Tarte SmolderEYES Amazonian Clay Waterproof Liner

3.3

29 reviews

44% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/9/2014 6:31:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am surprised at some of the negative reviews of this liner. Let me start off by saying that I have a problem with my eyes watering. Seriously. I have Kleenex on me all the time. Also, I think that the lower rim of my eye doesn't fit as tight to my eye as I would like. I had a plastic surgeon tell me that just varies from one person to another. So suffice it to say that I like to line my lower rims to sort of camouflage that. This is one of my favorite liners. Its soft and goes on very nicely. First I take a damp Q-Tip and run it over the lower rim. Then I use this liner. I let it set for a few moments and then I put on a second coat. I find it lasts as well as anything. And I have tried every liner that claims to be waterproof that I can get my hands on. I like the gunmetal and brown for everyday. Only wear the black for evening. Just ordered two more since Tarte was having a 30% off sale. Will continue to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/30/2014 8:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have four of these and they are all very lovely colors. Moss. Espresso. Sunstone bronze. Amethyst. They are most definitely not waterproof and they smudge wonderfully. They are more like cream eyeshadows. I like to wear them smudged and then relined. I use my finger instead of the smudger at the end of the pencil because it is too scratchy. Sunstone bronze is really nice for making brown eyes glow. I just carry it with me for touch ups if needed. It usually lasts well if I don't rub my eyes too much.


on 12/23/2013 1:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This review is for the Amazonian clay waterproof liner - gold plum, which I purchased on Hautelook. This eyeliner is a nice color, but that's about it. Within thirty minutes, it was under my eyes, creeping into wrinkles. No thanks. On a side note, I've found the Stila Smudge Crayon in Umber is a similar color and stays put all day, even on the bottom lash line. Although I try to be all "green" with my makeup, the Stila liner is worth the sacrifice.


on 12/19/2013 3:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like them, but I don't like them. I don't really use cream eyeshadows (which these are in stick form) so i figured they would be great as a lower eye liner. Completely wrong. I wear contact lenses and the formula of the pencils is too waxy. The product ends up transferring onto my contact lenses and my eyes would be irritated really quick. You can physically see a film over my lenses and my eyes just would not have it. The colors are definitely pretty and they look nice but if I can't continue using it if I can't see while wearing my contacts. They are definitely not waterproof or smudgeproof. You can wear it for a few hours before it smudges a little or wipes away completely. I tried using it as a eyebase but I had the same issue with the transfer into my eyes. It sucks cuz I actually did like the product until I pinpointed it was these products that transferred into my eyes. I would not repurchase this (bc it was limited edition) but I would not purchase anything else similar to these either from tarte. I haven't tried the skinny black liner but I feel I would run into the same issue.


on 9/2/2013 12:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have this eyeliner in the shade champagne. It is a perfect pick-me-up in the morning. I look bright-eyed and refreshed. It does not smear or wind up under my eye after a long day. For this I am very happy. A +


on 8/18/2013 9:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have this eye liner in deep amethyst and it is gorgeous! It is a deep purple so it really brings out the green in my eyes without looking TOO purple. It last all day and does not smudge, like at all and It is even cry proof! I prefer this over the MAC PowerPoint eyeliner I used before this. Definitely would recommend this eyeliner to anyone

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Terrible.

Pros: Nice colour (got the dark brown one)
Cons: hard to apply, didn`t glide on easily so it tugged at my eyelids and was actually quite painful. It flaked AND smudged throughout the day, I could not wear this for a full work day without me looking like a racoon. Expensive. Pencil actually broke as well.

Verdict: STAY AWAY FROM THIS


on 6/8/2013 11:04:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This does not go on smoothly. A disappointment. Won't repurchase.


on 4/21/2013 3:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

NOT WATERPROOF. I put a bit on today (not much, it is Sunday and I'm just hanging around) and all day I've been having to wipe it with a Q-Tip off the top of my eyelids where it is transferring. I'm NOT sweating or working out (movie on the couch followed by an hour of grocery shopping) and it is not hot out. I purchased these in 3 colors since the girl at Sephora was raving about them. These are going back tomorrow! Ugh!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I got this pencil in Charcoal and it came as a duo with Just Deserts eyeshadow (Sephora was having a big sale on Tarte). I absolutely love the packaging and the shade of this eye pencil. Even though the shade is suppose to be charcoal (dark gray??), this one comes off a tiny bit dark plum/purple/indigo. It's gorgeous.
The reason I gave this product 4 lippies is because it began to crumble on my eyes as soon as I began applying! There were many flakes present underneath the eye, which never happens with my other eye liners. I am not sure if others experienced the same thing, or maybe mine is already passed its "best used until..." point, since it is natural and all.


Back to Top