Tarte • Soft & Smokey 5-piece Color Collection • Palettes

rated 4.8(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Marasy on 10/3/2011 9:58:00 PM more reviews by Marasy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If you can still get this kit I say go for it. The eyeshadows are pigmented but still look "soft". They are taupey and neutral but so pretty and not boring.They include Shimmering Buff, Shimmering Sable, Shimmering Cocoa and Matte Coffee Bean. The Lights, Cameras, Lashes mascara is great at separating and gives a natural fullness to your lashes. The eyeliner is a bit wetter than I am used to but does stay on and has not smudged on me. The Amazonian Clay blush in Wonder is a peachy pink with lots of gold shimmer; not the most unique color and a tad too peachy on me but pretty and very pigmented. The lipgloss is a mauvey pink, not unique either but a nice color and moisturizing too.

Overall I'm happy with this kit. I hadn't tried their blushes yet and the first eyeshadow palette (Day to Night Couture) I bought left me a bit disappointed but I'm glad I gave them another chance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SweetMoonbeams on 10/1/2011 8:12:00 AM more reviews by SweetMoonbeams

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Wow. That's pretty much I can say about this kit. I echo everything that has been said. Mt favorite thing about this kit is the eyeshadow palette. It is perfect for my NC15 complexion, red hair and blue eyes. I can wear it very natural looking or go very dramatic. Excellent pigmentation and so blends beautifully. I don't care for the liner because it's too soft. Other than that, this kit is a total home run. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tink113 on 9/27/2011 10:57:00 PM more reviews by Tink113

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased the Tarte Soft & Smokey kit from Ulta and I think it was $39. Wow - what a steal! In the kit you get ALL FULL SIZE products - an eye shadow quad, a lip gloss, an eye liner, a double ended brush, a LCA Mascara, and my favorite 12 hour blush color so far - wonder! The value of the kit is really outstanding! I really love the way the shadows blend and they are beautiful naturals. The liner is unlike an I have ever tried. It is in a twist up pencil, but almost melts onto your skin as a liquid. I color is super pigmented and long lasting - even in the waterline. The Mascara is one of my faves and I'm happy to have the back up. The Blush is well...like a said my favorite shade to date! The gloss is nice, but not a shade I would reach for all the time. Still a nice addition. Honestly, you can't go wrong. The more Tarte products I try, the more I am loving the whole line! 5 stars from me!

To see a video review - check out my You Tube Channel at:
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tink11381?feature=mhee#p/u

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meleftie on 9/9/2011 2:35:00 PM more reviews by meleftie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I'm still fairly new to the Tarte brand, however each item I've purchased has truly wowed me. I fell in love with their Amazonian clay blushes and when I got an Ulta flyer in the mail with this kit for $39 I had to buy it. I believe the blush is $22? on it's own and I know the mascara is nearly $20 so the eyeshadow, lipgloss & brush were freebies. When I got my kit to top it off, Ulta was offering a free Tarte gift with purchase over $25 so I got a bronzer and lipstain too boot!
The eyeshadow palette is AMAZING - I have a Chanel quad that this is nearly an exact dupe for with the exception of one color. Great pigmentation and many hours of wear.
The blush of course didn't disappoint, can't say enough good things about this formula. I prefer their blushes to Nars by far.
The mascara is great - I'm pretty picky about mascara so wouldn't quite call it HG but I'm very happy with it and will definitely use it.
The lipgloss is also a great color and nice formula.
The eyeliner didn't wow me, but it did a good job no real complaints.
I haven't tried the brush but it seems to be decent if you're in need of a travel brush.
The local Ulta didn't have many of these sets left when I picked mine up, I'd suggest you RUN not walk to Ulta to purchase it. Outstanding Value on Superb products!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 throughbeingcool on 9/9/2011 3:39:00 AM more reviews by throughbeingcool

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Hell yes I would buy this again. What an amazing deal! All these full size products for only 39 dollars, and they are such high quality. Tarte is my new favorite makeup brand without a doubt. I haven't tried one item that didn't super impress me.

The blush in "wonder" is beautiful. It's a peachy pink, with shimmer. It flatters my NW15 skin quite nicely, and it's pigmented so I feel like this blush will last me a very long time.

I'm in love with the vitamin infused lipgloss in "serenity". It has a brush applicator, and it's a great pink color. The best part is that it is not sticky, yet lasts a long time. It feels good on the lips.

The quad is great. The colors are pigmented and the texture is very nice. The colors also blend well, and the brush that came with it is very useful. I like it better than some of my other brushes already.

I like the mascara so far too, in fact it could be a new HG mascara. It's lovely.

The eyeliner is also fabulous. Very very very very creamy, and black. It lasts quite awhile too.

Overall I am just really impressed with this collection. I wanted to buy another for my sister's birthday but I noticed that it is no longer available on ulta.com. If you can find this it's seriously a steal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkeyedfran on 9/8/2011 9:45:00 PM more reviews by darkeyedfran

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is amazing, the price, the quality....everything. Tarte maskes the best cosmetics i've ever worn...MAC, Urban Decay, Stila, none of them are comprable to Tarte's high performance naturals. Their shadows are silky, non creasing and generally lovely. The colors are wearable even in the trueblood palette. I always wear shadows with a primer and I always wear colored shadows with a white base, just thought it was important to note. This kit has the most fabulous shimmery taupe color!!!! It's hard finding good taupes and this one is amazing! the highlight shade goes on so smooth and the shimmery brown and matte brown are devine and look great with my skin. I actually don't look washed out for once. The brush is my favorite! Its so easy to get full life coverage in one sweep and even easier to apply the outer V shade and crease shade with the small end. I've never been able to do my makeup so fast, that is my new favorite brush. Tarte's brushes are my favorite and I love that Maureen gives you the tools you need. The blush....oh my gosh....I am in love! Never has a color been so flattering or a blush last so long! Blush disappears on me after 2 hours and this stayed on the whole day, from 6 to 6. My jaw dropped. I look so gorgeous now that I own this! I'm a big fan of this liner, goes on smooth, fast, and has great staying power! even when I went to humid NC for labor day this did not budge. I'm not a fan of lipgloss but I actually like this one for layering my pink lipstick on top of, it really helps it stay and the color looks great with my skin. i'm a huge LCL fan! This coats every lash and coats them evenly and FAST! With covergirl lashblast I spent 2 minutes on each eye due to clumps! not with this mascara! So happy yo have a full sized one! Thanks Tarte for another killer deal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 goldenloverno1 on 9/8/2011 9:00:00 PM more reviews by goldenloverno1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really love the idea of this set. I feel like it's a great value since everything is full sized. I have mixed feelings about some of the products though. But I think that for the price and the items i love that it's still a good buy.

I wasn't crazy about the eyeshadow. I just don't think it's anything special. The color payoff on all the colors is o.k. except for the matte dark brown wasn't very pigmented. Maybe I'm just spoiled because the naked palette from U.D. is much better. The eyeshadow quality isn't even comparable between the two.

The blush is super amazing as is the lipgloss and eyeliner. The gloss is sush a pretty color and the eyeliner is very pigmented. I wasn't impressed with the mascara though. I liked the feel of it once on the lashes and it didn't flake but it wasn't very lengthening or volumizing. Covergirl Lashblast is much better.

The brush was fine. It is rather large on the shader side but that's O.K..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renaissancegirl on 9/8/2011 1:57:00 PM more reviews by renaissancegirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to add this here as this product is limited edition and wanted to get the word out before it is gone. But this set is amazing. It contains a number of Tarte products I've been meaning to try out so this set came at a perfect time for me. Overall, this is a wonderful bargain (as all the products are full-sized) and the quality is amazing. And although, it is listed as 5 pieces, you actually get 6 things:

The Soft & Smokey palette: these eyeshadows are very pigmented and the formula is very smooth (not chalky at all and no fall-out). I'm thrilled it includes a matte dark brown - a lot of palettes neglect to include a dark matte color for using in the outer socket; really there's not much more I can ask in a neutral palette. I wore it with Nars eyeshadow base and it had pretty good lasting power (still good after 8 hours). It comes in a sturdy bamboo case with a mirror in it and would be perfect for travel.

AC blush in "Wonder:" Tarte's AC blushes get a lot of hype and I have to agree with most of the praise. The shade "Wonder" is very flattering on my skin tone (which, at the moment, is slightly tan) but no doubt it will look great when I my tan fades in the winter. It has a slight sheen to it which gives a nice glow without making you look like a disco ball.

The lipgloss is nice. I admit I'm not big on lip products so I'm not any kind of authority on the subject but the shade is versatile and would go with a lot of color combinations, especially smokey lips. It's also quite opaque.

Black Aqua Gel Liner: This was very pigmented and smooth but so soft so it's hard to draw a precise line (which is what I prefer). It stayed put throughout the day without budging though.

Lights, Camera, Action, Lashes Mascara: I admit I haven't tried this mascara yet (I'm saving it for when my current runs out) so I can't weigh in on it at this time.

Double-ended eyeshadow brush: while I hate double-ended brushes for storage reasons, the brushes themselves work very well. I used them to apply the shadows in this set and it had very soft but dense/firm hairs and lays and blends shadows nicely.

I should note that I bought this at Ulta and they had a special for Tarte purchases which included Park Ave Princess Bronzer and Lip Surgence Lipstain in Moody. They aren't full-size like the others but they are still pretty big. So overall, I got 8 products for $39.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Tarte products

More Palettes products