Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Kabuki Brush 2 n 1

3.0

14 reviews

35% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/3/2015 11:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

When I first bought this brush I neglected to realize just how tiny it was. Because of the packaging, I thought it was a full sized kabuki brush and was disappointed when I discovered I was wrong. It's size was annoying to work with. There was not enough handle room and I found myself constantly dropping it. Even though the bristles are soft, I found they weren't precise at all. Whenever I opened up the brush and tried to contour the product went all over my cheeks instead of the one spot I was focusing it in. I was left with a muddy, over bronzed look.

It's semi okay when applying blush or highlighting. I do see it's appeal to those who travel a lot, it's size makes it convenient. But for the price I paid ($23 AUD at Priceline) I immediately regretted my purchase.



on 5/20/2014 5:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

To be honest, I am the fence about this one. The brush itself is not horrible but I prefer my elf kabuki brush to powder my face. Now I do have normal to dry skin so I donít use powder foundation, and as this brush is flat, it think it would be really good with powder foundation versus a setting powder. I bought it to set my face, it did not do a bad I just feel this brush is more for powder foundation and like thick powder. Whereas a fluffy brush distributes more product all around the face.


on 4/13/2014 7:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

As a Kabuki I don't really love it because I personally like my Kabuki brushes very dense to give me more control and a better finish. This is slightly floppy and splays out and wobbles around in use. Its like Everyday Minerals in this respect (but a little denser and fibre is a much higher quality). I find the short chunky handle difficult to hold onto but that is completely usual with all short kabukis - I put a rubber band around handle to improve grip, problem solved. On the positive side, the short handle does make it compact for travel.

When unfolded as a "Half Moon" brush its pretty good for light applications of bronzer and highlighter. But I already have really great Half Moon brushes. Still, its has a lovely soft feel on skin like her other powder brushes and doesn't shed ect. I'll give it a decent chance and it might grow on me.

Here's a tutorial from Sam on using the brush she uses it as a bronzer contour and a buffing blush brush. The end result on her cheeks looks beautiful:





1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2013 6:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought this brush to apply Guerlain Meteorites because the ELF powder brush I had fell apart after two months (for whatever reason, the brush portion would not stay glued to the handle). I debated about getting this at all because I had a feeling it wouldn't be all that great but since Ulta was having a buy one-get one half off sale, I decided to take a chance.

I have Chapman's stippling brush (which I love but don't use nearly enough out of sheer laziness) and a few of her other brushes so I had a good idea of what to expect quality wise. I think Chapman's brushes are well made. The bristles aren't scratchy, they don't lose their shape or start shedding after washing and the handles are very, very sturdy. This brush, however, is a bit of a letdown. Like other reviewers have said, it is small. I don't have oddly mannish, meaty hands but this brush makes me feel like I do. Every time I use it, I end up dropping it because it's a bit difficult to get a grasp on because of the size. I also have some difficulty picking up product with this. When I swirl it in my powder container, it takes quite a bit of effort to pick up a decent amount. I don't know if this is because the brush is slanted but it takes a few tries to get the amount of product you want. It applies powder pretty evenly and I haven't had much trouble with coverage but it takes a while to get it all evened out. This could be my terrible application technique but I've never encountered this problem with other brushes - even the cheapo ones.

Overall, this brush is well made (the bristles are at least) but it's far too small and kind of a pain to use. The rest of the Chapman brushes I have work well and I would recommend those for anyone who is on a budget but doesn't want a completely crap brush but I wouldn't recommend Chapman's kabuki. If you really, really need a kabuki brush, I suggest saving up your pennies and splurging on one from by Hakuhodo or Nars.


on 10/15/2013 10:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am surprised by some negative reviews about this brush because it is actually one of my favorites from the Real Techniques collection. It is so cute and small and is absolutely perfect for travel and to take with me to school during the day. I keep my travel size brushes in a clean zip-lock bag and use them on the go without creating mess.
Ok, so this is not a true kabuki brush since the hair is very soft and too flexible. So if you got it for the sake of using it with your foundations, this tool will not work. I use it merely for my powders since it is very soft and fluffy and does not apply too much product. I also open it up flat and use it with my Hourglass Ambient powder and it's PERFECT. I know that the Hourglass have their own brush for their ambient powders, but this one is so cheap and gets the job done with ease.


on 6/14/2013 12:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A great blush for many different uses. I use this for my powder.This applies this evenly. I love this line of brushes and am collecting them all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/24/2013 7:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

First of all like all the other brushes but this one is total crap. Please advertise brushes properly. I actually felt the packaging and advertising of this is very misleading and unfair to me as a consumer. Had this been the first brush I bought from this brand, I would NOT have bought anything else. In fact it's left a bad taste in my mouth so am saving towards some suqqu brushes thanks to the lovely Eldridge who I am secretly in love with alongside goss! Goss is also developing brushes! Hope my man makes it :)))


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this with only real good reviews had been posted.I am happy to report that this is the only disappointing brush from the line.I don't find that this brush does anything well.When applying powder I find that even when using my HG powder it made my face look horrible and patchy.I find dividing the brush an using it for contouring doesn't work either because it opening on the widest side.Give them credit it is soft but not functional This brush is a FAIL!

I love the kits and the expert face brush

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2013 1:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Very, very disappointed. I definitely should have read the reviews first!

Super, super tiny little thing. It's okay for all over bronzer or powder, but I prefer something bigger and a bit denser. While the opening thing is a novelty, it doesn't do much at all. I never find myself using it opened up, because blush and bronzer/contouring needs a bit more control than what this brush offers, and if I want to apply powder, I'd use it closed.

Soft bristles and a handle that feels very good in the hand, though. But unfortunately still not worth it! I'd say to go pick up an ELF Kabuki brush over this. That one is cheaper, bigger, denser, and just as soft.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2012 10:35:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've purchased most of Sam's Real techniques brushes, I love them! The price point compared to the high quality of the synthetic Taklon brush hairs is fabulous!

Sadly this Kabuki brush is a big disappointment to me.
I would not call it a kabuki style at all!

When I opened the package I had to laugh...Where's the rest of it???
It is TINY!!
This is NOT a full size kabuki! Not close, not near, no possibility. Just plain no!

I feel the description of this brush doesn't show you it's actual size. All the plastic packaging for it is a bit deceptive, especially if you only give it a quick look or see it online.

The bristles are flexible & have a lot of give, okay for blending or dusting powder.
Its not stiff enough to do precise contouring.
The handle's surface wears off too quickly.

Admittedly, the idea & design of this brush is unique & nifty:)
It could be made into something great,,,.It's a bit gimmicky tho...lol

This brush is 2 styles in 1...
1. Held closed with a hidden magnet to form 1 fluffy brush. Not a kabuki
The handle doesn't stay closed properly. It felt clumsy to use. Okay for blending out blush..
2. Opens out into a wider length/moon shape - like a big fluffy fluffy fan brush.
I've used it for dusting powder, its workable. eg. Hourglass Ambient Lighting (another reviewer said she liked this)

You could use it for travel, but those of you looking for a proper kabuki brush, this is not it.




Top Rated Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Products

image

Setting Brush

91 reviews
image

Shading Brush

33 reviews
image

Buffing Brush

114 reviews
image

Core Collection

214 reviews
Back to Top