The Body Shop • Nutriganics - Softening Cleansing Gel • Cleansers

rated 3.8(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 kaylynncr89 on 2/14/2014 4:30:00 PM more reviews by kaylynncr89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

PROS: -I love that it's 98% natural ingredients. -I also love how it completely removes all my makeup, I tend to wear heavy makeup daily. -I love the consistency of this product as it goes on as a gel, turns into an oil, and as soon as it come in contact with water, it turns to a milky texture. CONS: -it does make my skin feel tight after using it. -I must use a damp towel to remove cleanser residue or it will get in my eyes ever after several attempts at splashing my face with water. BEST WAY TO USE: -on dry skin apply gel. -Rub in circular motion till it turns to a oily texture. -Wet hands and continue to massage till it turns to milky texture. -Splash face with water a couple of times. -Wet a towelette, rinse off residue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cocoacloud on 8/1/2013 11:48:00 AM more reviews by cocoacloud

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I guess my most accurate review would be that this is a -nice- product. Not great, not bad, just nice.

I was given a full sized tube of this when I attended one of The Body Shop's store openings. What I do appreciate very much about this product is that 99% of it is derived from natural ingredients, and 75% of it comes from Community Trade products, and for that I must applaud The Body Shop! Given the origins of its ingredients, I'd say it works fairly well. It doesn't do great at removing party makeup - by that I mean heavy eyeshadow, eyeliner and blush/bronzer - but if you're just taking off some sunscreen and light foundation, I'd trust this.

I usually take a dollop of it and rub it all over my dry face until it starts to melt in, and turns to an oily consistency, I then use warm water to emulsify it and rinse it off. My skin is left soft, fresh and healthy. In fact, if you're one of those blessed types who have such perfect skin and don't need makeup to cover up, then I think this product may be one of your best friends!!

The reason why I'm giving it 3 stars is because again, it's just a nice product. As a makeup remover, I prefer Shu Uemera's cleansing oil, and as a normal everyday cleanser, I prefer La Roche Posay's Effaclar Foaming Gel cleanser. I also would have preferred it to have had a clear packaging instead, but that's just personal preference. I still have some of this left, and I'd use every last drop of it, but it won't be something that I'd repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ic8990 on 7/28/2013 3:04:00 AM more reviews by ic8990

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I am very impress with this stuff! I have tried many makeup removers and I think it is as good as the MAC Cleansing Oil. Once this stuff touches water it almost transforms into a milky/oil consistency. It is sensitive, removes my mascara, and it does not leave a residue after cleansing. I would 100% repurchase this again. This makes your skin feel clean without a tight sensation!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* catty7 on 7/18/2013 11:24:00 PM more reviews by catty7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like that this cleansing gel is 99% from natural origin and that 45% of the ingredients of that 99% are from certified organic farming. I really like the unobtrusive pleasant scent that smells kind of naturally pleasantly medicinal instead of fake perfumey. I also liked that it did not leave my skin feeling greasy either, although a bit tight so a followup moisturizer was required. My biggest complaint however is that I require a lot of this product to remove my makeup and therefore went through my little standard sized 100ml tube very very quickly; it only lasted me one season. I don't normally go through any skin care product quickly so this was a surprise. Perhaps its also a testament to me liking it so much that I chose to use it so often over my numerous other choices. I don't remember how much I paid for it but I do remember it was not cheap for the amount provided at regular price.
I have a request that the Body Shop change the packaging to a bigger and pump style bottle; I like the green colour accents - also less importantly, maybe they could change the look of the container to a clear bottle - to something nicer but only if not sacrificing the quality of the actual gel.
I like Nutriganics softening cleansing gel much, much better than sister company Lancome's cleansing oil, just want a bigger pump style bottle for a more reasonable price without sacrificing the formulation. Otherwise, for now I'm sticking with my Bioderma and Vichy Purete Thermale Micellar 3 in 1 sensitive skin cleansing solution.
Edit March 2014: I really liked that this product is so natural, and with all the promos on at The Body Shop now as they are competing with B&BW I think I'd like to pick this up at a discount to keep on hand when I want an oil to milk cleanser for when I want to change up my regimen, which knowing me, is all the time, I have so much product to rotate. So, changed my rating and would definately buy gain, albeit at a discount ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jsirois on 6/8/2013 6:17:00 PM more reviews by Jsirois

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Overall I like the Nutriganics line from the Body Shop. The cleanser also has this soft scent, cleansing power seems good (I always use my cleansers after using a cleansing oil so it is sometimes difficult to comment on the efficiency). Not abrasive at all for my sensitive skin. Would buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Afrocutie on 10/6/2012 7:47:00 PM more reviews by Afrocutie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The weather has changed into Autumn blah. So my clay based clearasil vitamins & Extracts wash & mask is too drying now. Seen this on mua and thought I would give it a try.
Basically this is ok. It is a gel that melts to an oil when massaged onto dry skin, we r instructed to do this for a minute or 2. Then will rinse away with water.
It says that it will remove makeup & impurities and using it as it is instructed I don't think it will do that in hard water areas. When I tried that I was left with a greasy & coloured residue. Gross.
So this is how I use it.
Take makeup off with separate remover. Makesure skin dry
Squeeze a 2inch line of product on finger then dot over face and neck. Proceed to massage in. Good op to do facial massage techniques.
Then use damp baby microfiber cloth to remove product, again and again and again.

After using this method then skin is left smooth and clean with minimal tightness, which I attribute to the water.
I then tone with LRP water and my skin is not stinging or burning, but feels clean and not stripped.

The smell is quite floral, which is not my bag. But it isn't over powering and not left on my skin once it is rinsed off.
It hasn't clogged me yet, but jury is out on that one.

Price is 9 for 100ml. I could get higher branded better cleansing oils for the same amount, ml for ml.
or make my own rinsing cleansing oil for a lot better value.

Bottom line is I will continue to finish it, but will not repurchase nor would I recommend friend nor foe to purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bluestar100 on 9/29/2012 5:28:00 PM more reviews by bluestar100

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have a skin that needs a good alround cleanser as I have a bit of everything. Combination with dry cheaks and oily T zone, sensitive and prone to allergic reactions, mature skin (36 years old). I found this product too drying for my cheeks. I have kept it for when I want to clean just the T zone of my face, but I wont be buying it again...there are better products out there:
I am currently using Botantics all bright cleanser, which is fantastic, cleans my skin, leaves it feeling soft, and its half the price nof the body shop one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kaycee66 on 3/12/2012 6:37:00 PM more reviews by kaycee66

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It is softening, doesn't strip my face of the oils, the gel-to-oil consistency makes it easy to apply and rub onto my face, and it smells nice!

Overall, I think it is a solid product, particularly as I find many cleansers leave my skin overly dry, and sometimes sting. This one doesn't. It does a good job of taking my make-up off. The trick is to ensure your eyes are closed, and place the length of your finger along the length of your lashline and and hold for a a few seconds. Continue on rubbing onto the rest of your face and gently rub your eye makeup as the last step.

You will find that when you have not yet used water, makeup may still be on your face, but once I wet my hands and slowly wet and rub my face, the cleanser is actually quite effective in removing my makeup.

A couple of criticisms for this product is that rarely, but sometimes, if I do get the cleanser into my eyes, it does sting. Also, though it's supposed to be softening and I do agree my face isn't dry after, I'm not completely convinced that it is "clean". I do follow-up with a toner to ensure any residual makeup is taken off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boourns on 11/27/2011 3:58:00 PM more reviews by boourns

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Body Shop recommends this stuff for tough to break down makeup, including waterproof mascara. It certainly does the trick, but the major problem I have with it is that, while it seems to rinse clean away from the skin, it clings to my eyelashes. Inevitably, the product that gets stuck in my lashes works its way into my eyes, blurring my vision and stinging like no other. It's a shame, because it lives up to my expectations otherwise, and doesn't break me out in spite of the fact that I have oily, blemish prone skin. This product is mean to replace the waterproof eye makeup remover they used to sell (the cream formula in the white squeeze tube), which is unfortunate. That product was far more gentle on the eyes, and I'd switch back to it if I could.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Safin on 11/26/2011 9:01:00 AM more reviews by Safin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Somehow Nutriganics and I don't match very much. I bought the foaming cleanser before and my face got worse every day, and now the same seams to happen with this gel. I am used to cleanse my face with oil (olive, almond), I did this a few months ago and I like the feeling of that, you can gently massage oils into your face and the skin becomes very soft. The problem is how to remove the oil, because my face does not tollerate foaming cleansers. So I thought this would be a good sollution. A gel/oil cleanser that can be rinsed.
But the cleanser is so thick and is so difficult to massage in, that it doesn't do my skin much good. After a few days I broke out on my forehead (what I normally don't have), so I realised that this cleanser is not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Cleansers products