Pacifica Island Vanilla

3.9

37 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/10/2015 12:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Meh, at first sniff this smelled almost exactly like an old limited edition VS body mist I LOVED (Island Escape) However, after wearing it this turns completely linear and into a very basic, almost cloying vanilla. Will probably be returning :( decent staying power though!



on 6/9/2015 2:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this as a sample from Ulta as a perfume solid mini. It smells better in the tin. On my skin it turns into a cloying vanilla extract type scent. I think I'll just stick to vanilla scents from www.lovepotionperfume.com from now on.


on 4/17/2015 9:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have returned all Pacifica products i have ever bought....they are cloying one dimensional and not worth the money. They are not an all natural line either. I have sampled this and the lemon blossom fragrance.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this on a whim at Whole Foods, even though I'm not usually a fan of sweet scents. In particular, I have never liked the way vanilla scents wear on my skin, so keep that in mind for this review. However, let me start by telling you what I do like. For one thing, the price point is fantastic! Most scents packaged in a rollerball start at $20, and only go up from there. For the quality of the perfume oil that you get, $12 is great. It has excellent silage, and it is potent enough to be smelled from a distance. The packaging is also lovely, with a glass tube and a golden screw-on cap. The scent of Island Vanilla, however, leaves a bit to be desired. For starters, it smells more complex in the tube than it does on my skin. Initially, I can pick up the fruity and floral undertones, but the dry down leaves a lot to be desired. As another reviewer said, it becomes sickly sweet, with strictly vanilla notes. It even leaves me feeling a bit nauseous. That being said, if you are a fan of scents that smell like rich desserts, you may love this. Personally, my favorite scent is the perfume oil from TBS Amazonian Lily range; a light, floral scent that is a far cry from this saccharinely cloying one. I will be returning this, but the quality of the product makes me want to try a floral scent from this line.


on 1/25/2015 7:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My favorite scent ever! If you like Prada Candy, you'll really like this. Sweet but very clean and refreshing.


on 1/14/2015 7:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I own Island Vanilla in rollerball form and it smells absolutely delicious! It's a sweet, sugary vanilla scent without being too cloying or artificial. Since it's simple and not overpowering, it also makes an excellent layering scent. I'm especially impressed with the staying power; if I apply it to my pulse points, it lingers even after an 8-hour day at work.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2014 8:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought the roll-on version of this for keeping in my purse and for airplane travel. I really like vanilla fragrances, and this one is my new favorite for cold-weather months. The roller ball does not dispense much, but it does not have to. The scent is fairly strong. It's a warm, woody vanilla that lasts several hours. Bonus points for Pacifica being a 100% vegan, cruelty-free company. And for a good roll-on design that doesn't leak everywhere.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2014 9:49:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A very basic Tahitian-type vanilla. Nice and easy to wear, lightly sweet without being childish or cloying, but there are perfume-ish notes in there that take it out of the simple vanilla category. I suspect these notes are woods. Wood tends to add that artificial harshness that strikes me as 'perfume-y'. Would layer okay, but even at the great price point, it's not what I'm looking for.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I adore this scent, the second I smelled it at Whole Foods, I knew I had to buy it. I got it as a self present with the lotion and the body gel for about $30 ( The gel is 16 oz and I think the lotion is 8). The smell is to die for, when you get a whiff. After wearing this for a couple off hours, I smelt a hint of rum (or something that smells like it). After that realization, it was one of the only things my nose could think of. I don't like the smell of rum, so I took a star off. I don't have the perfume in a bottle, but in a rollerball. If I put a couple of strokes, it'll last me throughout half of the day. The scent goes great with other scents. I sprayed my Taylor Swift perfume and added this to the scent. Some guy came up to me and told me how I smelled like cotton candy, which is probably what the two of them combined smell like. Even with the rum, I LOVE this perfume. I also love how natural the company is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2014 12:02:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I thought I loved the scent of vanilla, but now I'm not too sure. I can appreciate sweet fragrances -- I love Prada Candy -- but this one just never stops. I smell nothing but vanilla -- loud, screaming vanilla.

I think I need to have my vanilla as a component and not as the star in my perfume. And of course, wouldn't you know it that the longevity on me was forever. Seems to be a perverse truth that the more you dislike a fragrance, the longer it hangs around.

I had my husband sniff it a few times, and his opinion never changed -- way too sweet, waytoo strong. For reference, he likes Prada Candy. I had him sniff both on me, and he again said that the Pacifica Island Vanilla was just overwhelming and unpleasant to him and that it didn't have what he described as the complexity of Prada Candy.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1369 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews
Si
42 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
342 Reviews


Top Rated Pacifica Products

image

Waikiki Pikake

28 reviews
Back to Top