sized amount to wash my entire face.

My skin is usually red right after washin, but this seems to keep the redness at bay. I've used a few other cleansers that I've gotten samples of, but I haven't found anything that I like more than this. The price is decent, since one package lasts me so long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2014 9:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Background: I have very sensitive skin which is prone to breakouts, redness, excess oil, blackheads and reactions to products. I bought this cleanser after having a bad skin reaction from using a harsh shampoo - my skin was very sore and I wanted someone calming and gentle.

Usage: I use this product in the evenings to take off my make up before bed. I bought a large bottle from Holland & Barrett for 10 - a tad pricey but great for how much you get. The directions say to rinse it off with water but I like to just wipe it off with cotton pads before bed so that I get that extra moisturising effect overnight (this might not be good for everyone but I felt it was too drying otherwise!).

Outcome: After a few weeks using this cleanser, I really love it. It's quite thick but that is a good thing for my skin because I like the cooling effect it has. I'm so grateful to have found a product that doesn't irritate my skin!! I have only given 4 rating overall because I still have some redness and blackheads but there is much improvement from before use. I would definitely purchase this again & recommend people with problem skin to give it a try.


on 4/19/2014 1:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I should have written a review on this long ago. I have the world's most irritable skin, as in tears cause blisters on it, very oily, also flakey at times, acne prone, and many skin allergies. This is the only facial cleanser I have ever used without issue. I have used it for 2 years straight and my skin still likes it. A few weeks ago I went out of town and used someone else's sensitive skin soap because I forgot mine, after one use my skin freaked out and went on strike. After there days of going back to this it was all happy again.

For anyone else out there with problem skin, this might help:

Morning: this cleanser followed by a light layer of raw unrefined Shea butter

Evening,: Burt's bees sensitive skin face wipes followed by maracuja oil

Makeup: smashbox photo ready bb cream, tarte Amazonian clay air buffed powder foundation, lorac touch up to go concealer

Scrub: this cleanser mixed with some sugar, or the BB peach scrub. Only once per week.

I honestly don't know where my skin would be without this product

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2014 11:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I can't believe I have walked past this product in the store so many times over the years. The reviews for Burt's Bees products are usually mixed so I was hesitant to throw away money on yet another product that won't work but I tried it and am so glad I did. I have very dry, sensitive skin and find it very hard to keep it moisturized without making it oily and breaking out (especially in the winter). What I love about this product is that it is not a soap and so it doesn't strip away the natural moisture of your skin. It leaves my skin feeling thoroughly cleansed and hydrated.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this product 3 days ago and I was very skeptical about t because I have purchased so many neutrogena, cetaphil, clean and clear etc cleansers that I thought this one would be no different. When I put the cleanser on... My skin felt amazing. It didn't irritate it, or cause dryness. I have combination to oily skin but usually after cleansing the skin feels really dry. It didn't happen with this cleanser! I'm gonna keep using it because my skin is very sensitive and this removes my thick eye makeup very well. I'm currently on tretinoin so my skin is very sensitive and this cleanser will help my skin feel better. I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top