L'Oreal Owl's Night

4.0

17 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/23/2015 3:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a wonderful deepened brown almost black polish with warm golden shimmer. It's the only L'Oreal polish I own, as I do prefer HE and Salon polishes. Great color, ok wear time. It's a cheap dupe of Julep's Candace in my opinion.



on 1/26/2012 1:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was a limited edition shade from Project Runway. I had no trouble finding it in my area of the town in a Rite Aid. The color is very forgiving whats why I have rated it a 5, its wears well, soft gold black - not a stark black goth, and since its is shimmery the mistakes are easier to cover. I really love this color. Very different and interesting! I do have to share that it looks almost dark brown in pictures, because the gold mixes too much with the black but I really like it since its a basic boring black.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I honestly don't think the color is all that incredible or special once it's on the nail (looks awfully nice in the bottle though!) but I am writing this review as a response to all the tip wear comments.

YMMV but I get better wear out of this polish than any other I have tried (although my polish experience is admittedly slim). I tend to get MAJOR tip wear and chipping within 24 hours and two thin coats of Owl's Night with NO TOPCOAT (! what!) have held up with minimal tipwear at 48 hours here--so minimal you can only see it if you're closely examining my nails which. hopefully, only I am doing. I don't know if this is just a fluke and if it is I will come back and edit accordingly, but I am so excited about the wear time on this I will wear it even if the color isn't everything I hoped it'd be.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2011 5:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

Ewwww. I did not like this. I'm really into dark, sultry colors and generally love metallics, but for some reason this color just looks odd on me. Not sure if it's my olive skin tone, or the tone of the polish itself but it just looked off and wasn't flattering. I returned it.


on 10/25/2011 5:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've always been a fan of L'Oreal polishes. Mostly I've liked them for their price and 2-coat-to-opaque formula. My biggest complaint with L'Oreal was that they generally only have classic (boring) colours like nudes, reds, corals, deep purples. Nothing too edgy or novel.

So I was very excited to find this unique dark olive-y, mossy, golden colour. First things first, the colour is obviously fabulous. If you bought it you were probably attracted to the colour. Price point is fine, I got it for $5 and I am ok with paying that for a drug-store polish (I know there's cheaper, but $5 is still middle-range for drug-store).

Now, the issues.
1) The Finish: I wish that, like my other L'Oreal polishes, this would dry to a glossy shiny finish. But it doesn't. I guess it's the micro-shimmer. It doesnt have that glossy shine I like in my polishes. However, this can be solved with a top coat.
2) Tip Wear: holy major tip wear! I can't even get through one day without tip wear. Admittedly, I hardly ever get through 3 days on other polishes, I am hard on my nails. But it's maddening that i can see tip wear after one day. Fortunately, the shimmer seems to hide some imperfections, so the wear is not too obvious.

I would still buy this again (if I can find it). It's a beautiful colour and none of your friends will have! (unless they get the same polish).


on 10/24/2011 10:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I think this is stunning! Very cool depth to the shimmer within the polish. Two coats of this with a topcoat of Nubar 2010 flakie polish turned out to be one of the prettiest autumn manicures I've ever done!


on 10/24/2011 9:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This was just 'meh' for me. I thought it looked prettier in the bottle than it does on the nails. Chipped in about 3 days.


on 10/24/2011 2:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I feel so lucky to have found this- the last one in the store, too. I polished with it tonight, and still can't get over how beautiful it is.
It's stunning. Gorgeous. Sexy. Unique. Opaque in two coats. Quick-drying. Good formula. My new favorite polish. Incredible.
I've never been so sad to hear the words "Limited Edition" in my life.
I will forever be on the hunt to find a stable dupe of this.


on 10/20/2011 1:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Super-beautiful! I've been looking for a shimmery brown that doesn't look like cockroach & this 1 one stood out @ me, it was the only 1 in left the display. Grabbed it w/o caring what the price was (which was $5).


The shimmer is a tarnished golden gilding that gives it a somewhat olive cast (like the picture above), very pretty & different. I was already wearing a burgundy shimmer manicure & I added a rich layer of this polish right over it, which looked immediately like the bottle color but as it dried down w/topcoat over it, it resulted in a very deep burnished cognac. Lovely effect.


So it's nice knowing this is a little sheer to layer w/other colors, but 2 coats for sure is entirely opaque & beautiful on its own. Glad I got it! I didn't think a brown like this existed. I rate nail polishes on color satisfaction above formula & durability, & this color definitely deserves a 5. Good thick formula (perhaps a tad goopy but stays where placed & doesn't easily flood the cuticle), good quality brush to cover plenty of nail surface, & the traditional L'Oreal square bottle packaging.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just got this polish tonight, but I am already in love. I will edit this post in a few days to state the staying power and all.

I love the blackish olive base color and the gold glitter reflects in it are perfect. I am going to repurchase a back up of this polish for the fall. Definitely a favorite.

I am not giving this any fives because I just purchased tonight, but as I said I will update.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top