China Glaze • Skyscraper • Polishes

rated 4.1(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 marybob on 12/24/2013 9:13:00 PM more reviews by marybob

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Throw a light coat of this over the darkest blue-black you can find and you'll have the milky way at your fingertips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 9/22/2013 12:13:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Some blue and lots of silvery glitter suspended in a dark blue jelly base. Sounds great, and the swatches I saw looked great, so I picked up a bottle of this, but my feelings are kinda mixed.

On its own, over clear base coat, it's nowhere near as dark as I'd like to have seen. It's more of a medium-dark, cool blue than a real midnight or navy blue, and the glitter is... well, look, I'm a huge fan of glitter nail polish, and I love having blingy fingers, but the silver against the medium blue is just a little too constrasty, and I just don't think they work together as well as they could. If the base was darker or the glitter more blue and less silver, I think it would be much more appealing.

I also found I needed three coats to get decent opacity and coverage. The formula is okay, pretty much what you'd expect from a China Glaze jelly, in that it goes on quite thin and streaky at first and builds up with additional layers. Not too difficult to work with. Like many (most? all?) jelly base polishes, the tips wear really quickly, at least for me.

I eventually tried this over a dark blue base colour and that was actually a lot more appealing. One thin coat of this over the base gave a quite elegant, rich finish that I really liked, though I still found the silver glitter a little overwhelming (and believe me, I LOVE glitter, so this isn't about glitter, it's about THIS glitter in combination with the blue base).

Removal is fairly straightforward, not as much hassle as a full-on glitter polish, so that's nice, at least.

So, I have mixed feelings on this one. On its own, it's pretty much just meh, at least for me, but as a layering polish, it's pretty great. I wish it worked on its own better, though. I know full well that China Glaze can make extraordinarily beautiful glitter-in-jelly polishes, but this, unfortunately, really isn't one of them, and it's a real shame, because the world needs more navy glitter polishes, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 feribz on 10/19/2012 3:29:00 PM more reviews by feribz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

CG never fails to impress me with their colours! Skyscraper is a midnight blue with tons of dark blue and silver glitter. It can actually be an overwhelming amount of glitter for some, but I happen to adore glitter :) The application was a bit weird, because it was sheer on the first coat which disappointed me, but by the second coat it was all opaque! I did only 2 coats with a few extra touch ups to some nails. It was actually a bit difficult to do thin coats with all the glitter in this which is why you need a good top coat because even though the glitter is fine, the lasting power isn't so great on this one. I love it though, apart from the chipping :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 9/27/2012 12:07:00 AM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful color. Reliable brand. Looks great on a summer pedi. Wore this for a week and a half and it was still looking pretty good. I couldn't stop looking at my toes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsprawln on 2/9/2012 9:47:00 PM more reviews by mrsprawln

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a lovely silver glitter/blue jelly combo. I layer this over CG first mate and it looks amazing. The first mate really gives it a nice background to work with as the blue jelly can be quite transparent. Does chip somewhat easily, but this still doesn't put me off this polish. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 1/4/2012 10:49:00 AM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this navy blue glitter polish! I bought it @ the same time w/ChG CG In The City (gunmetal glitter) & they're both blingy fantastic. This one satisfies a longtime craving I've had to find a dark blue glitter polish - I already have plenty of regular blue glitter polish as well as lighter blue glitter - this is just what I was looking for. It's like a starry midnight sky when I look @ it on my nails. Sparkles beautifully in the sun. Smooths really nicely w/2 layers of topcoat - not a gritty glitter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Janet72285 on 11/22/2011 11:58:00 PM more reviews by Janet72285

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I honestly think this is a beautiful color. I got this in the mini along with 3 other shades from the metro collection. It is a deep blue with silver glitter throughout. Looks lovely layered and alone. I havent had any issues with wear but have been only using thin coats and taking time with my application. With a good base and top coat I can get a couple of days out of it, but im really hard on my hands and no polish has lasted me more than 2 or 3 days anyway. This is a def repirchase for me

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monetsgarden on 11/22/2011 10:55:00 PM more reviews by monetsgarden

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

First, the good: this is a gorgeous color. Dark cobalt blue with tons of silver sparkles, it looks like the night sky. I always get compliments when I wear it.

The bad (and this is pretty bad): it chips more than any other polish I own. I can't get it to last more than 24 hours, literally. In the afternoon, I put on two coats of Skyscraper and a top coat, and the next morning I had big chips knocked off of the tips of my nails. Even with three coats, every time I turned around I'd find a big chunk of polish chipped off. Combine that with the fact that (like all glitter polishes) it's a total ordeal to remove it when you want to, and you have a product that's kind of more hassle than it's worth. At this point, I would probably only put it on if I had a special event that I particularly wanted to wear it for, and only on the day of. It definitely can't stand up to everyday wear, which is a shame because it's so, so pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Meleana on 9/29/2011 11:24:00 PM more reviews by Meleana

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This just looked so pretty in the swatch photos, I was captivated, but it's so packed with glitter that it just ended up looking too juvenile for me. I could only wear this polish to a party or some evening event, and the background color is sort of a dirty blue and is just not that attractive to wear for a special occasion. I tried to save the manicure by topping Skyscraper with a thin coat of Nars Midnight Express. I was trying to go for a night sky look, but instead got a beautiful sapphire blue color with a lot of fire and glow. It's difficult to get a thin enough coat of the ME for a night sky look with the glitter being more exposed as it streaks when you apply it very thin. Anyway, Skyscraper is a miss for me except as a possible undercoat for another polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JabberwockJess on 9/9/2011 6:05:00 AM more reviews by JabberwockJess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Silver glitter in a sheer blue jelly base. Great glitter but I personally found it wasn't as dark as I had hoped - looks great layered over a dark blue creme though. Not too gritty but not 100% smooth either.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More China Glaze products

More Polishes products