Maybelline • ravishing rouge • Blush

rated 4.1(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* delicatepost on 2/21/2013 7:35:00 PM more reviews by delicatepost

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm writing that if it would ever EVER run out I would repurchase but I don't think it ever will!!! This product deserves a huge mention in the red blush world.. The pigmentation is amazing, I actually hunted this down because it was discontinued and I saw the red in real life.. I fell in love.. It's such a lovely burgundy colour. I am using a stippling brush and fan brush to apply because its so pigmented... I love the look though, it's a lovely deep red that leans mauve on my yellow skin.. I'm NC20 and it doesn't slide off my face, it lasts long!! I love it, it needs a bit of work blending and you can go a bit overboard quite easily which is why I've given 4 lippies instead.. It blends better than elf blushers and I bought this for like 2 on eBay so it's great purchase!!! Even to keep in your collection, I'm trying to keep my stash streamlined and loved rather than a huge mess.. This is not going to be purged

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Klonophunk on 11/6/2011 9:51:00 PM more reviews by Klonophunk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this almost free at CVS (extra care bucks!) and I love it! The packaging is simple, and seems to be made sturdy. No useless brush or tiny mirror. I like my Chanel compact for a mirror :) It's small enough to tote around, which I appreciate. The color is what made me want it-- a deep burgundy red. I'm very pale, a neutral NC/NW15 and using a regular blush brush very lighthandedly leaves a very natural looking flush. It is the color of blood, basically, and it translates to a "in from the cold" flush applied lightly. I'm still perfecting my application, but in terms of color, pigmentation and finish, this is a great red blush! I don't like much shimmer in my blushes. I've gotten many compliments on my makeup from women, and men have told me I look very young since I started wearing this current fave!

Edit: I bought some more Ravishing Rouge after not liking Red Vino's sparkles...Red Vino is also more pink, whereas Ravishing Rouge is more burgundy. In this picture, RV is left, and RR is right.
http://img.makeupalley.com/8/5/4/5/2385162.JPG

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinahb on 10/19/2011 4:13:00 PM more reviews by xtinahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

On my NC30/C4 light tan Asian skin, this blush is a bright rosy pink, like I have just come in from the cold (in a good way!). It compliments pink and red lips and adds life to my complexion. I need a light hand and couple of brushes (MAC 187 or 130 then 109 to blend) to make this color work for me, but the color and the wear are worth it. It lasts a full 12 hours and I look girly and healthy. I don't have any color as rich as this one and I love it. Very happy it was only $7 and glad to have in my collection!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyers2 on 10/19/2011 1:34:00 AM more reviews by amyers2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

What it is: burgundy blush with the slightest hint of shimmer.
- - -
Pros - pigmented, long wearing, affordable, Beautiful shade of red, very wearable and appropriate for Fall.
- - -
Cons - hard time blending, applying is difficult. easy to go overboard.
- - -
Over all - I love red blushes, but this one is eh. The shade is gorgeous, sort of a reddish brown. Contains 2.5 grams of product (in comparison to Mac's Love Thing which contains 3.5 grams). As pretty as the blush is, it is such a pain to apply and wear. This blush does not like to blend and sometimes it splotches across cheeks. VERY pigmented so it has to be applied with a VERY light hand (i.e. barely tap it on your cheeks). On the fence on whether the effort is worth the wear. Would not re purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alexanna7 on 10/18/2011 7:15:00 PM more reviews by alexanna7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

ravishing rouge is a light burgundy/red.it's got a liitle sheen to it,it's pigmented but can be applied lightly.to make those happy,healthy cheeks .it can be used as a fashion blush too.with it,i put it lightly on the curves of the cheeks,then i apply a gold on top of it! Verry nice with a burgundy lipstick that contains a little bit of gold! Also,verry nice with a bronze smokey eyes!go well with:brown,brown-bronze,gold,nude,silver,black, eye shadows!perfect for fall! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oscarnabby on 9/8/2011 9:08:00 AM more reviews by oscarnabby

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow, so far I absolutely looooveee this blush. I wasn't sure if I should get it, because I already own a Wet n Wild blush that is a deep reddish berry color, but a 40% off sale and $1 off coupon helped me aquire this blush for a mere $3.19!! Now, I know what these other ladies are saying about the pigmentation on this blush...it is incredible, and needs to be applied VERY carefully. Here's how I do it...I lightly lightly touch a big duo fibre brush to the blush, then dab it on the apples of my cheek in a slight circular motion. At this point, I look like a 10 year old playing with Mom's makeup. Then, I grab my flat topped Elf studio powder brush, and blend the blush out from the apples of my cheeks, back along the cheekbones. Presto, instant movie star who has been skiing all day in a glamorous location, effect!! Just kidding. But it really does look very pretty, in a lovely fall-winterish way. In comparison to my Wet n Wild blush, I'm glad I own both, because the Maybelline blush does not contain the gold shimmer of the other blush. It is not completely matte, but there is no shimmer or glitter in the Maybelline blush, however, it leaves a nice satin finish on your cheeks....kind of like the Happy Booster blushes from Physician's Formula. I would say that the lasting power of the Wet n Wild blush appears to be superior as well. I'm very happy with my purchase, however, and would definitely repurchase if I lost or broke this blush. Or in the unlikely event that I actually used it up. My skintone is in the MAC 20 range.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miomega on 9/7/2011 11:31:00 PM more reviews by miomega

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very pretty blush but I don't think I'll repurchase.

I'm a NC50 and even on my deep/gold skintone it's way too pigmented, so much so that it's difficult to apply and wear. Even with a very light hand (and a blush brush) the pigmentation was such that it had me wondering whether I should wear it outside. That said, I gave this a 3/5 because as an eyeshadow it's really amazing. Go figure...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* habakuktwo on 9/6/2011 6:15:00 PM more reviews by habakuktwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I knew I needed these when I found out they were dead on dupes for Chanel blushes. This blush is limited edition for Maybellines fall 2011 collection. Ravishing Rouge is a dome shaped blush that has a very soft texture but is not powdery like Milani's baked blushes. The color is a deep brick red with a very subtle sheen. You really need to be under bright lights to see this sheen. This blush is a dupe for Chanels limited edition rouge. If you find this blush pick it, it's a beautiful color

. I compared this to Milani's Red Vino. The two are very different on my NC55 skintone red vino looked almost pink when next to ravashing rogue. Ravishing rouge is so much deeper and richer than red vino. For ha ha's I compared it Mac's love rush. Love rush is more muted, sheerer and has more of a pinky brown base.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Maybelline products

More Blush products