Cartier • Baiser Volé • Fragrances

rated 3.7(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 7/19/2014 10:49:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the EDT, which I'm wearing now. Sooooo pretty! Light & fresh & sweet, perfect for spring & summer. Just lovely!

Not powdery or musky. And I don't find it "green" at all -- I don't generally like green fragrances. It's not strong or heady or sharp or crisp or scratchy or spicy or fruity or aquatic or earthy in any way,

It's ethereal, angelic, and sweetly clean -- a clear, fresh, super-pretty, uplifting, light floral. I looove it!!

Here are the notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes: Lily pistil
Heart Notes: Lily
Base Notes: Green notes, Lily leaf

I've never tried the EDP version, but I doubt if I could like the scent more than this EDT version. The bottle is fantastic -- I love the little lighter design with the attached flip-top lid. Only slight problem is it's not very long-lasting. I might give the EDP a try and see if it has the same magic but lasts longer.

ADDENDUM 9/19/14: I got the EDP, and I'm wearing it now -- sooooo pretty! Really, it strikes me as a smooth clean fresh sweet floral skin-musk. Warm and skin-like -- at a distance from the bottle, it seemed almost white musky. A muted, sweet, sensuous, elegant, understated, skin-musky lily scent. Smooth! Sweet but not too sweet.

There's nothing sharp or screechy about this fresh floral at all! Gorgeous! All three Baiser Volé versions are different but equally wonderful -- the EDT, the EDP, and the Essence (vanilla version). I have & love all three. I'm generally not a "clean floral" fan at ALL, since I find them sharp & headache-inducing (Pleasures, Romance, J'adore, Elie Saab, Modern Muse, and so many others). Baiser Volé is head & shoulders above those IMHO -- well-done & beautiful!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ladyofgrace on 4/9/2014 5:38:00 PM more reviews by Ladyofgrace

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Deep Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Cartier Baiser Vole is one of my favorite spring-summer fragrances. The scent smells fresh, floral and powdery. Baiser Vole will last all day when layered with the Baiser Vole body cream. The cost is average for a good perfume and the 1.6 oz bottle will normally last me 1 year plus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 funkysmama on 3/31/2014 5:38:00 PM more reviews by funkysmama

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm bad at describing perfumes, so I won't bother trying. My experience is based on a sprizter sample that came with a Sephora order, which I assume is the same formula as the stuff you'd buy in the bottle.

What can I say? It's... nice? Kinda floral & powdery, maybe edging a bit into old lady at the country club. You could probably wear it in the office, even if you work in banking or something?

There wasn't anything special about it for me, though, so I wouldn't buy it for myself. If I'm going to spend the money on a "name" perfume, I have to fall in love with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 2/25/2014 1:22:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Slightly powdery floral lily on me. Nice, very delicate, very sheer. Not my kind of thing, but office-appropriate and pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kysyona on 1/26/2014 8:41:00 AM more reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am absolutely unconsolably devastated: I wanted to love this perfume so much!! - the name, the description by all MUAers here, the bottle, the hype... I have worn this twice, both time tested at a drugstore, once in summer and then again in autumn, and it goes simply fecal on me!! Does anyone else have that effect with musky lily/rose?...!! I have never experienced such an awful side effect, I could never imagine my chemistry could pull off such a number.. The quality ( soft veil etc, but of sweetened poo in my case :-( ) ), the longevity, the silage - it's all there, so I do imagine this can be a delight as a casual wear scent, but for me - not in this lifetime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msdi2u on 9/21/2013 2:11:00 PM more reviews by msdi2u

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Definitely the most expensive perfume I have ever purchased- but I fell in love with it! I got this as a sample and used it for two days, and I couldn't stop sniffing myself where I sprayed it because it smelled soooo lovely! I was actually upset when the little spray vial ran dry! I knew being a Cartier fragrance, there was no way this would be "cheap," and when I looked it up online and saw the price... I clicked *add to basket* -but hesitated finalizing the purchase. I really can't afford Baiser Vole, but I can't bear the thought of not having anymore, either. It smelled so pretty, fresh, and classy... and every time I caught a whiff of it during the day... it made me feel happy & special. I am not a "professional" at describing perfumes and silage and top notes and such; as cosmetics are more where my expertise lies. But- I had to sacrifice BIG time for this one- and thanks to my upcoming birthday... there is a bottle being shipped to me as of this morning. :o) Can't wait to get it!!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/19/2013 9:58:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Baiser Vole translates as 'Stolen Kiss'. Initially this has a very strong scent of green cut flower stems which put me off a little as it was quite unusual. However, the drydown was a lot softer and fresh, and turned into a lovely creamy yet powdery floral after several hours.

According to Cartier, lily is at the heart of this fragrance, from the sharp green of freshly cut stems as a top note, the petals as a middle note and the lily leaves as a base note. I am no lily expert but this to me is just a pretty floral fragrance without being overpoweringly feminine. The strong green note at the start made me hesitate to keep trying this fragrance, but each time I wear it I appreciate the uniqueness. The creamy powder lasts quite a while and I can smell this faintly on me several hours later.

This is an intriguing fragrance and one that I feel I have grown into over time. The bottle is also quite unique, with a flip-up lid. Will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SepiaRose on 8/7/2013 9:44:00 PM more reviews by SepiaRose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

On my co worker this fragrance is really understated and the lily in it really comes through. It smelled so clean and fresh and feminine and not overly floral but on me I smelled nothing but the lilac undertones and it was awful. I absolutely hate the way it smells on me, this did not agree with my body chemistry at all, it seemed much heavier. It managed to smell like cheap powder or soap and almost bug spray-ish on me. Thankfully it died down and totally disappeared after about 2 hrs but I was highly disappointed and will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CoRRi on 7/26/2013 11:20:00 PM more reviews by CoRRi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The spice of the lily dissipates very quickly so if you are a fan of the flower, you may want to reach for Donna Karan Gold instead. As a whole, the scent - even in its eau de parfum - formulation is very fleeting. Despite the reasonable cost of the perfume on online discounters, I would invest my $50 elsewhere. That said, the old Hollywood charm of the cigar lighter style bottle is irresistible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 masha814 on 6/30/2013 8:57:00 PM more reviews by masha814

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a lovely, sheer, unpretentious floral. I get lily, but others swear to lilac, rose, and clean jasmine. Later I actually smell violets, like the violet/rose vibe from old-fashioned cosmetics. So...green notes, flower of choice, cosmetics. Then a soft, sweet, powdery drydown. It's very sheer and inobtrusive. I see this as the perfect office scent. It's beautiful, but will offend no one. I give it 3 stars only because I like my florals a little more quirky. But I predict that this will be very popular for a long time, and it does smell beautiful.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cartier products

More Fragrances products