Orly Fowl Play

4.2

18 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/14/2014 2:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a gorgeous and unique color. None of the photos here on MUA really do it justice in person. Coat 1 is just a really sheer ugly purple, maybe with a flake or two of glitter. Coat 2 is where the color really starts to develop and with 3 coats it is vibrant and sparkly. It's a faintly pinky, plummy, deep purple, glittery thing of beauty and some of the glitter flakes even look like an iridescent blue-violet. It changes on the purple spectrum depending on the light. Most of the glitter pieces are tiny, no huge hologram like chunks. I bought this on a whim and liked it so much that this is the first time I've reviewed a nail polish color!



on 11/30/2013 2:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like it because its very unique. I could just look at in the bottle and be happy. I may have to do just that because for whatever reason this makes my hands look ugly. Or my hands make this polish look ugg. Either way I don't wear it as often as I'd like.


on 10/31/2013 2:15:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a strange polish. Happily, I like strange. This has a muted grape jelly base, and warm, irregular, prismatic glitter flakes in sizes ranging from very small to small. This is a polish unlike any in my collection (I don't have OPI Merry Midnight, which is said to be quite similar).

First coat is quite sheer, and not really wearable as a single coat. It might work on a base colour (I'd use a warm purple, but other dark colours would work, too), if you wanted to layer it and get a subtle effect. The second coat really brought out the beauty of this polish for me, because it built up to a dimensional, dark grape filled with flashes from the flakies (mostly reds. coppers, and golds in the light in which I spend most of my time, but in daylight, I was definitely seeing flashes of blue, as well). This polish changes colour and character in different lighting, too. In indirect or muted lighting, it's plummy and dark and pretty subtle, but in strong lighting, the glitter can really come into its own and the grape-plum colour is very visible.

Not overly difficult to remove, despite the flake glitter, though it's a little more work than a creme or jelly polish. Still was do-able with only minimal additional work.

I quite like this polish. It's a strange one, as I said, but it's kind of strangely fascinating. My eye is often drawn to my fingers when I'm wearing this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2013 12:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this polish. I think what drew me to it was that it was so complex and unique. The detail (the glitter) is fine so you have to look closely to really get a sense of the polish, but it looks great from any distance. Two coats did it for me; I could pull off one, but two really evens it out. It's very dark and vampy in most lighting, but I like that it's more than meets the eye when you really look at it. It's incredibly glossy, and also looks quite cool under a matte top coat. It wears a bit fast if you don't wrap the tips of your nails, but other than that I found it quite enduring. I also love the Orly bottles, so Fowl Play was a no-brainer for me.


on 4/30/2013 12:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this color because it was said to be a dupe of OPI's Merry Midnight. While its not exactly a dupe, it is certainly similar. I think its a really beautiful, complex polish. It has a dark purple-plumy jelly-ish base with blue and red/orange flakies and glitter in that makes it look like its constantly shifting. Its quite mesmerizing to look at, especially in direct sunlight. I think its a great color for fall/winter, but as I'm wearing it right now I give it use all year round. If you like darker vampy colors with flakies/glitter its definitely worth checking out

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Thought this colour was absolutley perfect! Dark plum with gold and multi-coloured flakes. But this colour seemed to be much different from any other orly polish I've used. It took 3 coats to get the colour I wanted, I allways apply a essie base coat and top coat, and this polish was chipping in 1 day!! I do not pick my polish or do anything that would cause abnormal chipping, this has never happened with any other orly polish, Ive tried to wear this colour many times with no success :(
Buy at own risk ♥ !


on 9/26/2012 11:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Eek. There's nothing specifically wrong with this polish (after all, it's Orly) but...I just hate it. I saw Fowl Play nestled between Sweet Peacock and Androgynie and felt compelled to grab it. I kept staring at it when I got home trying to decipher what color it was. Brown jelly? Are those flakies? Glitter? Wait...it's purple.

I finally put it on my nails, thinking actual wear would improve the color. It didn't. I went outside, I drove around, put on and took off my glasses (and sunglasses), went under CFL,fluorescent and normal lighting and every time it just looked god awful, like Paris Hilton's barf on a Tuesday night.

It seems to me to be a brown-plum jelly base with red-orange-green flakies (VERY small) with silver/blue microglitter mixed throughout. Depending on how he light catches the color, it can look brown with specks of mud, or black with brown glitter.

I really can't wait to find someone to unload this on (hey, Christmas is coming up...).


on 6/26/2012 8:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This immediately caught my eye in the store. I don't have anything like it. Fowl Play, a member of Orly's Birds of a Feather collection, is a dark plum purple jelly with a mixture of glitters and flakes (red, orange, purple, and blue are prominent colors) suspended in it. It's sheer, so 2-3 coats is the way to go. Alternately, to conserve, layering it over a dark polish would work well to get that glittery effect. When applied, it actually looks like how it does in the bottle (packed with sparklies!), which is a definite plus. It's really stunning in the sunlight; it best highlights the depth of the polish. Less interesting in lower lighting, but not bad in the least. Colorful, unique, and beautiful!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2012 3:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this color . Having flakies in it makes it even more unique. I haven't seen any colors like this especially at where I live . Only downside is that it's sheer (3 coats will do the trick) and the dry time is not to my liking. Maybe I'm too used to the dry time of OPI and China Glaze.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2012 3:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of the most unique polishes i own, hands down! i got this alittle before flakies kinda got super popular this year and people were so confused and fascinated by my polish. (x it's so gorgeous to just look at especially in the sun, so be careful to not be distracted by your own nails!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
149 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Top Rated Orly Products

Back to Top