MAC • Runaway Red • Lipstick

rated 4.6(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 kristen20 on 7/18/2012 4:12:00 PM more reviews by kristen20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Despite being an absolutely stunning color in the tube, I cannot say the same about it on my lips. For reference, I am a neutral-to-olive NC15, with dark mahogany brown hair, and eyes. Cool toned, deeper reds tend to flatter me the most. With that in mind, I expected Runaway Red to be my perfect color, since it was described as a "blue-red" on the MAC website. It appears as a rich, jewel-toned red in the tube. However, on my lips it turned fuchsia, which was disappointing because in the tube, it almost resembles Dubonnet, which is a brownish-red. I purchased this from the Shop Cook collection. Regarding the formula, it is a Satin finish. I found it to be quite moisturizing and creamy. Sadly, I've purged this because I cannot justify keeping a red lipstick that turns fuchsia, despite what a beautiful color it appears to be! In its replacement, I've found Sephora Cream Rouge in Rouge Passion, as well as MAC Dare You, to be everything I wanted Runaway Red to be.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 turtledove1980 on 2/23/2012 8:30:00 AM more reviews by turtledove1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been lemming this lipstick since Mac Me Over, but to be honest I can't really rock red lipstick. However, when it was repromoted in Shop/Cook, I decided to just go for it and ordered it from Selfridges a few weeks before the collection hit the main Mac stockists. I am really disappointed though - on me it pulls bright fuschia with a bit of red! Nothing like the pictures I've seen at all. I have heard that the repromote Runaway Red is different from the original and I'm wondering whether this is why it looks odd on me. Anyway, tried it on once, probably will never use again...anyone wanting to swap - offers welcome! Especially for Cyndi or Oh Oh Oh!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ManhattanMermaid on 2/14/2012 7:42:00 PM more reviews by ManhattanMermaid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

RUN don't walk to get this! This is the closest to the color of a red rose petal that I've ever seen! The texture is satin but mine feels more like a matte. I loved it so much I paid full price for it without my employee discount, then ordered two more! If you love Russian Red, and Ruby Woo, you NEED this in your life!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 p3chiu on 2/11/2012 12:33:00 PM more reviews by p3chiu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great lipstick! I picked this up from the new MAC shop/cook collection. I was looking for a lipstick that was similar to NARS velvet lip pencil in 'Cruella.' I have finally found it and it's MAC Runaway Red! Too bad it's limited edition though. Overall great lipstick and I would definitely purchase this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mermaidmaenad on 2/10/2012 4:19:00 PM more reviews by mermaidmaenad

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

An emphatic "YES!" to repurchasing this bold and bright ruby red. A beautiful, cool toned,red, not dark, but not too bright either. long lasting, semi- matte and great shade for those who need a pink-red. think i will buy a few back ups...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarlaN on 12/7/2011 4:58:00 PM more reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I decided that I wanted Runaway Red *after* it had disappeared from both the USA MAC site and Nordstrom.com, so the hunt was on.

I finally tracked one down, and am I glad I did!

I own and adore red lipsticks, and Runaway Red is the most beautiful one I've seen in a loong time.

It looks scarily dark in the tube, but on my lips, it's a deep, rich, ridiculously flattering cranberry red, with ever-so-slight pink undertones and no brown. It's absolutely *ideal* for the holiday season. Red Enriched remestick liner works well with Runaway Red. I love a drop of Spanking Rich Dazzleglass on top, too.

Runaway Red is *somewhat* similar in color to Russian Red, but the two are by no means dupes. Runaway Red is deeper, richer, and less "blue" than Russian Red, and its Satin formula is more comfortable, albeit slightly less long-wearing, on the lips.

Of the two, I prefer Runaway Red.I made myself buy only one this time, but if MAC ever re-promotes this, I will definitely buy another. If you like deep reds, get this one if you can!

SAD NOTE: As of March 2012, all Bobbi Brown, Clinique, Estee Lauder, MAC, and Prescriptives items are “will not repurchase” for me, no matter how much I like them. This regrettable situation is the result of the Estee Lauder company’s decision to abandon its ban on animal tests, and contract for such tests in China. As an animal lover/respecter, I will no longer do business with this company’s brands, no matter how otherwise appealing their products are to me.

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Indigo1707 on 11/15/2011 1:22:00 PM more reviews by Indigo1707

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

What a beautiful lipstick! I find it to be deeper, richer, and cooler than Russian Red (Runaway Red works much better on my super-fair, super-pink/cool skin tone) and I like the satin finish a lot more than Russian Red's matte texture. The only qualm I have with it is that it's limited edition--I wear red lipstick quite often and I'll be very sad when it runs out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hamstershell on 9/14/2011 8:20:00 AM more reviews by Hamstershell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very similar to Russian Red, except slightly darker, and less cool. It is very wearable and not overly "loud". Good for my skin tone (NC30 now, NC25 in winter).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissMermaid on 9/4/2011 5:39:00 PM more reviews by MissMermaid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

On principle I had to get this red. Ever since MAC Rockocco I buy the red lippie first and think about it later. This one's rather lovely and I have no regrets that I purchase it with Prince Noir. Retro and chic with a lovely texture, this one has already gone into heavy rotation.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Librakitten on 9/2/2011 8:11:00 PM more reviews by Librakitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Runaway Red is a definite must have color for the Fall/Winter. It's part of the Mac Me Over Collection. I have Russian Red which is a brighter red than Runaway. On me Runaway Red is a deep rich red. It's not bright, but definitely not too vampy red either. I would recommend this shade for anyone who would like to try a red lipstick.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More MAC products

More Lipstick products