Orly • Fowl Play • Polishes

rated 4.1(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendigrl on 11/30/2013 2:52:00 AM more reviews by wendigrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like it because its very unique. I could just look at in the bottle and be happy. I may have to do just that because for whatever reason this makes my hands look ugly. Or my hands make this polish look ugg. Either way I don't wear it as often as I'd like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 10/31/2013 2:15:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a strange polish. Happily, I like strange. This has a muted grape jelly base, and warm, irregular, prismatic glitter flakes in sizes ranging from very small to small. This is a polish unlike any in my collection (I don't have OPI Merry Midnight, which is said to be quite similar).

First coat is quite sheer, and not really wearable as a single coat. It might work on a base colour (I'd use a warm purple, but other dark colours would work, too), if you wanted to layer it and get a subtle effect. The second coat really brought out the beauty of this polish for me, because it built up to a dimensional, dark grape filled with flashes from the flakies (mostly reds. coppers, and golds in the light in which I spend most of my time, but in daylight, I was definitely seeing flashes of blue, as well). This polish changes colour and character in different lighting, too. In indirect or muted lighting, it's plummy and dark and pretty subtle, but in strong lighting, the glitter can really come into its own and the grape-plum colour is very visible.

Not overly difficult to remove, despite the flake glitter, though it's a little more work than a creme or jelly polish. Still was do-able with only minimal additional work.

I quite like this polish. It's a strange one, as I said, but it's kind of strangely fascinating. My eye is often drawn to my fingers when I'm wearing this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vprometaphase on 8/15/2013 12:24:00 AM more reviews by vprometaphase

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this polish. I think what drew me to it was that it was so complex and unique. The detail (the glitter) is fine so you have to look closely to really get a sense of the polish, but it looks great from any distance. Two coats did it for me; I could pull off one, but two really evens it out. It's very dark and vampy in most lighting, but I like that it's more than meets the eye when you really look at it. It's incredibly glossy, and also looks quite cool under a matte top coat. It wears a bit fast if you don't wrap the tips of your nails, but other than that I found it quite enduring. I also love the Orly bottles, so Fowl Play was a no-brainer for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AprilMichelle on 4/30/2013 12:20:00 PM more reviews by AprilMichelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this color because it was said to be a dupe of OPI's Merry Midnight. While its not exactly a dupe, it is certainly similar. I think its a really beautiful, complex polish. It has a dark purple-plumy jelly-ish base with blue and red/orange flakies and glitter in that makes it look like its constantly shifting. Its quite mesmerizing to look at, especially in direct sunlight. I think its a great color for fall/winter, but as I'm wearing it right now I give it use all year round. If you like darker vampy colors with flakies/glitter its definitely worth checking out

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ProductJunkiie on 1/18/2013 3:18:00 PM more reviews by ProductJunkiie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Thought this colour was absolutley perfect! Dark plum with gold and multi-coloured flakes. But this colour seemed to be much different from any other orly polish I've used. It took 3 coats to get the colour I wanted, I allways apply a essie base coat and top coat, and this polish was chipping in 1 day!! I do not pick my polish or do anything that would cause abnormal chipping, this has never happened with any other orly polish, Ive tried to wear this colour many times with no success :(
Buy at own risk ♥ !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DebbieDahmer on 9/26/2012 11:40:00 PM more reviews by DebbieDahmer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Eek. There's nothing specifically wrong with this polish (after all, it's Orly) but...I just hate it. I saw Fowl Play nestled between Sweet Peacock and Androgynie and felt compelled to grab it. I kept staring at it when I got home trying to decipher what color it was. Brown jelly? Are those flakies? Glitter? Wait...it's purple.

I finally put it on my nails, thinking actual wear would improve the color. It didn't. I went outside, I drove around, put on and took off my glasses (and sunglasses), went under CFL,fluorescent and normal lighting and every time it just looked god awful, like Paris Hilton's barf on a Tuesday night.

It seems to me to be a brown-plum jelly base with red-orange-green flakies (VERY small) with silver/blue microglitter mixed throughout. Depending on how he light catches the color, it can look brown with specks of mud, or black with brown glitter.

I really can't wait to find someone to unload this on (hey, Christmas is coming up...).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heyjoni on 6/26/2012 8:12:00 PM more reviews by heyjoni

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This immediately caught my eye in the store. I don't have anything like it. Fowl Play, a member of Orly's Birds of a Feather collection, is a dark plum purple jelly with a mixture of glitters and flakes (red, orange, purple, and blue are prominent colors) suspended in it. It's sheer, so 2-3 coats is the way to go. Alternately, to conserve, layering it over a dark polish would work well to get that glittery effect. When applied, it actually looks like how it does in the bottle (packed with sparklies!), which is a definite plus. It's really stunning in the sunlight; it best highlights the depth of the polish. Less interesting in lower lighting, but not bad in the least. Colorful, unique, and beautiful!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amywmy on 4/26/2012 3:56:00 AM more reviews by amywmy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this color . Having flakies in it makes it even more unique. I haven't seen any colors like this especially at where I live . Only downside is that it's sheer (3 coats will do the trick) and the dry time is not to my liking. Maybe I'm too used to the dry time of OPI and China Glaze.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephyrm12 on 2/24/2012 3:46:00 AM more reviews by stephyrm12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One of the most unique polishes i own, hands down! i got this alittle before flakies kinda got super popular this year and people were so confused and fascinated by my polish. (x it's so gorgeous to just look at especially in the sun, so be careful to not be distracted by your own nails!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalaland on 1/6/2012 9:30:00 PM more reviews by lalaland

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The color is more purple than I thought and would like for it to be. It is also very sheer, which I understand helps give it dimension, but it takes too many coats unlike other jelly effects type of polishes. It is unique but doesn't look spectacular under normal light/indoor lighting. I would like it a lot more if it was a tad bit darker and required less coats.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Orly products

More Polishes products