MAC Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation

3.8

413 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Original formulation - September 2011): ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Octinoxate 3.40%, Titanium Dioxide 1.00% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Butylene Glycol, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Algae Extract, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Dipropylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Laureth-7, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Dimethicone/Peg-10/15 Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Peg-10 Crosspolymer, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Dimethicone Silylate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, [ /- Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Chromium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288)]


on 3/30/2015 11:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried every foundation from mac, and I think I finally found a winner in this (along with face and body, which is an absolute staple and falls in a completely different category for me).

For starters I have very oily skin and large pores, along with acne scarring. So my biggest problem with foundations is obviously no oil control, caking into and emphasizing pores, and emphasizing less desirable skin texture.

I also have very fair skin, which can be a pain to match. I'm around nc15, but sometimes those shades are too orangey or warm golden (side eyes SFF nc15 and ELDW 1w1). I think my undertones are more cool yellow/beige... I am definitely fair olive.

I have this in shade 1.0. And it can be a little too light and too peachy, but after about 15 minutes this seems to settle into my skin and form a pretty ideal match. The match technology picks up especially well in photos-- this foundation looks amazing in pics. I am not washed out, nor orange, pink, gray-- I just have a nice healthy glow.

This foundation is definitely matte, but isn't as heavy as studio fix fluid. I feel like this is like a tamer studio fix fluid-- like matchmaster is a great matte foundation for oily skin and SFF is like a matchmaster on steroids. I used to use SFF and in recent years found it not so kind to my almost 30 year old skin. I feel like that foundation is more suited to young girls in their teens and 20s with super oily, young skin- who like a lot of coverage.

My skin is still super duper oily. And I notice this routine makes matchmaster pretty bullet proof:

Moisturizer: mac oil control lotion (cannot rave enough about this)
Primer: smashbox photo finish primer: just where pores are biggest, nose and cheeks. Then I apply a thin layer of mac face and body as a second primer/base- focusing on undereye and general center of my face.

Then I go in with matchmaster using a flat top stippling brush. Like with the face and body, I start at the center of my face and move out. Matchmaster can be tricky in the sense of clinging to dry patches. What I really like actually is to mix 1 pump of mm into equal parts f&b-- that is enough to cover my whole face. It looks pretty natural too, and gives my skin a gorgeous glow. I then take mm by itself and pat it over any acne marks and I can go without any concealer.

I like setting this with mac sf powder. I feel like it plays well with this foundation, making my pores invisible and lasting all day.

This foundation routine can easily keep me matte for about 8 hours. I really don't like to blot and touch up. I just want to do my makeup once in the morning and be done with it. This is one of the few foundations that make that actually possible.

Cons:

The jump from 1 to 1.5 is huge. I wish there was a shade in bw just a hair darker than 1

Clings to dry patches

Sinks into nasiolabial folds if I'm not careful with application.

Has SPF. I personally don't like SPF in photos. I am pale enough and I hate the unexpected flashback on a night out.

Pros:
Has a pump
35 ml of product
Keeps skin matte
Helps minimize pores
Photographs *very* nicely (I haven't worn this yet being photographed flash photography, but it looks nice on my iPhone 6)
Good color match, doesn't wash me out.
Doesn't break me out, or cause my skin to itch.

In all I'm very pleased with this one. I've only been playing with it for about a month, but I'll update if anything changes.



on 3/29/2015 4:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have combination to oily skin and this is FAR too matte and drying for me. The color and coverage are very poor as well. Will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2015 11:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really loved this foundation when I had it. I bought this when my last foundation (mac face and body in C6) finished and was looking for something with more coverage in conjunction to a matte finish. I purchased this foundation at a MAC store for £28 and got matched to the shade 7.0, which is perfect for my dark yellow/gold skin tone. This foundation really brought out my undertones and lasted on my skin all day. I applied this foundation with a flat foundation brush and it blended on my skin very well. I would apply 1 layer over my face and then do a second layer in areas that needed concealing. The only issues I had with this foundation was that it would make my face shiny within three hours and would settle into fine lines. It didn't matter whether I was wearing moisturizers, primers or powders as I would always have these issues. After finishing the bottle (after 8 months), I found another foundation that works better on my skin so I didn't repurchase.

Overall, I would still consider this foundation noteworthy, despite having some issues with it, However, I would recommend to ask for samples before buying the product just to see how the foundation works with your skin.


on 1/22/2015 12:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am a massive MAC fanatic, loving so many products by them. So foundation is no exception! This was the third MAC foundation I had tried, and although it is not the best, it has its merits. The finish is very matte. Extremely matte, even more so than the studio fix fluid, which sets more dewy. The matchmaster however is matte, but sets with a subtle glow if that makes sense. Being an oily skinned gal, I loved this. Although some gripes were that it would really accentuate any dry patches on my face and it was not very buildable. This bothered me. One-two pumps was enough to even out my skin tone but that was it, it wouldn't build any further to cover my acne scarring. The formula was almost translucent in a way, covering but still letting the skin peek through. The matte formula meant it was fairly long lasting, although eventually my natural oil did break through, as it is so darn relentless! Jeez! What's a girl to do eh?

I do recommend this foundation for fellow oily skinned girls, or normal skins, dry skins maybe treat with caution as it could further dehydrate your skin.

That's all from me on this one, please check out my other reviews if you want! And let me know if this was helpful!
Happy make-up hunting :0)


on 1/21/2015 7:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Matchmaster doesn't match! There is a big leap between 1:0 and 1:5. I am arround nc15 now and 1:0 is a bit Light while 1:5 is super dark. Even the Sales assistant said there wasn,t a color for me. Great texture and finish though.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have just finished my first bottle of this product. I really love this foundation! The finish is perfectly matte, something that I really like. I hate to look greasy. The only problem I had with it initially was feeling like I didn't have enough time to apply it well because it does dry quickly. I use a primer with it and have no complaints! That's why I gave the four stars. If you have dry skin you should definitely moisturize and prime your skin before putting this on but to me it is worth it because it is beautiful! Great medium coverage and it stays put! No real need to set your foundation. I love the packaging and the matte pump is very attractive to me. Makes application so easy! I always used it with a 130 MAC brush. The price is a bit high, I'm assuming its more than studio fix just because of the packaging. But I love it! I wear MAC Match Master shade 1.0, and I just bought Studio Fix Fluid to try something new and I wear a shade NW13 in that.


on 1/15/2015 1:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have a bone to pick with this foundation. Initially I was in love with it. I think it sits pretty well on the skin and matches my skin color perfectly in a matter of minutes. It also doesn't dry too slowly or too quickly so there is time to blend it well.

Now. Normally, I have almost perfect skin with the occasional blemish here and there. After using this foundation for literally two weeks, my face COMPLETELY BROKE OUT everywhere that was remotely possible to have acne. This is the worst breakout I have had in the last four years, and probably ever. I immediately stopped using the foundation and returned to a drugstore brand I have been using for two years. My face looked 15% better within two days. Three days later and it is almost healing and returning to normal.

I don't know if I had an allergic reaction to something in Matchmaster or exactly what happened but I will never purchase or use MAC foundation again.
I hate to say this because I am a HUGE advocate for all things MAC. In fact, MAC makes up more than half of my make-up collection. Apparently the foundations will not be apart of it.


on 1/14/2015 11:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have never been a Mac girl because I have an acne prone skin n Mac foundations are known to cause breakout. This foundation is my HG foundation and am loving it. It's has not caused me any breakouts and it's feels light on the skin. The colour match is fantastic and its photographs well. I apply this foundation with real technique expert brush and set it with studio fix foundation powder and the result is awesome. I have few acne scars on my face but this foundation makes my face very flawless. I think this foundation is not matte and is not too dewy. It more in between.


on 1/11/2015 12:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My new holy grail foundation for ages I was using drugstore foundation and always turned out looking orange but no more the lady in the store was reallly nice and matched me straight away. It bones amazingly so can be put on really well and fast. It lasts all day with or without my primer. Just looks lisle you have amazing skin.


on 1/6/2015 12:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm from middle east but have super duper fair skin! And this foundation in the color 1.5 is perfect for my skin tone. It have a lighter shade but that was like a white base basically. I have oily skin but this foundation works really good for me. I don't like the super matte look, but this gives a little glow and make your skin looks flawless. I always have get compliments when I wear this with welldressed blush, nc15 prolongwear concealer and little bit of impassioned on lips, it makes your fair skin look and my skin is not perfect I have a ton of acne scars. Anyway I love this foundation and recommend it to everyone that is fair, has oily and sensitive skin!


Back to Top