China Glaze Skyscraper

4.2

11 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/11/2015 1:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I adore this glitter. I think it is best as a top coat, over a dark coolish color. Navy to dark blue or plum to dark purple... or even black looks good. Just one coat over and it's nice and densely sparkly!

I do think the formula is just a tinyyyy bit goopy, but that can be fixed with a drop of thinner. Maybe mine is just a bit old.



on 12/24/2013 9:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Throw a light coat of this over the darkest blue-black you can find and you'll have the milky way at your fingertips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2013 12:13:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

EDITED: I went back and revisited this polish and I guess my tastes have changed, or my expetations changed, or sitting in the bottle made the polish change (probably more the first two and not the third), because I like it much more now. I'll edit my review to reflect that, though some of my complaints are still valid, so I'll leave them.

Some blue and lots of silvery glitter suspended in a indigo-leaning, dark blue jelly base. Sounds great, and the swatches I saw looked great, so I picked up a bottle of this, but my feelings are a bit mixed.

On its own, over clear base coat, it's nowhere near as dark as I'd like to have seen. It's more of a medium-dark, cool blue than a real midnight or navy blue. I'm a huge fan of glitter nail polish, and I love having blingy fingers, but my initial reaction to the silver glitter against the medium blue base was that the contrast was a bit too high. Now I think of the glitter as more of glitter plus silvery surface iridescence, I kind of "get" this polish a little more, and can appreciate it for what it is (rather than what I was expecting).

I would like to have seen more blue or even black glitter in this. I think it would have balanced the silver a little more and really let the blue base stand on its own.

I've also found I needed three coats of this to get decent opacity and coverage (very unusual for me). The formula is okay, pretty much what you'd expect from a China Glaze jelly, in that it goes on quite thin and streaky at first and builds up with additional layers. Not too difficult to work with. Like many (most? all?) jelly base polishes, the tips wear really quickly, at least for me. I eventually tried this over a dark blue base colour and that solved the opacity issue, and it fixed some of my complaints about the base not really standing up to the glitter.

Removal is fairly straightforward, not as much hassle as a full-on glitter polish, so that's nice, at least.


on 10/19/2012 3:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

CG never fails to impress me with their colours! Skyscraper is a midnight blue with tons of dark blue and silver glitter. It can actually be an overwhelming amount of glitter for some, but I happen to adore glitter :) The application was a bit weird, because it was sheer on the first coat which disappointed me, but by the second coat it was all opaque! I did only 2 coats with a few extra touch ups to some nails. It was actually a bit difficult to do thin coats with all the glitter in this which is why you need a good top coat because even though the glitter is fine, the lasting power isn't so great on this one. I love it though, apart from the chipping :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Beautiful color. Reliable brand. Looks great on a summer pedi. Wore this for a week and a half and it was still looking pretty good. I couldn't stop looking at my toes!


on 2/9/2012 9:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a lovely silver glitter/blue jelly combo. I layer this over CG first mate and it looks amazing. The first mate really gives it a nice background to work with as the blue jelly can be quite transparent. Does chip somewhat easily, but this still doesn't put me off this polish. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2012 10:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this navy blue glitter polish! I bought it @ the same time w/ChG CG In The City (gunmetal glitter) & they're both blingy fantastic. This one satisfies a longtime craving I've had to find a dark blue glitter polish - I already have plenty of regular blue glitter polish as well as lighter blue glitter - this is just what I was looking for. It's like a starry midnight sky when I look @ it on my nails. Sparkles beautifully in the sun. Smooths really nicely w/2 layers of topcoat - not a gritty glitter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2011 11:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I honestly think this is a beautiful color. I got this in the mini along with 3 other shades from the metro collection. It is a deep blue with silver glitter throughout. Looks lovely layered and alone. I havent had any issues with wear but have been only using thin coats and taking time with my application. With a good base and top coat I can get a couple of days out of it, but im really hard on my hands and no polish has lasted me more than 2 or 3 days anyway. This is a def repirchase for me

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2011 10:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

First, the good: this is a gorgeous color. Dark cobalt blue with tons of silver sparkles, it looks like the night sky. I always get compliments when I wear it.

The bad (and this is pretty bad): it chips more than any other polish I own. I can't get it to last more than 24 hours, literally. In the afternoon, I put on two coats of Skyscraper and a top coat, and the next morning I had big chips knocked off of the tips of my nails. Even with three coats, every time I turned around I'd find a big chunk of polish chipped off. Combine that with the fact that (like all glitter polishes) it's a total ordeal to remove it when you want to, and you have a product that's kind of more hassle than it's worth. At this point, I would probably only put it on if I had a special event that I particularly wanted to wear it for, and only on the day of. It definitely can't stand up to everyday wear, which is a shame because it's so, so pretty.


on 9/29/2011 11:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This just looked so pretty in the swatch photos, I was captivated, but it's so packed with glitter that it just ended up looking too juvenile for me. I could only wear this polish to a party or some evening event, and the background color is sort of a dirty blue and is just not that attractive to wear for a special occasion. I tried to save the manicure by topping Skyscraper with a thin coat of Nars Midnight Express. I was trying to go for a night sky look, but instead got a beautiful sapphire blue color with a lot of fire and glow. It's difficult to get a thin enough coat of the ME for a night sky look with the glitter being more exposed as it streaks when you apply it very thin. Anyway, Skyscraper is a miss for me except as a possible undercoat for another polish.


Popular Polishes


Dorothy Who?
Dorothy Who?
33 Reviews
Oh Cabana Boy
Oh Cabana Boy
22 Reviews
Opi Red
Opi Red
71 Reviews
Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
150 Reviews


Top Rated China Glaze Products

image

Ruby Pumps

386 reviews
image

Frostbite

70 reviews
image

Recycle

55 reviews
image

Fairy Dust

97 reviews
Back to Top