Naruko • Magnolia Brightening and firming serum • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.9(7 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 dblou on 12/30/2012 11:23:00 AM more reviews by dblou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like the scent very much tho it's quite strong. Price is affordable. I'm not quite sure if it did much, certainly didn't firm but perhaps my skin was a bit more radiant. I used it at evenings under my moisturizer and it didn't broke me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wickedcoolmama on 8/28/2012 3:51:00 PM more reviews by wickedcoolmama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i finished a bottle of this serum last month and did not see any brightening or firming. it smells lovely and sinks into the skin nicely....that's about it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IsabellaDubose on 7/4/2012 5:05:00 AM more reviews by IsabellaDubose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So, having seen Naruko around in Watsons for quite some time and seeing in on YouTube raves and stuff, I decided to get this to lighten my acne scars. I have oily sensitive skin battling oil clogs so I was pretty afraid it would break me out. The serum is stored in a glass bottle and it's packaging can be turned into a small casing(follow the instructions in the box, or see from the diagrams!) oh, and the best part is 20% of all sales from Naruko's Magnolia line will be given to charity for the poor in Taiwan(Niu Er said they were those living in the remote parts of Taiwan). Real nice.
This is a very lightweight serum although it doesn't appears so initially. It melts into your skin quickly and there is a semi strong magnolia scent initially. There are no parabens in this product and the first five ingredients(maybe even up to first ten) are all natural ingredients. I layer Naruko oil out night gelly on top of it and it kept my skin radiant.
Because I understand Mandarin, there has been no problem in knowing what is inside Naruko products. Additionally, it's great if you can understand Mandarin because there are many tips on YouTube by the guru himself (Niuer) on how to use the products in many ways. Oh, and one tip is that you can use the night gelly as a daytime moisturiser too!
I've seen the immediate effect in using the Naruko magnolia night gelly on YouTube and I'm keen to try it out once I've finished using Laneige's water sleeping pack(full of silicones, although it smells great and is cooling).
It's a five for now, will update if things changes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fadexscape on 5/21/2012 5:15:00 PM more reviews by fadexscape

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is really a gorgeous product. It has a soft floral fragrance but it actually doesn't offend my sensitive nose. It's a very smooth serum that spreads easily and immediately does brighten and gives your skin a healthy glow. The packaging is a slim white glass bottle with a pump so I don't have to worry about bacteria. And it's affordable.
The only drawback for me is not knowing the ingredients. While some asian brands claim to be chemical free, oil free, preservative free etc. they actually aren't. My source for this has been http://www.cosdna.com/ While they don't have this particular item listed, other naruko products are and their ingredient lists have some things that I don't want to put on my face.
I never used this consistently so I can't say anything about the firming or if it broke me out. I only used it on days I wanted that extra "oomph."
In the end, I'd rather buy products where I know exactly what I'm putting on my skin. I'll use up my bottle but I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hanmu on 3/14/2012 9:10:00 AM more reviews by hanmu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this on my neck for about a week now and though I haven't seen any brightening effects yet the skin there does feel a lot smoother and more firm. I've also applied it to my eye area a couple of times and while it did a fantastic job of hydrating and tightening I did feel a slight stinging sensation after a while so I wouldn't recommend using it in place of an eye cream.
I probably won't use this for its intended purpose since my face is extremely acne-prone and I'm already recovering from a massive breakout of cysts brought on by a different serum, but I imagine for someone with less sensitive, congested skin this could be fantastic.
The smell is quite strong, but pleasant, and the texture is wonderfully silky. For 12 this is the cheapest, most effective serum I've tried! I'll definitely be giving other Naruko products a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adell on 3/13/2012 3:06:00 PM more reviews by adell

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

If you cand find this product.pls, contact to me immediatly at e-mail. Thank you so much.

From..Adell @ thailand

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perandshan on 9/3/2011 7:28:00 AM more reviews by perandshan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using it over the spring and summer. Very nice. I like everything about it: the smell, the feel, the pump application, the price. Def. My favorite Naruko serum so far.
in the simple yet pretty white glass bottle there is 30ml of white milky serum that absorbs quickly without leaving a sticky residue. I take 2-3 pumps to cover my face, day and night. It is very light and wonderful, works great under make up. I have normal skin without the concern of oil control but I did get sweaty during the month of July. temperature was 95-100 for a good part of the month. And that's when I really noticed the "brightening and firming" when I use this serum, like the name suggests. So I am thinking that this would be a great serum for combo/oily skin as well.
now the weather start to cool down with humidity out of the air. I am hoping that this lovely serum will be still working for me for the months to come.
update 1/19/12: just ordered my second bottle. It worked just fine for winter except for those extremely cold/windy days. The serum became thin and runny as it got to the bottom of the bottle but it didn't irritate my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Naruko products

More Treatments (Face) products