The Body Shop • Extra Virgin Minerals Loose Powder Foundation • Powder

rated 3.2(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Sophhsssss on 6/11/2014 4:22:00 AM more reviews by Sophhsssss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is an okay product but majorly overpriced! You pay like £14? And get 5g I was shocked!!!! In a blusher you get more product than this. Just for an okayish powder I don't think I'd repurchase. Also I'd agree with the other comments that it oxidises..I certainly looked more orange as the day went on

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vaivut on 6/6/2014 9:26:00 AM more reviews by vaivut

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love stuff from the Body Shop, so I thought I'd give their mineral make powder foundation a go. I quite liked the coverage, however I noticed as they day went on my face looked more orange. It also broke me out, so I just decided to leave it. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Friben on 5/21/2014 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Friben

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just don't like it....i don't know if probably i choose the wrong color but it definitely makes my skin looks darker and also i dont like the shimmering effect...dark n shimmering? Just no for me...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 imaniarulfah on 5/20/2014 10:46:00 AM more reviews by imaniarulfah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I hate this mineral powder. It oxidized so much on my face n turns it to be so much darker than i first apllied it. So matte n flat n left no glowing or dewy effect. The staying power is horrible n as an asian, i just cant find the colour that match in me. Definitely not to buy this again, even if someone will gives me for free, maybe i'm gonna just say "no, thanks".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 danafranuby on 5/17/2014 6:32:00 AM more reviews by danafranuby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product along side the Body Shop Oil Free Balancing Foundation, because the two products complement each other well. Unlike the liquid foundation though, I did actually enjoy my time using this product.

As I've said in my previous Body Shop foundation review, I appreciate the natural composition of their products. This powder sits very lightly on the skin and gives off a very well blended, smooth and even skin tone. I use this mineral powder with my other foundation products from various other brands, as well.

Pros:
- this powder is light coverage
- this powder is very light in composition, so will allow your pores to breathe
- this powder sets liquid foundations very well, without needing to build up, on the foundation

Cons:
- this powder is not waterproof, of course and will not only wash off with just the use of plain water, it rubs off during the day onto clothing, your hands when you touch your cheek, and just about everything else it comes into contact with, so be careful with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nlakhani on 3/18/2014 10:00:00 AM more reviews by nlakhani

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this on and off because of how basic the product is and doesnt cause any irritation however... the colour and oil control are terrible!
Body shop are awful at matching skin tones to Asians indians especially but this product looks like a orange dirty tan on my skin!
It looks terrible and makes my face look like an oil stick by at least mid day. The product however doesnt break me out at all but was not willing to look that bad as a compromise for it!


The packaging is terrible too, very messy and not easy to carry around or re apply during the day.

Id opt for the Mac Blot Powder, gentle daily oil control basic powder or any selected pressed powders since they are less messy and will match your skin tone.

Not worth a re purchase and trying to get rid of my current half used product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kissjacksparrow on 3/10/2014 2:13:00 AM more reviews by kissjacksparrow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Horrid.

First. Color matching was not good. I had an associate help me and she couldn't find a perfect match. I'm pretty fair, but not ghostly or anything and there wasn't a shade truly light or warm.enough for.me, but settled for something close thinking it'll work a until I get a bit not tan. Well. To my dismay, it only gets darker as the day wears on.

And that's another issue. The wear. The associate told me it's great for oily skin, that it will meld with the skin and last all day with out transfer... was she high? That's detrimental happened! I looked a hot mess in a few hours... so oily, dark, blotchy.....No no no.

Got this because I was looking for something I can slap on for lazy days that my oily skin can handle. I used to use tinted moisturizers but my skin changed an it wasn't doing it anymore. I really like body shop skin care an body care, but, man, was this awful. Sorely disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* djsaphira on 2/18/2014 10:05:00 PM more reviews by djsaphira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Terrible mineral powder foundation. I myself love matte formulas, but this was almost gritty to me in texture. It gave very little coverage to the skin, and while it did leave a matte finish, there was almost nothing in terms of appearing foundation-like. This might be good as an absorbent mineral powder OVER regular foundation, but as a mineral foundation it did not compare at all to Bare Minerals or even some drugstore brands I've tried (Almay, Revlon). Okay for a $5 purchase, but I'm glad I didn't spend more. Plus, the sifter screen was a joke. Too much product wasted. Just meh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yazmin77 on 1/8/2014 11:36:00 AM more reviews by yazmin77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a superb powder that really gives skin a beautiful matte finish.
I got the shade golden vanilla which is a nice tan shade it's darker then my natural yellow skin but I wanted a darker shaded powder to tone down the paleness that my sunscreen gives me.
You do have to use this with a good powder brush otherwise it would just streak on skin, it lasts for a few hours but it does not provide you with a matte look for long, you will have to blot in a hour or so, the SPF 25 is enough for the winter.
It contains simple no unnecessary ingredients so great 4 my sensitive skin.
It's a good powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beecky on 12/15/2013 9:01:00 PM more reviews by beecky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had been thinking lately about purchasing a new foundation when I happened to come across this, and was thinking about trying mineral foundation again anyways. I've tried every kind and brand of foundation out there and the only 2 that look legitimately NATURAL, smooth, naturally matte, and that my skin react well to are Benefit's Some-Kinda-Gorgeous compact foundation, and The Body Shop's Extra Virgin Mineral powder foundation. This foundation is amazing. I have very dry, hypersensitive skin that will break out the more dry it is. I feel that having a barrier of well-hydrated skin helps to prevent acne, and this foundation definitely did not irritate my skin at all. Felt extremely light and smooth, the color was a perfect match ( I got 305 natural beige), and I am NC40-NC45 in Mac. I was concerned that this, because it is a powder, would dry my skin out further and irritate it, however, this was not the case. If you have dry skin, but are like me and prefer a matte finish definitely give this a try. I got mine on sale so it was only $10, it's usually $20, I think ? If your skin is dry be sure to use a nice moisturizing cream before applying this. Also, it does not have a ton of coverage, but is perfect for daily use for those without much acne or who do not need a ton of coverage like myself. If you need more coverage use some concealer and this over top. Lasts pretty well, has a nice matte but very natural finish, is great for sensitive skin, and feels like you have nothing on. Thumbs up !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Powder products