Yves Saint Laurent • Effet Faux Cils Cream Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 4.2(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianaish on 8/21/2014 9:04:00 AM more reviews by dianaish

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

It's like applying colored silk to your eyelids. The staying power is terrific and they do not irritate my sensitive eyes. The lightweight case is easy on the eye and ready to travel with me wherever I go. I now have two colors--Cherry Black was my first, and since it still applies as if new after almost a year, I picked up Jade Black for days I want to up my game face and perhaps add some Mrs. Robinson allure. This makes the ritual of applying eyeliner an almost sensual experience (when I have time!) They got this one right. Highly recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 milevamaric on 5/24/2014 3:40:00 PM more reviews by milevamaric

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is an excellent cream eyeliner that I will continue to purchase.

I've been using this for years, and continue to come back to this. I have tried approximately 6 different high-end cream eyeliner, and this is by far the best. I use this on my waterline/lower lash line, and this DOES not budge. I have used this in Shanghai's incredibly humid, wet summers, and this has not moved or smudged. Unlike other cream eyeliners that I use on my lower lash line, I can connect this to my Stila liquid eyeliner on my upper lash line, and the connecting line does not smudge. (NARS Paint Pot, I am looking at you.) Additionally, I have not experienced any irritation and I do wear contacts.

The pot does not dry over time, and the color payoff is beautiful. I use cherry black, which works well on my green eyes. It's not too harsh for my fair skin and blonde hair, which is sometimes an issue with black-based liners. I do wish, however, that YSL would extend the color range. The price is fairly high for a cream eyeliner, but the longevity of the pot and lack of drying out compensates. This cream eyeliner lasts approximately six months or more with every day use. A tiny amount goes a long way when applied with a small, pointed eyeliner brush!


Keep up the good work, YSL!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Heelsblog on 5/4/2014 7:02:00 AM more reviews by Heelsblog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this colour in the cherry black, it is a dark black with a hint of purple. When applying the colour from afar after applying it just looks like a regular black gel colour. I really like this product as it stays without smudging, using a decent eye liner brush makes a big difference as build up can make it hard to actually apply the liner.
I would definitely get this again as it's proved to be the best gel liner i've tried so far.
Check out my other reviews on my blog =]
heelsssss.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GMaryroses on 4/5/2014 5:50:00 PM more reviews by GMaryroses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

It is a great eyeliner. I bought the cherry black which is a dark black with purple tint and a hint of shimmer. The color goes on rich and lasts really long, like from 8a to 4p (I live in Hawai'i so its impressive in this humidity in addition to my oily lids).
It's important to have a good brush to apply it with and I noticed cleaning the brush after every other use makes it super easy to apply. If you let the brush build up with product, it can get clumpy and that results in some fall out and smudges on the cheeks and eyes. So make sure to clean your brush!
The packaging is very luxe and nice, I dropped it and thankfully it did not crack.
The amount of product will probably last over a few months or more, so that's a plus!
I just started experimenting with gel/cream liners and this has been really great for a beginner like me. I usually use Stila's liquid liner which I hold onto for the days I need a quick cat eye, but the cream liner lasts longer for me and is more versatile in terms of eyeliner thickness and style (especially if I want a little smudge).
Bottom line, its long lasting and rich in color; with a good clean brush it goes on super smooth.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pslovetoshop on 12/31/2013 2:49:00 AM more reviews by pslovetoshop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Okay, so I bought the Black color. Honestly, I do not know how "safe" it is to use a cream liner in my waterline but I was fed up okay?! I have spent hundreds of dollars trying out ALL the eyeliners from all the brands and NOTHING works! Absolutely nothing! So when I read some reviews online about people using this on their waterline, I thought I must absolutely try it out. And surprise surprise it works!! I am quite impressed! Thumbs up!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* askr on 12/27/2013 10:55:00 AM more reviews by askr

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily and hooded eyelids; most primers don't work other than Proof 10 (Etude) and to a lesser extent, NARS.
I bought Sea Black, a dark blue with a tiny hint of shimmer-enough to keep it from being flat-in December of 2011. I still have the same pot; I store it upside down in the original box. Some months it's a bit dryer but it is still creamy enough and will not flake.

I use a bent eyeliner brush and have plenty of time to refine a winged eye. It sets well and for me it lasts all day. This year I bought Ashy Black, which is black with a hint of gold shimmer. It is creamier, being newer, and glides on more readily. Both of these liners last me a 14-hour day. I get no lid staining or irritation either.

I use it on upper lid only. For people who tightline this would smudge as it's a cream and hence not water-soluble and won't "adhere" to the lid lining. A gel (BB, MAC) would be preferable.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amerah on 9/21/2013 5:54:00 PM more reviews by Amerah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

AMAZINGGGGGGGG

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lieske on 9/12/2013 7:57:00 PM more reviews by lieske

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

No different than any other eyeliner. Smudges and fades within 1 hour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissusJones on 8/27/2013 10:25:00 AM more reviews by MissusJones

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know how to put it other than: These liners are AMAZING!!! I purchased my first one in Cherry Black and within a week I had gone back to get 3 more colors. I have a love hate relationship with eyeliner...I love the way it looks and defines my eyes, but I have super sensitive and watery eyes that will almost always win the fight with eyeliner leaving me looking like a badly made-made up crying raccoon! However, these gems from YSL are as tenacious as it gets but they don't irritate my eyes at all. My eyes tend to be watery anyway, and these puppies withstand my faucet eyes, workout sweats, humidity, everything!! They are super easy to apply, great for tightlining, and aesthetically gorgeous. I use the Sephora pro gel liner brush or Laura Mercier's flat top push liner brush and they glide on like a dream (and I suck at applying potted liner!). My mom has commented on my eye makeup every time she sees me and I happen to be wearing one if these liners (and she's my toughest critic so that's pretty huge!). They dont flake, budge, feather, migrate, transfer or run. The texture is smooth and creamy, and just a dip in the pot gets me an adequate amount for once across the lid. They can also be built up easily without the color sliding all around (to fill in mistakes, thicken the line etc... these babies are opaque and pigmented!) Once they've set, they're bulletproof, so a seperate eye makeup remover is necessary, or if you use a cleansing oil like me, it does a great job at removal as well. The price may seem steep but they're worth the money, trust me!! The opacity and quality of this liner makes the amount in the pot enough to last forever and ever...I haven't had problems with drying out yet, so hopefully it stays that way. Just remover to screw the lid on super right every time and store them as recommended. These are truly splurge-worthy and are my HG! I have them in Deep black which is exactly what the name implies, Cherry-black which is more of a deep blackened purple, sea black which imo isn't black at all, it's a gorgeous dark blue (but not as deep as navy), jade black which is a beautiful deep green, and bronze black which is actually more of a khaki, but is gorgeous nonetheless!! These liners from YSL reawakened my love for eyeliner!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 5/20/2013 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Thoroughly enjoying this product. I bought the Jade Green and the navy blue (forgot name).

I have a difficult time with gel liners but will not give up on them either. This one applies like a dream, very soft. The colors are elegant. the packaging.. meh, they all come in some form of pot which unless closed very carefully will give you a dried up product in short order.
The coverage is excellent and they draw a very defined line. So far I have not had any problem with messy tear duct leakage. I have to remove with Bifacil not because they are entirely waterproof, but because I don't like to tug at my eyelids.

I did not purchase the black because I have quite a few from many other lines and black is the most simplistic color around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Eyeliner products