Essence • I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base • Eye Primer

rated 3.3(65 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 SSacrebleu on 4/18/2014 5:59:00 AM more reviews by SSacrebleu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

It's an okay base if you don't have super oily lids. It holds eyeshadows in place, but if eyeshadows tend to fade, it won't help. It'll make cheaper shadows to hold for about 8 hours and better ones even more (24 hours with Sleek eyeshadows, but have only a little bit oily lids). Packaging is great, easy to use, little goes a long way with this. You will usually require only a dab and it blends easily. I used a tube til the end and it doesn't dry out or anything like that. Is a good choice for everyday wear.
Only complaint is its shade - it comes in quite dark yellowy/orangey shade that doesn't add vibrancy to colors. Sometimes it kinda alters the colors. I'd prefer it to be transluscent, so that's why I won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bellalovesbeauty on 4/16/2014 6:54:00 PM more reviews by Bellalovesbeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of the best eyeshadow bases i have ever tried. When i apply the product on my eyelid it is creamy but then starts to set. This allows for the eyeshadow that i am using top really get attatched to the base. I would only recommend this to people who have a medium-dark complection with a yellow undertone. This ha a very long lasting power which is helpful for school and if i go out with friends.

This product is also high coverage. My mum even stole it from me and started using it as her concealer!!

I am a huge fan of this product and this is one of essences drugstore gems!!

Bella xx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 crisafael on 3/28/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by crisafael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So this is the first eye primer I ever purchased so I'm afraid I can't really make a comparison with other high-end brands out there. Still, I think it does it job quite well. My eyeshadows last all day long after using this! AND it because it has a slightly orange-y tint to it, it also helps conceal undereye dark circles! So if, like me, you are on a budget, I'd definitely reccomend buying this product! It serves its purpose and it's quite wallet-friendly as well :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MacPeetster on 3/27/2014 4:16:00 PM more reviews by MacPeetster

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't understand the average rating on this product. I like it quite a lot. To be more specific, I also have UD's primer potion, which I hardly use.. I use this product instead and I love it! Good colouring, evens out skinto e on your eyelids and it doesn't crease at all. Would highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Honeybee3 on 3/24/2014 6:37:00 AM more reviews by Honeybee3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This just didn't work for me at all!!! It turned orange on me and didn't make my eye shadow last any longer...I don't have issues with creasing but rather fading and this didn't prevent that in any way!!! My eye shadow looks better without it and lasts just as long, the price is pretty decent but not worth it for how little it does...was very disappointed!!! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 brelig on 3/19/2014 7:08:00 AM more reviews by brelig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was not impressed with this product. The color is almost orange, so I'm not sure who can get away with an orange eye primer, but with my very fair skin, I am certainly not that person. I have very oily lids, and this product only exacerbated the time it took for shadows to crease. I actually think it has an almost instant creasing effect. At first I thought I had applied too much, as I tend to do with new products out of enthusiasm. But after playing around for over a month and using as little as possible, even applying with a blending brush to make certain it was applied thinly, I had to give up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LenkaCervantes on 3/8/2014 11:37:00 AM more reviews by LenkaCervantes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First of all, I was very pleased by the price of the product - itīt one of the cheapest eye primers Iīve seen. It does itīs job quite well, has a nice smell and lasts practically all day.

The only thing I donīt like is the colour - itīs almost orange (and for people with fair skin like me, thatīs not what I am looking for).
Therefore I wouldnīt buy it again,the color really bothers me. But if you have a slightly darker skin tone, definitely go for this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 midoriclarkbaba on 2/12/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by midoriclarkbaba

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is like my HG eyeshadow primer, whenever i where eyeshadow i always apply this first. I have really oily eyelids and this keeps my eyeshadow on throughout an entire day. I also find that with certain eyeshadows it makes them more pigmented

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iliana1334 on 2/9/2014 10:00:00 AM more reviews by iliana1334

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

using this eye primer I didnt notice any creasing in my eyelid... the eyeshadows DO last longer but not crazy longer or all day! (the colour fades eventually)
overall I'm satisfied with the product and especially with the price of the product because all of the other eye primers cost too much for their value... another good thing is that it has no silikone in it so it doesn't come off in small pieces when i rub it... the thing that annoys me the most is the colour of it because it is too yellow for my yellow to olive skintone... i know that they wanted it to act as a neutralizer but i find it hard to wear white/beige eyeshadow over it without using "two tons" of eyeshadow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Neume on 2/1/2014 5:32:00 PM more reviews by Neume

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I am astonished that people got good results out of this. This did not work for me in the slightest. My shadows had faded and creased after about 3 hours. I usually love Essence products but this one was a massive fail. I tried using more, using less, all with the same results. I pitched it after about 2 weeks of trying to make it work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Eye Primer products