Alpha Hydrox • Foaming Facial Cleanser (Decyl Polyglucoside version) • Cleansers

rated 3.8(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ShalaStar on 4/24/2014 9:57:00 PM more reviews by ShalaStar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The quality of this cleanser is outstanding! I only have to use a very small amount to reach a rich lather. I love using this foaming cleanser with my Clarisonic Pro. This cleanser really has helped my acne prone skin, and has really aided in leaving my skin at the right Ph level to apply my serums and AHA's. With the price of this cleanser being under $10 I will keep purchasing!! Try this cleanser and I promise your skin will love you!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BGutwein on 3/14/2014 9:15:00 AM more reviews by BGutwein

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Wish there was a maybe option for this one.

I purchased this at a local Harmon Discount (Harmon Face Values) for $6.99. I did not see that it contained ANY glycolic acid in it at all. I used this product years ago and I think back then it had 4% in it???

I did not see any labeled on this one, but maybe I missed it. I added this to my new route AHA routine. Was told this product is great for "troubled" skin. I did not see anything grand about this. Felt like a regular foaming cleanser. I did notice that the foam lather was not excessive but felt it cleaned my skin. Actually - I felt like it "prepped" my skin for the other product in my routine. No reactions and no breakouts.

Possibly will purchase again if the results do not change. Seems like a ordinary cleanser to me, but maybe the low gylcolic acid in it is the right dosage for my skin? Only time will tell.

They wasted no money on the packaging. Very simple clear colored bottle tube and a red cap. Simplistic in nature but durable. Cost was right on target with other acne branded items so cost did not hit the wallet at tall. They do occasionally have this on sale for $1.00 off or something, so if I see a sale, I might grab another one, but perhaps the new formula works for some and not for all???

Would give buying again a big maybe.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Endit on 3/1/2014 3:29:00 PM more reviews by Endit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently tried the old version (with alkyl polyglycoside and slightly different ingredients) and liked it. I've since used the new version.

PROS: I don't have really have anything to say here.

CONS: This is more drying than the old one. I know it's winter, but I don't go outside often and nothing else has changed in my routine, but my skin has been getting drier over time. Water dries/falls off my face fast after cleansing, and even a moisturizer that I don't usually use (Paula's Choice Moisture Boost moisturizer, due to the high jojoba oil content and fact it never dries) now absorbs well, is less greasy, and easier to use. It works now because my skin is much drier for it. Also, the texture of this is pretty bad with the Clarisonic. I know foaming cleansers aren't made for it, but I can make them work. This, it just gets thin quickly and is not ideal. I've also been having some breakouts recently and this cleanser has do NOTHING for them... nothing at all.

OVERALL: It feels and acts the same as the old one. It also still removes everything.

OVERALL: I liked the last one but this new one is not good. It's not truly worth 1 star performance wise, but it's too much for $8. I would go back to the old one if that was still made.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wonderbuy on 1/24/2014 4:00:00 PM more reviews by wonderbuy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a regular foaming cleanser however i find the concentration of glycolic acid to be too low. From experience I would say this is around the 2-4% range however to see any real difference on my skin, i need 12-15% so I feel glycolic acid pads are still far more effective. There is nothing to fault about this except the fact that its not particularly effective so perhaps good as a starter or if you have sensitive skin. I say the dermaquest 15% glycolic acid cleanser or the 10% Glycolix is far more effective. I like that this washes clean and is a no-fuss, no mess cleanser, this would be a real winner if they upped the active ingredient level.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BoxOfRocks on 9/1/2013 9:47:00 AM more reviews by BoxOfRocks

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Takes off all my makeup (including eye makeup, although to remove mascara fully, it needs a bit more massaging into the eye area), doesn't dry the skin, and is reasonably priced. I see Alpha Hydrox at Marshalls and TJMaxx on a regular basis, so I pick them up at even lower prices than the drugstore. I will continue to purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greatskin4 on 4/15/2013 11:25:00 PM more reviews by greatskin4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

really good product. i use it in a shower to wash my face and it takes my make up off very well. use it on my eyes as well and it works even w my Diorshow waterproof mascara. does not leave my face dry. highly recommend

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vickster524 on 3/11/2013 9:33:00 AM more reviews by vickster524

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

A+++++++++. I have hormonal acne, only break out around that time of month if you know what I mean and I was using Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash, which works great if you don't have dry skin but for me and my dry skin just not so much so I was looking for something to help with the breakouts and not dry me out. After reading several reviews I decided to try this, And the price was amazing as well. I think I paid $7 at Drugstore.com, Anyways, I've been using it for almost a month along with my Boots No 7 Day and Night Cream and I LOVE IT...It has cleared up my blackheads, helped with clearing up my acne (I still break out but it's hormonal so not the cleanser's fault) and best of all DOES NOT LEAVE ME FEELING DRY AND TIGHT!!!!! Leaves me looking like I just had a facial....I will never use another face wash again, And it's super cheap!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LTcurlygirl on 3/9/2013 5:12:00 AM more reviews by LTcurlygirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have dry, sensitive skin that is prone to breakouts. I bought this cleanser to remove residual makeup after using cleansing oil and for use in the mornings; it is very mediocre. I don't feel it did a good job cleansing my skin, yet it always left it feeling tight and parched. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 masha814 on 1/5/2013 10:25:00 AM more reviews by masha814

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The only thing I'll use to wash my face. It keeps my uber-sensitive skin happy and calm. Keeps away breakouts, and removes makeup better than anything else I've tried. It's a real bargain and I hope they keep making it forever!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bumblebee770 on 9/24/2012 2:15:00 AM more reviews by bumblebee770

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Been using this for years at night to remove foundation. Others I've tried have removed makeup better but dried my skin too much - this strikes an acceptable balance. I still have to use toner after to get my face completely clean but am ok with that. Only Walgreens and Ulta carry in my area.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Cleansers products