L'Oreal • Infallible - Eternal Black 14 • Eye Shadow

rated 3.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 Laiscg on 12/15/2013 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Laiscg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought and wore it yesterday, and it was so frustrating! It's a very pretty color indeed, but the fallout was a pain to deal with. I applied it as delicately as possible, but yet I got small black dots all over my underey area, those that are very hard to clean without wiping off half of the makeup (wich happened, of course). And after that I ended up going out with lots of silver glitter, also from the fallout (as others pointed before, it's big silver glitter, not fine shining particles).
It lasted in the place the whole night, no smudging, but well... even if the final result was good, I guess I'm probably not wearing it again because it took me twice as normal to do my makeup because of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luxferi on 10/25/2013 3:58:00 AM more reviews by luxferi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love the pigmentation, love how easy it is to swipe it using my fingers instead of using brush when I'm in a hurry - but good grief, the glitter fallout is crazy! I look like a disco ball and it's hard to clean them up. It's great as a base though and stays put all day, even through workouts. Not sure if I'll buy it again, I rather look for another black eyeshadow cream/base. Despite all that I love the glitter in it - makes it interesting. Just wish that it won't fall out so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* encee on 12/24/2012 11:03:00 PM more reviews by encee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

My 3rd col from the Infallible range. Actually bought this as a fun black. I had been a devout user of Maybelline's hyper diamonds palette..the black shade. I thought no one could do it better. But this pot overtakes the throne. Its shimmery-subtle black, is not too goth nor go-go queen, i wear it to office everyday. Staying power is great & does not smudge much. A pot goes a long way. I don't mind ended up looking like an overzealous panda just bcos I love this so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ChemicalMonster on 8/10/2012 11:37:00 PM more reviews by ChemicalMonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It is a beautiful true black with very sparkly glitter. (Think new years eye makeup). Its stunning. However, like all the other 2 infallible eyeshadows I have ( golden emerald and midnight blue) there is a lot of fallout. I think what makes the eternal black more difficult to clean up or to work with is the glitter. It's not shimmer. It's straight up silver glitter. Other than that it's very pigmented, what you see in the pot is what you will get. The pigment isnt moist rather it just resembles a lot to moist soil in terms of texture yet it is extremely silky soft despite the glitter. Blending ability is not the best but not the worst. It is blendable but it tends to get that dirty, faded affect quicker than most eyeshadows if blended too much ( same with the other eyeshadows. They tend to lose their vibrant color and look dirty). It's not chalky and there is no need to use them wet. The container they come in looks classy and if they weren't plastic I would definitely expect to see that sort of packaging at a high end cosmetic store. It's pretty and I think every girl should have a good shimmery black in their collection and if not at least something very similar to this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vmalenfant on 1/27/2012 9:26:00 PM more reviews by vmalenfant

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a makeup snob, i usually purchase luxury brand only but I want to experiment with loose eyeshadows and pigments and I thought Colour Infaillible eyeshadows were the best place to start as they are promoted as both loose and semi-press eyeshadows. The first purchase was Eternal Black and love it .... the easiest smoky eyes ever and it can be subtle too! I used Benefit creaseless cream eyeshadow and it stay there all day!
For the price i'm not sure there is a better product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alexanna7 on 1/27/2012 2:30:00 AM more reviews by alexanna7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

eternal black is a shimmery black eye shadow that got silver shimmers.it goes on smoothly on the application,last verry long.perfect for a smokey eyes! i complete that eye shadow with:pink,pink-gold,purple,plum eye shadows.love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jkline72 on 1/16/2012 10:57:00 PM more reviews by Jkline72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this after really wanting a glittery black that last. It really does. I layered it over a wnw icon jumbo pencil in graphite and it make it adhere and stay on my eye. No fall out. It's makes for an awesome smokey eye

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LashFlashingLeda on 1/12/2012 5:14:00 PM more reviews by LashFlashingLeda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I really love the packaging on this. I'll just get the nice part out upfront.

I was lured in by this and since I love a good glittery black that isn't too obnoxious I gave it a try.

Infallible? Pfft. Even with primer this smudged INCREDIBLY badly on me, and even though I am all about the "slept in my makeup" rockstar look, I can't imagine I will ever wear it again. Considering the price, that's a pretty huge waste.

I am gonna try a different shade and see if it's a problem with the formula or just this shadow, but I'm reluctant. I was extremely disappointed by this and having tried the Maybelline Eye Tattoo in teal at the same time, can report that the latter stayed put and looked great while this one was embarrassing me in public. I can't in good conscience recommend this shade, at least. Which is a shame-it looked great when I first put it on, with little fallout.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 10/15/2011 12:05:00 AM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Lasts ages. I generally use smoulder pencil by MAC, smudged all over lid as a base. Then i top it with this loreal one wettened on eyeliner brush, to line with. Looks beautiful. I do think drugstore prices are rising too much but maybe this one is still worth it. I agree with arisatomi's remark that you have to use this wet, and that the chunky glitter fallout REALLY irritates my eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* user24678 on 10/4/2011 7:38:00 PM more reviews by user24678

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up today, thinking I could do a nice smokey eye with it. I was lured in by the claims of the 24 hour wear and being waterproof. I had never heard of a waterproof pressed eyeshadow before. Well, I'm not going to find out if any of those claims are true, because I flat out do not like the finish of it. There was no tester for this colour in the store so I could only swatch the other colours (a purple and a blue), and they didn't look nearly as shimmery on my skin as they looked in the package (and I figured worst-case-scenario, it would just be a bit shimmery), so I thought the black would be the same. Well I don't know if this colour is just more sparkley or if it was just the lighting in there, but it's packed with glitter. Shimmer is one thing, but big silver glitter? C'mon, L'Oreal. This is going straight back to the store. Ugh.
It had very little colour payoff anyways. You'd have to really pack this stuff on for it to cover, and that's hard to do with a small brush to do a smokey eye.
Edit: I applied this shadow like 15 minutes ago and washed away all the glitter that had made its way around the rest of my face. Well, I just looked in the mirror again because I was going to wash it off, and there's already more glitter all over the place again!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eye Shadow products