MAC Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation

3.7

417 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Original formulation - September 2011): ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Octinoxate 3.40%, Titanium Dioxide 1.00% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Butylene Glycol, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Algae Extract, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Dipropylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Laureth-7, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Dimethicone/Peg-10/15 Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Peg-10 Crosspolymer, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Dimethicone Silylate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, [ /- Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Chromium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288)]


on 4/20/2015 2:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I find it so difficult to find a foundation that matches my skin colour perfectly and naturally without looking too done up. I have been looking for one to wear on a daily basis with enough coverage to cover some acne scars. In the London Selfridge's MAC store the artist tried studio sculpt on one side and match master in No. 5 on the other and I felt the studio sculpt made me look too shiny and oily for every day wear but the match master seemed to blend in perfectly with my skin tone so I bought it. Originally another artist matched me to Match master no.6 that made me look way to orange so I was unsure about trying no.5, although it comes on looking a little lighter after its blended it matches perfectly.

After a few uses though I have found this foundation to be quite dry and emphasises the dry patches on my skin more and the lines under my eyes. Some of which I didn't even know I had til I tried this on! This is quite frustrating, although after an hour or so things do seem to change when maybe my skin gets a little oilier over the day. My skin is a combination of dry and oily areas. Even after moisturising well and using a primer I still find it emphasises dry areas on the side of my nose too much.

I generally use a beauty blender for my foundation but this foundation is quite tricky I found without a foundation brush. It needs to be quickly blended before it dries and topping up is difficult because of the colour changes I'm the foundation, I felt that if I topped up a bit later it made me look patchy. It may be that I am a shade between No.5 and 6 or that I just have the wrong skin type. Oily skins may benefit more from this foundation and its such a shame because I was sure this was the one! The colour is awesome.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/15/2015 3:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Tried this a few times and I don't really like it honestly.
It's a less pigmented version on studio fix fluid.
I can easily sheer studio fix fluid if I wanted so I don't see much of a point of this.
Studio fix fluid is $27 and this was $35
If I sheer out the studio fix it'll end up lasting longer and cheaper in the long run as well.
As for the whole "matchmaster" aspect.
Not a fan, I don't know why I bothered with it. I started using M•A•C BECAUSE of the fact they have shades that are good for yellow toned skin.
I was sick of drugstores and the light, medium, dark shades.
I'm yellow/olive tone that's a light/medium shade.
I'm usually NC25/NC30.
When I wore this it was just too peach. A very common issue I had with drugstore makeup.
My neck and the rest of my body was more yellow/slightly green.
So if you're in that range of tone, skip this foundation. Better off with studio fix fluid honestly.


on 4/12/2015 9:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm usually not a massive fan of MAC foundations - just their lipsticks. However, I decided to check them out and was stuck for choice for both the Pro Longwear and Matchmaster. Seeing as I'm not looking for a full coverage - just something long lasting, I decided not to go with Studio Fix.

I ended up getting Matchmaster - i'm an NC35 in Pro Longwear and the shade 3.0 was the perfect match for me.
What can I say! this is one of the rare foundations that did NOT oxidise on me - it adapted to my skin tone beautifully and did slightly turn darker only because I didn't touch up throughout the whole day.
I used the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge to apply underneath my Rimmel Stay Matte Primer - and it was the perfect combo!

Pair this with the Mac Prep and Prime Translucent Powder and you have the perfect foundation for oily skin.

The finish is demi-matte - not full matte and it does let off a slight glow (but not a bad glow). it's a light to medium coverage - I would say its more medium coverage and it sits on the face beautifully.

thank god it comes with a pump! theres more in the bottle - I personally think it is worth the price for an oily skinned girl like me!! would definitely repurchase again.

(If you have oily skin with some dry patches, I would recommend using a moisturiser that's oil free and it will not look cakey or cling to dry patches).

this beats my Estee Lauder Double Wear anyday!! (For reference, i'm 4N1 - Shell Beige)


on 3/31/2015 12:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this when I was told by a Mac mua that this is good for my dry/normal skin and it will cover my red cheeks.

Pros:
Great colour match
You get a lot (35ml) for the price
Comes with a pump
Easy to blend

Cons:
Poor coverage
Not good for drier skin types
Doesn't stay
Smells of paint (common Mac foundation smell)


on 3/30/2015 11:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried every foundation from mac, and I think I finally found a winner in this (along with face and body, which is an absolute staple and falls in a completely different category for me).

For starters I have very oily skin and large pores, along with acne scarring. So my biggest problem with foundations is obviously no oil control, caking into and emphasizing pores, and emphasizing less desirable skin texture.

I also have very fair skin, which can be a pain to match. I'm around nc15, but sometimes those shades are too orangey or warm golden (side eyes SFF nc15 and ELDW 1w1). I think my undertones are more cool yellow/beige... I am definitely fair olive.

I have this in shade 1.0. And it can be a little too light and too peachy, but after about 15 minutes this seems to settle into my skin and form a pretty ideal match. The match technology picks up especially well in photos-- this foundation looks amazing in pics. I am not washed out, nor orange, pink, gray-- I just have a nice healthy glow.

This foundation is definitely matte, but isn't as heavy as studio fix fluid. I feel like this is like a tamer studio fix fluid-- like matchmaster is a great matte foundation for oily skin and SFF is like a matchmaster on steroids. I used to use SFF and in recent years found it not so kind to my almost 30 year old skin. I feel like that foundation is more suited to young girls in their teens and 20s with super oily, young skin- who like a lot of coverage.

My skin is still super duper oily. And I notice this routine makes matchmaster pretty bullet proof:

Moisturizer: mac oil control lotion (cannot rave enough about this)
Primer: smashbox photo finish primer: just where pores are biggest, nose and cheeks. Then I apply a thin layer of mac face and body as a second primer/base- focusing on undereye and general center of my face.

Then I go in with matchmaster using a flat top stippling brush. Like with the face and body, I start at the center of my face and move out. Matchmaster can be tricky in the sense of clinging to dry patches. What I really like actually is to mix 1 pump of mm into equal parts f&b-- that is enough to cover my whole face. It looks pretty natural too, and gives my skin a gorgeous glow. I then take mm by itself and pat it over any acne marks and I can go without any concealer.

I like setting this with mac sf powder. I feel like it plays well with this foundation, making my pores invisible and lasting all day.

This foundation routine can easily keep me matte for about 8 hours. I really don't like to blot and touch up. I just want to do my makeup once in the morning and be done with it. This is one of the few foundations that make that actually possible.

Cons:

The jump from 1 to 1.5 is huge. I wish there was a shade in bw just a hair darker than 1

Clings to dry patches

Sinks into nasiolabial folds if I'm not careful with application.

Has SPF. I personally don't like SPF in photos. I am pale enough and I hate the unexpected flashback on a night out.

Pros:
Has a pump
35 ml of product
Keeps skin matte
Helps minimize pores
Photographs *very* nicely (I haven't worn this yet being photographed flash photography, but it looks nice on my iPhone 6)
Good color match, doesn't wash me out.
Doesn't break me out, or cause my skin to itch.

In all I'm very pleased with this one. I've only been playing with it for about a month, but I'll update if anything changes.


on 3/29/2015 4:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have combination to oily skin and this is FAR too matte and drying for me. The color and coverage are very poor as well. Will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2015 11:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really loved this foundation when I had it. I bought this when my last foundation (mac face and body in C6) finished and was looking for something with more coverage in conjunction to a matte finish. I purchased this foundation at a MAC store for £28 and got matched to the shade 7.0, which is perfect for my dark yellow/gold skin tone. This foundation really brought out my undertones and lasted on my skin all day. I applied this foundation with a flat foundation brush and it blended on my skin very well. I would apply 1 layer over my face and then do a second layer in areas that needed concealing. The only issues I had with this foundation was that it would make my face shiny within three hours and would settle into fine lines. It didn't matter whether I was wearing moisturizers, primers or powders as I would always have these issues. After finishing the bottle (after 8 months), I found another foundation that works better on my skin so I didn't repurchase.

Overall, I would still consider this foundation noteworthy, despite having some issues with it, However, I would recommend to ask for samples before buying the product just to see how the foundation works with your skin.


on 1/22/2015 12:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am a massive MAC fanatic, loving so many products by them. So foundation is no exception! This was the third MAC foundation I had tried, and although it is not the best, it has its merits. The finish is very matte. Extremely matte, even more so than the studio fix fluid, which sets more dewy. The matchmaster however is matte, but sets with a subtle glow if that makes sense. Being an oily skinned gal, I loved this. Although some gripes were that it would really accentuate any dry patches on my face and it was not very buildable. This bothered me. One-two pumps was enough to even out my skin tone but that was it, it wouldn't build any further to cover my acne scarring. The formula was almost translucent in a way, covering but still letting the skin peek through. The matte formula meant it was fairly long lasting, although eventually my natural oil did break through, as it is so darn relentless! Jeez! What's a girl to do eh?

I do recommend this foundation for fellow oily skinned girls, or normal skins, dry skins maybe treat with caution as it could further dehydrate your skin.

That's all from me on this one, please check out my other reviews if you want! And let me know if this was helpful!
Happy make-up hunting :0)


on 1/21/2015 7:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Matchmaster doesn't match! There is a big leap between 1:0 and 1:5. I am arround nc15 now and 1:0 is a bit Light while 1:5 is super dark. Even the Sales assistant said there wasn,t a color for me. Great texture and finish though.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have just finished my first bottle of this product. I really love this foundation! The finish is perfectly matte, something that I really like. I hate to look greasy. The only problem I had with it initially was feeling like I didn't have enough time to apply it well because it does dry quickly. I use a primer with it and have no complaints! That's why I gave the four stars. If you have dry skin you should definitely moisturize and prime your skin before putting this on but to me it is worth it because it is beautiful! Great medium coverage and it stays put! No real need to set your foundation. I love the packaging and the matte pump is very attractive to me. Makes application so easy! I always used it with a 130 MAC brush. The price is a bit high, I'm assuming its more than studio fix just because of the packaging. But I love it! I wear MAC Match Master shade 1.0, and I just bought Studio Fix Fluid to try something new and I wear a shade NW13 in that.


Back to Top