Clinique • Age Defense BB Cream SPF 30 • BB Cream

rated 3.6(123 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 jojobeann on 4/2/2014 7:56:00 AM more reviews by jojobeann

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the best BB creams I have tried. I have acne scars, large pores and redness, as well as combination oily and dry patches. This cream evens everything out and surprisingly covers most of my blemishes, except for pimples, but that's what I expect from BB creams. I am usually a full coverage foundation girl, and I can get away with wearing just this cream, concealer and a finishing powder.

You definitely need to wear moisturizer under it because it is thick and matte, which may be a turn off for people who like an all purpose cream that doesn't require additional products. Despite the matte texture, it still gives my skin a luminous, natural look. It won't provide enough moisture to help dry skin, but it does make my skin feel soft and smooth. The benefit of the texture is that it stays on and controls oil throughout the day; it doesn't get streaky and greasy like many BBs I've tried.

The only major con is the shade selection. Shade 02 is too dark for me, but Shade 01 is extremely white. I chose the lightest shade because I wear powder over it and that warms up the color, but this cream will not transition to summer with me without making me look like a ghost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Victoriajane89 on 3/12/2014 9:59:00 AM more reviews by Victoriajane89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I tried the 5 day sample of this and much prefer it for my skin type than their CC Cream.

It is slightly thicker and has a semi matte finish, it blends it very well and is buildable, I would say this was a light - moderate coverage. It doesn't completely control the shine but then I don't think any products do
.
It lasts for a good 6 - 8 hours and you can top up throughout the day. This BB Cream generally feels better on my skin than a foundation and makes my skin soft and hides some inperfections, still need to apply a bit of concealer to certain areas.

Colour range could be better as I am No.3 (which is a great match) and I consider my skin tone light-medium. the next and last shade is 4 which is for deeper tones but there doesn't seem to be an in between.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 arpedraza on 3/12/2014 6:59:00 AM more reviews by arpedraza

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The BB Cream is too thick to be used on its own. It really is better to use a moisturizer prior to applying it. I'm not sure if I chose the right shade (No. 3) since it makes my face horribly white (I used to use Smashbox CC cream on fair to medium shade which really matches my complexion). For the good stuff, it's great that it's matte and it didn't break me out.

I think I'll go back to using Smashbox CC cream though it didn't really help with the correction of dark acne spots. But it really blends well, so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katydid17 on 3/1/2014 8:14:00 AM more reviews by katydid17

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I find this works so much better mixed with a moisturizer or liquid foundation. It is too thick to use on its own. I mix it with the Clinique moisturizer and it goes on well. Putting it on alone, it will feel like a mask and you have to pull and tug at your skin to get it to blend well. I like getting the benefits of the skin care, especially the SPF 30 without having to use a separate sunscreen. Overall, I give it a three because of how thick it is. I have used it for a while now (expensive but lasts forever because you don't need a lot) and my skin does actually look better (sans makeup). However, as another reviewer posted, it really doesn't add any "oompf" to my overall skin tone when applied. It is a bit dull.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 moonunits on 12/13/2013 2:22:00 PM more reviews by moonunits

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A saleswoman at Sephora suggested this BB cream to me after doing the Pantone skin tone match. I was a bit wary, having tried a few BB creams when they first started getting popular, and finding them all to be too dark for my skin. I was pleasantly surprised by this one. I haven't worn Clinique makeup since high school, so I don't have any of their other products to compare it to, but the texture of the cream was lovely and goes on very smoothly with my fingers. It blends well and gives me enough coverage to wear this to work, but doesn't make me look caked-on or like I'm wearing clubbing makeup in the middle of the day.

I have mild rosesca on my cheeks and this does a pretty good job of reducing that redness to a natural looking (as opposed to overwhelming) blush. Thus far it hasn't broken me out, and although this has SPF in it (which I appreciate), I still put on my usual SPF as a primer layer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 adheandithia on 12/11/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by adheandithia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

love this bb cream, i havean acne prone skin and this is so far not break me out and it cover anything even my dark circle under my eyes and with this bb cream no concealer needed, but one thing i hate about this bb cream is the color!! they just have 1 color and its too light for my medium skin tone

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NancR on 10/17/2013 2:46:00 PM more reviews by NancR

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

As was to be expected from Clinique, this product delivers. I have oily skin and its mattifying properties are quite good. It gives good coverage and shade 1 is pale enough for my fair skin (pink undertones). However, I do not like the texture of the cream which is thick and heavy. It is best applied with your fingers, it did not apply well with the beauty blender. Furthermore, the fairest shade is quite dull, i find this to be a typical issue with Clinique foundations, they make my complexion dull and a tiny grey. To be honest, I find it a boring product, with boring packaging . I have the Diorskin Nude BB cream which has a lighter texture and gives a rosier and brighter and more natural look. I much prefer this one over Clinique's.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* csquared14 on 10/8/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by csquared14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think that this is a good product, but it fell short of my expectations. I wanted something moisturizing, that could also provide decent coverage--BBs tend to be slightly denser than your typical tinted moisturizer. Basically, a nice, natural finish that didn't look like a mask of foundation, but evened out my skin a bit.

The Good: this is super moisturizing. The day after I wore this for the first time, I kept touching my face because it was so soft. Moreover, it comes in different, sheer shades. This is AWESOME. I'm glad that we are finally moving away from the "one shade fits all" BBs, because that is just ridiculous. Clinique just added a darker shade, which is helpful (but, also, about time--why wouldn't you just include a full range from the get-go?). I can't say that it helped too much with my basic skin appearance, as BBs are supposed to do, but it definitely didn't do any harm, which is nice and unexpected, as I have pretty sensitive skin. It has the basic, solid Clinique packaging--nothing groundbreaking, but useful and idiot-proof.

The Not-So Good: this product doesn't have any totally bad qualities to it, but I didn't like its appearance on my skin. Upon application, it runs into the problem that some tinted moisturizers have where you're moisturizing and rubbing it in and the colored pigment just sort of...sits there, on top of your skin, like an awkward kid on the first day of school who isn't sure where to go, as the moisturizer sinks in. It takes a bit of practice to get it evenly distributed. The finish is also just a bit...weird, for lack of a better word. It looks like I have something over my skin, since it doesn't blend well enough to give the appearance of actual skin and isn't dense enough to give foundation-like coverage (note that I was fitted by a Clinique SA, so I have the right color--moreover, with only 4 colors in the range, you are not going to get an exact fit and they have to go for a sheer look). This is a common problem with tinted moisturizers (also proof of the genius of Laura Mercier, who does not have this problem, and the reason why I shell out the big bucks still for her product) that haven't quite mastered the balance between pigment and the texture of the moisturizer, and I was disappointed to see it here.

The Basics: the density of the coverage is medium. If you have serious issues, it won't cover much (nor should you expect a BB to). One tube has lasted me four months, so not bad. It's not cheap, particularly when you would expect to find a Clinique product for around the $20 price-point--this ran me $37. I won't be repurchasing, but I also don't think that it's a bad product. It's fine, particularly if you need only a little bit of sheer coverage. It's just not good enough to pull me away from my other skin products.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 meanie on 9/29/2013 9:48:00 AM more reviews by meanie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is not a bad product - just not for me. Let me just add that I usually use tinted moisturizers b/c foundations are too heavy for me. BB creams seem to vary, depending on the brand (and country), from light coverage to heavy duty. This product falls into the latter group.

I tried this in shade 2 which was a tad too light for my light asian skin. No matter how little I used, it felt like I was wearing a mask. I even tried mixing the bb cream with my moisturizer and it still felt too heavy and matte for my taste. I accidentally fell asleep without removing my mu and this was still perfectly in place when I woke up the next morning.

These might be pros to someone who likes heavy-coverage, matte foundations that don't budge. In fact, I gave it to my mom and she loved it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lauralei on 9/28/2013 6:10:00 AM more reviews by lauralei

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've never used a BB Cream until now and I never saw the point before. I had tried a few samples of different brands and thought, what do I need a tinted moisturizer for? I'm 45 and need more coverage (and a better quality moisturizer) than that, and I already use a primer that I like (shout out to Laura Mercier Oil Free, y'all), so I didn't see the need.

But I read somewhere that it was a much-beloved product, especially among people who normally don't "get" BB Creams, like myself. Boots has stopped making my favorite foundation and I've been flailing, looking for my new HG. I'm not sure if this is it yet...I've been using it for about 2 weeks, but so far I like it a lot. I wanted to find something with 30 SPF, which this has. It has NO sunscreen smell, which is amazing! The smell of sunscreen on my face is what makes me skip sunscreen some days! It is thicker then most BBs, but it blends easily and doesn't feel heavy. It has a very nice finish and the color doesn't turn (and that's a problem I have had with Clinique foundations...not a fan). I'm a fair-skinned redhead and I bought Shade 2 online, and it is the perfect color for my skin, at least at this time of year when I'm not mid-winter pale. I may need Shade 1 in the winter but I will look in the store at the shades to get a better idea. Shade 1 looked very pinky in online swatches.

Anyway, so far so good. The coverage is more foundation-like than other BBs. I have been wearing it with concealer and powder, as a foundation. I thought it was pricey when I bought it, but it seems more reasonable now because it feels like skincare *and* makeup, and I'm no longer feeling guilty about skipping the sunscreen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More BB Cream products