Maybelline Expert Wear in Made for Mocha

3.9

11 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/8/2015 11:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use this product for face contouring.

With all the contour palettes coming out lately I decided to try using something other than a bronzer (was previously using just BE Faux a Tan or TF Cocoa powder bronzer). Love the palettes but so many are dupeable with eye shadow pans. I headed to the drugstore looking for the darkest neutral matte brown I could find - I almost got one of the Revlon ones that click together but then found this which is bigger so better value. (I paid maybe $6, but it was CVS.)

Pigmentation & application:
The pigmentation is better than expected - on a scale of 1-10 with 10 being most pigmented, I'd rank it a 7. It's pigmented enough to be useful but not do much so that you can't firmly wipe at it if you make a mistake. I'm fair-light so I can use this as a liner or outer corner shade or a lid shade for a smoky eye but find it too harsh as an eye crease contour. The pigmentation is perfect for face contouring. I use a narrow blush brush, tap the side of it into the pan, and it picks up a perfect amount - one swipe where I need it and then thorough blending AFTER base and blush is on and blending is a breeze.

I recommend:
Using over powder products, even if lightly dusting face with finishing powder, before using. If you use directly on dry primer you run the risk of patchiness. I've never experienced this but obviously others have so just don't apply heavily at first - this isn't an Urban Decay shadow, it's Maybelline!

I've gotten compliments since I started contouring with this - one friend even said I looked like a supermodel. Obviously don't go heavy for during the day. It's a great shade for eyes because it literally matches everything (then again I have brown hair and eyes)! The pan is huge and will probably last me a freaking decade - I've been using it a few times a week for almost a year and the hetchmarks are gone but I don't see a dip yet! It's hard and I don't think it will break in your makeup bag - so far so good in mine.



on 8/26/2014 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this as a contour shade. It has a hint of gray and with a light hand, this shade can look flawless when used as a contour for darker skin tones. Love it!


on 5/15/2013 12:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I got this to replace the darkest colour in the Natural Smokes quad, which I use as a liner and for my brows. It's a bit lighter brown than the quad colour, but I like that better! It's great on my brows and to line my lower lashes - I will definitely buy it again when I need more, if it's still available.


on 5/6/2013 11:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had run out of my favorite brow powder and decided to look for a replacement. This shade is perfect and matches my brows really well. It also holds up all day and blends great. No complaints and I'm tempted to get a backup.


on 2/5/2013 4:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Pretty good eyeshadow. It's the darkest brown I found at the time out of all of Maybelline's eyeshadows. It's also my first eyeshadow from Maybelline. It doesnt compare to MAC's eyeshadow but it does a great job and has a pretty good color pay off. For me personally I didnt get any creasing and the color seemed to last throughout the day. I did pack a bunch on when i first applied it so maybe that's why the color didn't fade but who knows. I would buy this again just because its cheap and works for me. I bought this at Target for I think $3.50-$4.00.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/15/2012 7:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I use this as liner. I love it! I use it with elfs primer and sealer (one in the black tube). I put this on with the sealer side and it makes a great dark brown liquid eyeliner! Only downside is that it is not that good as just an eyeshadow as you can not really blend it out.


on 9/27/2012 11:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This product SUCKS! SUCKS!!! Maybe I got a bad one, but for a dark brown, there is almost no pigmentation, and it's chalky, uneven... just BLAH! what a waste.


on 9/10/2012 3:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This was the only matte dark brown I could find at the drugstore at the time I went looking. That alone made it worth purchasing.

It looks darker in the pan than it goes on in my opinion and I am quite pale. I do like it for more natural looks or a softer smokey eye however. I think I would call it a medium brown.

It goes on okay, nothing exceptionally good or bad to say about it there. It is not as velvety as some of my higher quality shadows, but the the texture is a lot better/smoother than most of my other drugstore/novelty shadows.

I mainly use it to fill in my brows (which are very dark). For some reason it seems to look darker in my brows than it looks on my lids which I find a little odd, but it is what it is, I guess.


on 8/24/2012 1:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I got this on sale, so I only payed $1 for it. It appears to be your basic brown with a matte finish. I used this particular shade in my crease It is very pigmented when you first put it on, but it blends out much more sheer. And it is VERY difficult to blend out. It takes some serious effort to keep it from looking over-defined and cartoonish. The application is almost patchy, where the color just won't apply to some spots and will be super dark in others. I wasn't really expecting much from it to begin with, but I'm glad I got it so cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2011 2:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this color. It seems kind of boring in the package, but I love how it's a dark brown with a plum hue to it. I am a shimmer girl, myself, but any time I have worn this alone (on the lid and in the crease) I find myself thinking my eyes look really pretty. Very flattering to brown eyes and not boring at all! I will repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top