MAC Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation

3.8

422 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Original formulation - September 2011): ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Octinoxate 3.40%, Titanium Dioxide 1.00% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Butylene Glycol, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Algae Extract, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Dipropylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Laureth-7, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Dimethicone/Peg-10/15 Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Peg-10 Crosspolymer, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Dimethicone Silylate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, [ /- Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Chromium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288)]


on 5/18/2015 12:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this foundation. I've been using it for about a month and no break outs. Thats a big plus. It lasts all day and the coverage is moderate. Build-able. I really like it. Will purchase again.



on 5/16/2015 2:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I frequently try new foundations (always in hopes to find that Holy grail game changer) and Id have to say out of all the ones I've tried: nars, Laura mercier, dior , smashbox, too faced, UD, etc Mac always has me coming back. And it's one of the few Id repurchase for the co$t. match master is def one of my faves !!!has great coverage yet natural. Nice balance of keeping a fresh dewy finish w/out looking too shiny. all in all, def on my top 3 favs!


on 5/13/2015 8:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my new favorite foundation. I love the way it makes my skin look without having to use much of it. It is kind of pricey but you get what you pay for and I don't mind it. It does a great job. Only cons I can think of is if you aren't yellow toned it won't work well with you, also sometimes it tends to stick to dry patches.


on 5/4/2015 7:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been looking for a light-weight foundation to replace my Smashbox BB cream. I wanted something that provided decent coverage while looking natural (i.e. not like a painted face/mask), did not oxidise or cause breakouts and did not settle in to pores/fine lines. I got burnt by Lancome Teinte Miracle - while it looked beautiful on my skin, it contains high levels of alcohol in its ingredients which is very damaging/drying to skin. My skin is already on the dry side so I made sure I did a lot of research before forking out over $50 for a product again.

So far, MAC Matchmaster SPF 15 foundation has not disappointed. The colour (01) is perfect for my pale skin. It goes on smoothly (I use a foundation brush) and one pump is enough for my face. It provides medium, even coverage but this is buildable - I do find I need to dab a little bit more product on to any blemishes to cover them up. No breakouts so far and no oxidation after wearing for over 8 hours. I will update if anything changes with continued use.

My main gripe with MAC has always been their prices but the bottle is quite large so I suspect it will last a long time, even with daily wear. Overall, I highly rate this product!

Pros:
- excellent range of shades from very fair to dark (01 is a great match for me)
- easy to apply and blend in to skin
- natural looking matte finish
- light-weight formula with medium coverage
- does not settle in to pores or fine lines
- alcohol-free formula
- no oxidisation

Cons:
- pricey as far as foundations go ($59 AUS per bottle)

EDIT - have been using this product for a few weeks now. Still loving it. Love love love!!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an HG product for me!!! I have to say that I am quite surprised!! I have a few MAC foundations, while they have been fine, there always seems to be something wrong. I enjoy MAC F&B a lot, but sometimes I want a more polished coverage. And Studio Fix Fluid is just too heavy...I like the finish and lasting power, however. Matchmaster is just perfect for me. Great staying power, medium coverage, and a neutral tone all make this an excellent foundation!! I highly recommend!!


on 4/20/2015 2:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I find it so difficult to find a foundation that matches my skin colour perfectly and naturally without looking too done up. I have been looking for one to wear on a daily basis with enough coverage to cover some acne scars. In the London Selfridge's MAC store the artist tried studio sculpt on one side and match master in No. 5 on the other and I felt the studio sculpt made me look too shiny and oily for every day wear but the match master seemed to blend in perfectly with my skin tone so I bought it. Originally another artist matched me to Match master no.6 that made me look way to orange so I was unsure about trying no.5, although it comes on looking a little lighter after its blended it matches perfectly.

After a few uses though I have found this foundation to be quite dry and emphasises the dry patches on my skin more and the lines under my eyes. Some of which I didn't even know I had til I tried this on! This is quite frustrating, although after an hour or so things do seem to change when maybe my skin gets a little oilier over the day. My skin is a combination of dry and oily areas. Even after moisturising well and using a primer I still find it emphasises dry areas on the side of my nose too much.

I generally use a beauty blender for my foundation but this foundation is quite tricky I found without a foundation brush. It needs to be quickly blended before it dries and topping up is difficult because of the colour changes I'm the foundation, I felt that if I topped up a bit later it made me look patchy. It may be that I am a shade between No.5 and 6 or that I just have the wrong skin type. Oily skins may benefit more from this foundation and its such a shame because I was sure this was the one! The colour is awesome.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2015 3:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Tried this a few times and I don't really like it honestly.
It's a less pigmented version on studio fix fluid.
I can easily sheer studio fix fluid if I wanted so I don't see much of a point of this.
Studio fix fluid is $27 and this was $35
If I sheer out the studio fix it'll end up lasting longer and cheaper in the long run as well.
As for the whole "matchmaster" aspect.
Not a fan, I don't know why I bothered with it. I started using M•A•C BECAUSE of the fact they have shades that are good for yellow toned skin.
I was sick of drugstores and the light, medium, dark shades.
I'm yellow/olive tone that's a light/medium shade.
I'm usually NC25/NC30.
When I wore this it was just too peach. A very common issue I had with drugstore makeup.
My neck and the rest of my body was more yellow/slightly green.
So if you're in that range of tone, skip this foundation. Better off with studio fix fluid honestly.


on 4/12/2015 9:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm usually not a massive fan of MAC foundations - just their lipsticks. However, I decided to check them out and was stuck for choice for both the Pro Longwear and Matchmaster. Seeing as I'm not looking for a full coverage - just something long lasting, I decided not to go with Studio Fix.

I ended up getting Matchmaster - i'm an NC35 in Pro Longwear and the shade 3.0 was the perfect match for me.
What can I say! this is one of the rare foundations that did NOT oxidise on me - it adapted to my skin tone beautifully and did slightly turn darker only because I didn't touch up throughout the whole day.
I used the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge to apply underneath my Rimmel Stay Matte Primer - and it was the perfect combo!

Pair this with the Mac Prep and Prime Translucent Powder and you have the perfect foundation for oily skin.

The finish is demi-matte - not full matte and it does let off a slight glow (but not a bad glow). it's a light to medium coverage - I would say its more medium coverage and it sits on the face beautifully.

thank god it comes with a pump! theres more in the bottle - I personally think it is worth the price for an oily skinned girl like me!! would definitely repurchase again.

(If you have oily skin with some dry patches, I would recommend using a moisturiser that's oil free and it will not look cakey or cling to dry patches).

this beats my Estee Lauder Double Wear anyday!! (For reference, i'm 4N1 - Shell Beige)


on 3/31/2015 12:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this when I was told by a Mac mua that this is good for my dry/normal skin and it will cover my red cheeks.

Pros:
Great colour match
You get a lot (35ml) for the price
Comes with a pump
Easy to blend

Cons:
Poor coverage
Not good for drier skin types
Doesn't stay
Smells of paint (common Mac foundation smell)


on 3/30/2015 11:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried every foundation from mac, and I think I finally found a winner in this (along with face and body, which is an absolute staple and falls in a completely different category for me).

For starters I have very oily skin and large pores, along with acne scarring. So my biggest problem with foundations is obviously no oil control, caking into and emphasizing pores, and emphasizing less desirable skin texture.

I also have very fair skin, which can be a pain to match. I'm around nc15, but sometimes those shades are too orangey or warm golden (side eyes SFF nc15 and ELDW 1w1). I think my undertones are more cool yellow/beige... I am definitely fair olive.

I have this in shade 1.0. And it can be a little too light and too peachy, but after about 15 minutes this seems to settle into my skin and form a pretty ideal match. The match technology picks up especially well in photos-- this foundation looks amazing in pics. I am not washed out, nor orange, pink, gray-- I just have a nice healthy glow.

This foundation is definitely matte, but isn't as heavy as studio fix fluid. I feel like this is like a tamer studio fix fluid-- like matchmaster is a great matte foundation for oily skin and SFF is like a matchmaster on steroids. I used to use SFF and in recent years found it not so kind to my almost 30 year old skin. I feel like that foundation is more suited to young girls in their teens and 20s with super oily, young skin- who like a lot of coverage.

My skin is still super duper oily. And I notice this routine makes matchmaster pretty bullet proof:

Moisturizer: mac oil control lotion (cannot rave enough about this)
Primer: smashbox photo finish primer: just where pores are biggest, nose and cheeks. Then I apply a thin layer of mac face and body as a second primer/base- focusing on undereye and general center of my face.

Then I go in with matchmaster using a flat top stippling brush. Like with the face and body, I start at the center of my face and move out. Matchmaster can be tricky in the sense of clinging to dry patches. What I really like actually is to mix 1 pump of mm into equal parts f&b-- that is enough to cover my whole face. It looks pretty natural too, and gives my skin a gorgeous glow. I then take mm by itself and pat it over any acne marks and I can go without any concealer.

I like setting this with mac sf powder. I feel like it plays well with this foundation, making my pores invisible and lasting all day.

This foundation routine can easily keep me matte for about 8 hours. I really don't like to blot and touch up. I just want to do my makeup once in the morning and be done with it. This is one of the few foundations that make that actually possible.

Cons:

The jump from 1 to 1.5 is huge. I wish there was a shade in bw just a hair darker than 1

Clings to dry patches

Sinks into nasiolabial folds if I'm not careful with application.

Has SPF. I personally don't like SPF in photos. I am pale enough and I hate the unexpected flashback on a night out.

Pros:
Has a pump
35 ml of product
Keeps skin matte
Helps minimize pores
Photographs *very* nicely (I haven't worn this yet being photographed flash photography, but it looks nice on my iPhone 6)
Good color match, doesn't wash me out.
Doesn't break me out, or cause my skin to itch.

In all I'm very pleased with this one. I've only been playing with it for about a month, but I'll update if anything changes.


Back to Top