Revlon • Facets of Fuchsia • Polishes

rated 4.4(39 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GimpyPoop on 2/17/2014 12:45:00 PM more reviews by GimpyPoop

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is supposedly a dupe of Deborah Lippmann's Bad Romance, which is awesome because I don't particularly enjoy shelling out major cash for nail polish. Another similar nail polish is Wet N Wild's Night Prowler, although it may be discontinued and it lacks the larger hexagonal glitter pieces.

This polish is essentially a black jelly with your typical tiny circular and larger hexagonal fuchsia glitter pieces infused suspended throughout. I find that three coats are necessary to achieve a nearly opaquely black appearance, although pssst - you can lay down a base color of a whatever opaque black creme you might have in your collection so that FoF requires less layers and looks a little more striking. I personally enjoy darker nail colors, so I'm fond of this one, with its more subtle glints of fuchsia-y sparkle. The formula is a fun take on glittery glam without being too OMG-GLITTER.

However, the downside of this polish is that I seem to experience rather immediately tip wear with it. Granted, I am very hard on my hands, but this seems to only last a day or two before the tips start chipping off, often in unsightly patches if a larger glitter piece chips off with it. Also, not to state the obvious, but it's a pain in the arse to remove. Foil methods is crucial here.

I actually have Deborah Lippmann's Ruby Red Slippers, which is similar to this, but red glitter pieces. The formula seems to be slightly superior in the DL polishes, in that it lasts perhaps a day or two longer on me? Nonetheless, not worth the price hike!

I doubt I'll ever use up this bottle, as I hate dealing with removal process, but that comes with glitter polishes territory but I would repurchase it if I misplaced it. Especially with the Revlon coupon deals drugstores and grocery stores run every so often. This is limited edition, but Revlon has released it a couple of times so I'm sure it will be available again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tartlette on 9/19/2012 1:23:00 PM more reviews by Tartlette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this polish as "Scandalous", which contains large and small fuchsia glitters with a black base. This is one that you can wear on its own because the base colour is so pigmented. For me I was good with 2 coats. It looked mostly black to me, however depending on how I look at my nails the fuchsia glitter really comes through. This is a polish I like wearing in the colder months. On the 4th day I started to get chipping, so lasting power was pretty standard for me. Removal was frustrating and took longer than usual due to the glitters, but it's the price we pay for glitter-iness :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MandyLeigh on 8/17/2012 8:59:00 PM more reviews by MandyLeigh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't usually wear hexagon glitter polishes. And, I don't usually wear Revlon. They never seemed to move me above my other polish brands. It seems they stepped up to the plate though and have been bringing out some really great colors and even dupes that I really enjoy.

This one I got for a friend who had been hunting in her own state with out luck so I figured I would help her out as we have plenty in my own. Before I put them in the box however I grabbed one and swatched it onto one of my nails... then another and other. I ended up completing all of my nails and couldn't stop staring. I had to go back out to get her another bottle as I had claimed it for my own. lol It was a big surprise, especially from Revlon.

If you don't normally go for this but want some fun TRY IT. The price is right and you may find you really like it, like I did.

I did not need a base color for this. The dark jelly held it's own. The formula is perfect. I never had to fish for glitter or the tiny glitter either. It goes on the nail even dispersing the glitter with out any issue. Not too much, not too little. Which surprised me, I expected to have to go fishing. With the dark jelly of this polish, the color of the glitters it just needs a nice top coat and you will get wonderful depth. I now have both of their versions. Facets of Fuchsia and Scandalous which are the same color but when I see it on sale I grab it up. It's one of the first Revlon colors I ever hoarded because I am in love with it.

So from a person who never really liked Revlon, or hexogon glitters, or dark colors this polish opened my eyes that not all of them are the same. It may look over whelming when you pick up the bottle but trust me. Give it a go. It's not as crazy as it looks. But... crazy enough to love it.

It's a keeper for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JanaFae on 8/11/2012 6:38:00 PM more reviews by JanaFae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as "Scandalous," which is the reboot of the color into Revlon's permanent collection. It's gorgeous, though I wish the glitter was as abundant on the nail as it looks in the bottle. No shock that it's a PAIN to remove (damn glitter polishes! *shakes fist*), but that wouldn't deter me from wearing it. I probably won't wear it again until fall/winter, because it's SO vampy, but it's still amazing... My next Revlon adventure will be Whimsical!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Candy123718 on 7/16/2012 3:18:00 PM more reviews by Candy123718

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very pretty nail polish! They changed the name to "Scandalous", and it consists of fuchsia hexagonal glitter, and smaller glitter of the same color in a black base. I love layering this over my Wet 'n' Wild polish in "Night Prowl" because it's a fuchsia micro glitter polish in a black base. I love the big and small glitter in this Revlon polish. Overall, very nice nail polish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carbonmonoxide on 6/18/2012 7:57:00 PM more reviews by carbonmonoxide

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I always layer this polish over a dark purple or black nail polish. It's gorgeous as is, but it also looks really good with a matte top coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriyu on 4/4/2012 10:23:00 PM more reviews by loriyu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i LOVE this nail polish. i am a nail polish junkie and wasn't really interested in trying drugstore polishes, but purple is my favorite color so when i saw this polish, i wanted to try it out. i have to say that i'm very impressed with revlon nail polishes. i know some reviewers were saying that it's not opaque enough, but i never wear glitter polish on its own. i start with a colored base color and put the glitter on top. with that being said, if you use this method, you will only need one coat of the glitter for opacity. it's strange, bc the polish itself is very watery and i can see why people were having problems when applying directly to the nail and not getting the color payoff. however, when paired on top of another color, it doesn't even matter what base color you use (i've tried black, dark purple, light purple, beige) it consistently gives me the color in the bottle. i love the different size particles of glitter...who needs deborah! this definitely needs a top coat to speed up the drying and lasting power. and all glitter polishes are a pain to remove...i haven't tried a single one that wasn't, so i can't blame revlon for that (using 100% acetone definitely helps) but seriously...i love this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ingrid88 on 2/13/2012 11:07:00 AM more reviews by ingrid88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a really gorgeous nail polish. I get opacity with 2 coats. The only thing I can't stand is the consistency!!! When I put it on my nails, it forms into this weird jelly texture after it sits for a couple of minutes, and this jelly takes 20-30 min to fully dry (with just one coat on!). It's soooo annoying. But the color is amazing so I grin and bare it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mandimaybridget on 2/11/2012 7:40:00 PM more reviews by mandimaybridget

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after seeing a picture of it on Tumblr. In the bottle, the color is gorgeous, but it took me 4 coats on my nails to achieve that result. To top of that, it looked messy, and needed a few extra coats of top coat to make it shiny and smooth looking. It chipped by the second day, and when I tried to take it off it was a MESS. Even using acetone, the glitter would not come off. Will not repurchase, and probably will not use again either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 damsel19 on 2/10/2012 6:13:00 AM more reviews by damsel19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I received this nail paint in a swap, I had wanted to try it for a while. But I absolutely hate the euro prices of Revlon, Maybelline and other American drugstore brands. So I refuse to buy anything from these brands on purpose.

The consistency is very watery, you will need to put 3-4 coats to get the full impact. When I 1st tried my nails were very short and it didn't look very good during the day. But then I put it on my longish nails, I looked better.
I am not totally blown away so will not purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Polishes products