Chanel • Perfection Lumiere • Liquid

rated 3.4(371 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wonderbuy on 10/10/2011 5:27:00 PM more reviews by wonderbuy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have an interesting story about the Chanel SA who assisted me with this foundation. She looked flawless so I asked what she was wearing, to which she replied this new foundation. She was very generous and poured me 2 samples jars of this in 2 different shades. I used it for 2 weeks and while I found the formula to be very easy to wear and apply, I was somehow not sold. The coverage is light and it lasts only 75% of the day. Still this is much better than the Matt Lumiere. The main issue I have is that is oxidises about half a shade, so I recommend that you go lighter. I have normal skin. Further to this, it makes me look really dull, even when the lighter shade has darkened, it just doens't make me look vibrant. It sort of makes me look as if I have pollution on my face having spent the day in the big smoke. I went to a SA at GA and asked what he thought of the foundation I was wearing to which he replied 'sorta dull, ho-hum, you could do better, but the color match is correct'. OK, this finally confirmed what I was thinking all along, but could not admit since I really wanted to like this. All in all, this foundation is at best, on the better side of OK.


I went back to the same Chanel SA to ask if there are any other options to deal with this, ie primer, color corrector, etc. She then told me her secret, she said she wasnt wearing this at all, but in fact she was wearing Shisiedo Sun Protection Liquid Foundation. She said this is what the new chanel foundation wants to be and that she has used shiseido for many years but just tell customers that she wears Chanel. She said there was no color shift issues, the coverage is medium and stays that all day, the sun protection is better and the nozzle dispenser is better and about $20 cheaper. She also said that a lower end foundation to which this is similar is the Maybelline Fit me, which I already have but have not worn.


So off I went to Shiseido, got my sample jar and tried again for a week. Within the first day I wore this, it was like, YES, i have found what I was looking for. This is one of the most superb foundation I have ever used. The color selection is much better, although there are less than half the shades, the formula is easy to wear, makes me look bright and best of all, it lasts all day and gives a perfect finish. I guess I should really write this review under the shiseido section, but I guess I wanted to give you guys a comparison, which is what I always appreciate in reviews.

As for the maybelline fit me, it is the best drugstore i have ever tried, i was thoroughly impressed! In fact, i prefer this to the chanel since its not as drying and there is no color shift, above all, it makes me look luminous and not dull. Before you buy the Chanel, I highly recommend that you try the shiseido and maybelline along side this. I hope you find what you are looking for. I went back to the Chanel SA and gave her some chocolates to thank her for her honesty.

63 out of 67 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blushmetweetme on 2/17/2012 7:24:00 AM more reviews by blushmetweetme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't really understand why this foundation had such bad reviews, because I fell in love with the shade matches, coverage and scent of this foundation the moment I first tried it.However, after trying this on many different friends and people of all different ages, I have concluded that this foundation, despite being great for me, is not great for everyone. I have given this product full marks from my personal experience, however there are some people who really need to think about the purchase of this foundation a little more carefully before investing. It is A LOT of money. It is 36 here in the UK, which is pretty steep for a foundation from Chanel. Although they are a high end luxury brand, they are charging the price of a typical product from a brand like By Terry, for example.

1) People with Dry Skin.
You need to have well hydrated skin for this so sit well. It will cling to dry patches if they are physically "flaky". My skin is dry, but it is not literally flaking. I tried this on some friends with dry skin, and on one of them who had incredibly dry skin, it clung between and around her eyebrows, and looked terrible.

2) People who do not like to use a Primer.
This foundation is not a foundation that sits well without a primer. You need a little bit of a base to get amazing results. If you have dry/normal skin then the Laura Mercier Hydrating Primer works really, really well in conjunction with this foundation. Equally, you could mix this foundation with something luminescent such as the Burberry Glow Primer, NARS Copacabana Illuminater, BECCA shimmering skin perfecter, or MAC strobe cream or strobe liquid lotion.

3) People who look for a "dewy" Glow.
This foundation gives a MATTE glow. Stupid really, that chanel tried to replace a really luminous, glowy foundation and a matte foundation with one product, because they were never going to keep everybody happy. However, they did, and so if you were a Pro Lumiere fan, or like dewy, glowy, foundations that give that Jennifer Aniston, Rosie Huntington Whiteley "esque" kind of glow, this will not be for you.

There will be a lot of people however that like this foundation, like me. If you have good skin (as with any foundation) this will benefit you. But the coverage is really build able and therefore will be excellent for people with redness/pigmentation problems, acne, acne scars or spots, as long as you don't fit into any of the above categories for people I recommended should NOT get this foundation.

The shade range for this foundation is EXCELLENT. Possible the best I have seen from a range of foundations (Other than Giorgio Armani).There is a shade for everyone here, and so if you are someone who has struggled in the past to find a match close to your skin, you will love that they have to offer here.

This foundation lasts a good 8 hours on the skin before it starts to fade, and even then it doesn't fade hugely. Any working person will appreciate this in a foundation, and the fact that it is so long wear makes it ideal for everyday use, as well as special occasions and events.

It also photographs well. A bonus for makeup artists or models, who rely on foundations that look good for photographs.

Overall, I like this foundation a lot. I think unfortunately for the foundation, it is always going to get bad reviews, just because they replaced two incredible foundations with it, even though it is nothing like either of them. If you were a Pro Lumiere fan, this is much more matte, and has much less of a glow, which is not what you are going to want/look for in a foundation. If you were a Matte Lumiere fan, then this inst really completely matte, it gives a matte glow. So I think few people are going to be happy with, or approve of this foundation.

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oceansidebella on 10/2/2011 5:56:00 PM more reviews by oceansidebella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I joined MakeupAlley chiefly to review this product.

I've been on the hunt for the HG foundation for a while now. I've tried many. What I look for is something that is long-lasting, won't make my skin break out or clog my pores, that has a full-coverage velvety-natural finish, with a wide range of shades as I'm often in-between colors. I *think* I've found the answers to all of these criteria in Perfection Lumiere.

I'm a teacher, and apply makeup early in the morning. I need my makeup to last, but to also look natural yet polished. I should insert here: I hate using primers on my face. I don't know why. Perhaps because they typically make me break out. I also hate dousing my face with powder to finish it off. I feel like a foundation should deliver, especially one that makes the long-wear claim.

I am matched to Beige 30. In MAC I'd probably be about a NW20 these days. I like the sensation during application. Unlike other long-wearing foundations, you don't have to speed through the application process as it has time to move / spread / blend (doesn't dry up). It does take a few minutes to set. When it does, it does not -- I repeat -- does not -- dry a shade or two darker like wall latex paint. It is honest to goodness a good, satiny, natural finish. I added a bit more than the SA applied, because I like to look "done" up. As far as I can tell, it doesn't oxidize, either.

The true test will be in the warmer NY months when the humidity is outrageous. If the price were even $5 cheaper, I wouldn't hesitate to repurchase this foundation. But a tiny, tiny drop goes such a long way, I think it has good value. The packaging is lovely, as a luxury product should have. I'm pleased.

Other foundations I've tried:
Make Up Forever HD (#120 in winter --> #128 in summer): it's highly pigmented and has a thin, spreadable formula. I prefer a softer, natural finish to this one, such as Perfection Lumiere. The HD leaves a dewy, shiny finish, revealing uneven skin texture, and slides off my t-zone after a few hours. But it is great if you're in a wedding or something and don't want the SPF to create that bounce of light a camera flash will create.

Make Up Forever Mat + Velvet (#30 or #35) War-paint. Thick, stage-makeup-like. Covers everything, but looks like you're wearing makeup. I felt like my skin couldn't breathe through the stuff. I'm really not a good match for any of the shades, which I've heard other gals complain about as well.

Estee Lauder Double-Wear Light (Intensity 1, 2, 3 - depending on season). I do like this foundation -- especially because it doesn't transfer to clothes. But I am really in between shades right now, which is frustrating. I think there are only 6 to choose from. I either look too pasty / pink, or too tan. The finish is more matte than the Perfection Lumiere, and looks patchy by the end of the day.

Lancome Teint Idole Ultra (Bisque #2): This one had promise as it also makes the long-lasting claim. But my biggest gripe was that even while intense cleansing with a foam cleanser with my Clarisonic, there was still reside left over on my skin. Numerous swipes of toner would offer little help. Definitely not what I need, as my skin is sensitive and acne prone.

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephsays17 on 9/16/2011 7:34:00 PM more reviews by stephsays17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So this is my first review ever on MUA and I felt so good about this foundation that I decided I had to come on here immediately. I bought this foundation yesterday at Saks at Dadeland Mall in Miami FL(if anyone needs it immediately, they already have it in stock and for sale...nowhere else near me, including Neiman, 2 Nordstrom locations, or Macy's have it yet, only presale orders). It goes on in what seems to be a little streaky at first, but once it sets 10 mins later it looks fantastic!! It does everything promised...smooths over imperfections, leaves a semi-matte, natural finish, and looks like a perfect second skin. Vitalumiere Aqua was great but broke me out, so this may be the answer for those encountering the same problems. It seems to me to be Chanel's answer to HD makeup.

For those bothered by fragrance,be advised this does have a faint whiff of Chanel's popular fragrance Chance in it, but after about 20 or 30 minutes I couldn't really smell it anymore. As for the promised 15-hour wear, I have yet to test it in party conditions (will do so tonight) but so far its lasted pretty darn well throughout the day. I recommend anyone to try it! Its water based (I have oily combo skin) but it its not drying and does not accentuate flakes like, say, Laura Mercier's oil-free foundation did to me. As for color, I am NC 20-25 n MAC, wear the Mat Lumiere in 20 Clair and the Vitalumiere Aqua in 20 Beige, and I got this in 20 Beige as well. This foundation runs in numbers by increments of 10...so there are Beige, Rose and Ambre undertone lines, and each increasing in intensity by number. So, for example theres a Beige 10, 20, 30 and so on, and a Ambre 10, 20, 30 etc. ***EDIT*** About coloring, this foundation DOES oxidize slightly so for the reviewer after me who mentioned she noticed a darkening or "orange-y" tone after wearing the Beige 30, I suggest you try going down to Beige 20. I tried on both shades, one on each cheek, while still in the store and within 3-5 minutes I noticed the change. I anticipated this, however, because I've noticed all Chanel foundations I own tend to oxidize. ***

I will update after a week or two and I have a chance to wear it on an extra sunny, humid yachting day and to a club. Sorry for the long-winded review, I'm just excited about this product! :)

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Winthrop44 on 9/25/2011 1:20:00 PM more reviews by Winthrop44

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was pleased to see that Chanel expanded its shade range at the darker end with this foundation. I was also happy to see that this foundation does not include any chemical sunscreens but instead contains the sunblock titanium dioxide. Those things and the lovely pump packaging are the real positives in my mind. I could probably get by with the lightest beige shade, B10, if I had to, but it is a bit dark and orangey on my NC10-15 skin. I currently wear Chantecaille Future Skin in Porcelain, which is a much better shade match and feels more comfortable on. I found that the finish of Perfection Lumiere looked somewhat aging on my normal to dry skin and my face felt slightly irritated until I removed the foundation both days that I tried it (once on bare skin and once over moisturizer and primer). I have sensitive skin with rosacea and in looking at the ingredients I suspect the alcohol bothers my rosacea. This foundation does contain less alcohol (and perhaps a little less fragrance) than Vitalumiere Aqua, but it is still pretty high up there on the ingredient list so it is probably not the best choice for me and may not be for others with sensitive and/or dry skin or rosacea. Such things are very YMMV. Bottom line is that I hope the current trend of using high levels of alcohol in liquid foundations will pass sooner rather than later, as I don't see how wearing alcohol on a daily basis will be good for anyone's skin over the long run - it's drying. I also hope now that Chanel has finally expanded their shade range at the dark end they will also do so at the light end of the spectrum...and maybe tone down the orange!

Edit 9/28/11: Even though I an an NC10-15 with neutral to yellow undertones BR-12 (Beige Rose) looks better on me than B-10 (Beige). Still dark but not orange, and for some reason does not feel as irritating on my skin. This is the first time ever that I've matched to a "pink" shade, but the BR range is not overly pink imo. If you want to try this foundation I would recommend sampling a variety of shades in different undertones even if you think they may not work on you and be sure to let the foundation settle on your skin for a good 30 minutes. Drying and/or oxidizing seems to darken the color from what you see immediately after applying - this happens within 5-10 minutes as the foundation dries, even on my arm, so it is not an interaction with my moisturizer and/or primer.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flybaby on 9/11/2011 10:57:00 PM more reviews by flybaby

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

photo added. Taken outside with iPhone (sorry, not the best camera for this) No filters or photoshopping... Wearing Perfection Lumeire 30 Beige, over BurnOut Clean and Clear spf 32. No powder. Nars Laguna bronzer, NYX Red (24) blush, Guerlain Meteorites Teint Beige 02, Lipstick is YSL Rouge Volupte in Rose Culte (11) over Chanel pencil (14) which I believe is Carmine...


October 21 Update:

I have reached the conclusion that the lasting power of this foundation is tied directly to what is used under it. With a generous layer of physical sunscreen used as a primer, the foundation lasts extremely well - actually over 12 hours for me. Used on its own, the results are pretty average as far as staying power. Done "right" over either Biore or Burn Out sunscreen, I've found I can look freshly made up many hours after its applied, but I don't think its this specific foundation to thank for that... I wish ): but I don't think so.

I also suspect that those who are seeing oxidization may be due from what is under the makeup, whether it be reaction to a primer, or oil coming through. Some shades may be more prone to oxidize perhaps? It does not oxidize for me. (I have it in beige 30). It doesn't even seem to darken when it drys after application like some no/low transfer type foundations do. (i,e, YSL teinte resist) There are no sparkles, it is a natural matte appearing foundation that is buildable, and does not cake, nor does it go into fine lines, or accentuate pores. There is a wide range of shades to choose from.


One pump was more than enough to do my entire face. I can see how this could look thick and mask-like if applied too heavily


If I could rate it a 3.50 I would.


Am I disappointed? Somewhat. I don't know what I was expecting, other than to find the Soul Mate version of foundation... I like it better than Chanel Lift Lumiere, I do believe it has better staying power.

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondex199667 on 10/8/2011 4:04:00 AM more reviews by blondex199667

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

To begin with, the packaging is top notch. Both chic and practical. Also, you cannot beat the cache of Chanel.
The foundation itself, however, was a disappointment. First of all, I need a foundation that is traceless on the skin because I'm a guy. That obviously means sheer coverage. But this did not even cover up the minor redness around my nose. I had to go back and put on another layer. Also, its finish can only be described as flat. Not matte, just...flat. Even with my oily T zone. Also, I could not get this off my hands for the life of me. I washed 3 times with soap and hot water to no avail. I finally had to just wipe it off with paper towel. But it did release easily from my face when I washed it off that evening.
If you're quite oily and need a foundation that stays in place and stays matte you may want to try it if you only need light coverage and you're willing to shell out the $55. But I've already returned mine for Nars Sheer Matte which I am loving and will review soon. (Because I know you're all dying to hear my opinion of it- LOL!)

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kristen39 on 10/24/2011 12:13:00 PM more reviews by Kristen39

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE THIS PRODUCT! This is my foundation holy grail. I have extremely dry skin, which is patchy in areas from time to time. Plus, I really don't like the look or feel of most foundations and during the day will use nothing or tinted moisturizer from Laura Mercier. Believe me, I have tried foundations from drugstore to high end (my drawer is packed with barely used foundations, including L'Oreal, Covergirl, Sonia Kashuk, Armani shaping cream, Bobbi Brown, La Mer and niche brands like By Terry...and those are just the ones I kept...). I kept buying new ones, because none of them really lived up to expectations - all dried out into patchy flakes on my skin within 1to 2 hours, even with primer and heavy moisturizer. I also have super sensitive skin and can't even wear many of the mineral foundations (plus, they look way too dry/cakey for me).

This one looks flawless and lasts forever. Went to a concert last night and looked as good when I came home as I did when I walked out the door (well, foundation anyway!). I got the wrong color at first, but when I found the right one it just lifts my whole face, feels really silky and doesn't settle into lines AT ALL. Ladies, if you are over 45 (or just have dry mature skin that makes you feel like over 50...), you should give this one a sample try. But go in to the counter if you at all can for color matching - - the regional rep was there when I went in and she said the colors are different from the other lines and really need in person trials (plus, they look darker when applied than they do in the bottle, IMO). TIPS FOR APPLICATION: here are the tips that the regional rep gave me: first, get your color matched in person - I was originally unhappy with this until I found my right color. Second, apply it in sections - for some reason, if you try to do the whole face at once you don't get the silky coverage. Third, as with most foundations, if you want it more sheer then apply with a brush, but if you want more coverage, use fingers. Finally, I put a moisturizer on just before applying and let that sink in totally. I've used with and without primer, and in my view this doesn't really need it to work well.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ElleMartini on 9/21/2011 8:13:00 PM more reviews by ElleMartini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been wearing this foundation for five days. My experience so far is positive. The particulars as follows.

Wear: it lasts about six to eight hours without any finishing powders or touch ups. I do wear Nars Primer under the foundation. With a light dusting of powder, it lasts a couple of hours longer. I have used the Chanel and La Mer Powder, they both work well with this foundation, providing a natural skin-looking finish.

Coverage: decent coverage, sheer to medium. I find that it evens out the skin tone quite well, not streaky, not blotchy. It's build-able but the more built-up it is, the more matte the finish. I have minor broken blood vessels on one cheek and this foundation definitely covers it completely with a sheer application. One pump is enough for the face. Keep in mind that it dries rather quickly so work fast. I use the stippling brush and find that it works best.

Finish: similar to the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua. It dries to a very natural-looking semi-matte finish without any glimmering particles or sparkles - you won't look like a disco ball. I prefer this more natural finish to dewy or matte. It does look like skin and as such your face has natural dimension and not just a flat finish.

Color: certainly an improvement over the previous Chanel foundations. This range has the most colors I've ever seen of a Chanel foundation. I have tried Vitalumiere Aqua, Vitalumiere, Pro Lumiere, Mat Lumiere. I haven't been able to find the prefect color match - always either too much red, too light or too dark in natural light. With that background, I hoped that with the more extensive color range I would find one that matches me. I did find a sort of match in B40. But after a while, the foundation oxidizes a little bit darker and somewhat more red/pink. I also purchased the B30 but it's not quite right either - definitely too much pink there. So, I have to mix one part B30 and one part B40 to get the right color.

My impression is that I like the foundation enough - the finish is very natural. The foundation itself is very light, you don't feel it on. It does not cause break outs on me. It lasts a decent amount of time and since I don't have a great need for extended wear so it was fine for me. The only gripe I have is the lack of color match for my skin color. That's the same issue I have with a number of other near-perfect foundations out there so my search continues. I think that for the price ($55), I want a perfect match, not a mix. This foundation was definitely more pink than I'd like. I'm going to try the Beige Amber in 24 next and will write an update.

For reference, I am light-medium skin with a yellow undertone; normal skin with the somewhat oily t-zone; range from NC25-NC35 in Mac foundations.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ANBoudreaux on 10/30/2013 3:51:00 PM more reviews by ANBoudreaux

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Like the previous reviewers, I held out on buying this foundation for a really long time due to the bad reviews. But I must say once I learned to apply it correctly I fell in love. It is a really dry formula so its perfect for those with oily/combination skin. It dries extremely fast so you HAVE to begin blending as soon as you apply. It is true, if you try to apply this with the wrong tool you will hate it and write a bad review. I've tried to apply this foundation with MAC 190, 187, and a sponge, hating each one. To my surprise, I got the perfect application with the ELF Studio flat top powder brush. Put the foundation on a mixing palette and stipple it into your face as you would with the 187.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products