TheBalm • Meet Matt(e) Eyeshadow Palette • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andi2010 on 4/1/2014 1:34:00 AM more reviews by Andi2010

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So I met Matt - we hit it off and had a good relationship in the beginning. It is great to have a stash of mattes to work with, however this little palette does not get used as much as I thought it would and this is because the darker mattes just do not suit me at all. I'm NC15, blonde hair and just cant pull off the dark eye look - I would love to but I end up looking like the one that lost the fight!

I use Matt Smith (cream), Matt Chung (pale pink), Matt Gallagher (nude brown) and Matt Patel (taupe) often. The nude brown and taupe are great for eyebrows on lazy days :) and Matt Ramirez (chocolate brown) makes a good eyeliner.

But then Matt and I got to the six months mark of our relationship and the honeymoon period was over - Matt became messy and crumbly. Oh Matt how you have let me down, every time I merely tap you with a brush you fall apart (cream and pale pink) - I cant see any chance of you pulling yourself together anytime soon, so you will be used up and probably replaced with a new "in" matte palette that's doing the rounds.

I also have UD Naked Basics and reach for that more often over this one - I just wish UD had included a pale pink.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cosec00 on 8/1/2013 12:20:00 AM more reviews by cosec00

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, so many negative reviews! Well, I love matte eyeshadow and generally have to wear matte over other finishes as its more complimentary to my eye shape (hood lids, slightly puffy at the 'crease'). And let me tell ya, it is a devil to find good quality mattes much less mattes in desirable colors. I saw a review of the Meet Matt(e) Nude palette and subsequent mentions on emily noels youtube channel and I was eventually convinced I had to get this palette. Best 40 bucks I ever spent. I love the colors, especially the browns. Great pigmentation, a little will do you, blends like a dream (a big fail for mac mattes), now weird undertones (unlike mac mattes) and lots of colors vrs Bobbi Browns mattes (which I also love, but wish there was more to choose from and wish they were had consistent blending characteristics). Plus you get a lot of product here...will last a long while. As for the undertone comments, I am a neutral to warm toned NW25-30. No problems at all with the colors here.....
If you love or need matte shadows, you can't go wrong with the meet matte nude palette.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alicia411 on 7/11/2013 11:43:00 PM more reviews by Alicia411

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

ATTENTION ALL BLUE EYED COOL TONED LADIES:
You need to find a way to get your hands on this palette. This I feel was made for women with cool undertones and blue eyes of many color ranges. Obviously this is due to the fact that almost all the shades are neutral or lean toward the cool side (with the exception of Matt Ramirez which is warmer). Just try using Matt McDonald, Schilling, or Horowitz as a liner, and watch your blue eyes POP. It's a beautiful thing. I don't mean to sound like neutral skin tones, warmer skin tones, or women with other eye colors would not enjoy this palette. There are still enough basic matte shades that I am sure anyone would find useful in their collection.
The feel of these shadows are quite lovely, they feel silky, and very smooth. I didn't find them too chalky. The pigmentation as I find with all TheBalm products so far, is quite intense and a lighter hand is required, but this means a longer lasting product, and in turn a better value. The staying power is not bad, but I usually feel the need to wear this with my ELF essentials primer and we are good to go for about 8 hours. The only complaint I have is I wish the shadows were bigger!
All in all it was quite lovely meeting Matt(e). :-)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jlee92 on 6/25/2013 6:02:00 AM more reviews by jlee92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I can safely say this is the palette that I use the most. Great quality, great pigmentation, reasonable price and matte eyeshadows, just the way I like. The shadows are smooth and buttery and doesnt come with crazy amounts of fall out. The eyeshadows are not chalky either and are so easy to blend without them looking overly muddy. Not to mention the packaging, The Balm never falls short in their packaging. Quirky, fun and just downright adorable. I highly recommend this palette for those who are matte eyeshadow lovers like me. Definitely run out and grab this baby!

For full review and swatches, go to http://stopnmakeupp.blogspot.sg/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lbondell on 3/8/2013 2:13:00 PM more reviews by lbondell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I adore this eyeshadow set. The colors have a lot of pigment and options to choose from. Very convenient size too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peronce on 2/1/2013 2:33:00 PM more reviews by peronce

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I find myself reaching quite often for this palette as it is all matte (which you cannot often find in a palette), wearable and blendable. I always have this open since it is so versatile and a perfect complement for all my looks. It doesn't matter which colors or palettes I pull out to do a look I always end up using a color from here.

For day looks I use (the nudes):

Matt Smith and Math Chung are the perfect highlighters.
Matt Patel and Matt Gallagher (almost hitting pan) are excellent for an all over the lid color.
Matt Ramirez and Matt Batali (my favorite) are just beautiful as crease or for the outer V's . They just add that extra umph! that any look needs.

For night or a special occasion (the darker colors)
Matt Schilling is great as a lid color.
Matt Horowitz the perfect mutted blue.
Matt McDonald I use it as a shadow liner, beautiful!

I recommend this palette 100%. It will be a complement for all the palettes that you own.
I found mine over hautelook along with the nude tude for half of the retail price, so that was definitely a plus.

Next for me: The Meet Matt(e) Nude palette which I just ordered from hautelook! I'm so excited!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 12/18/2012 12:04:00 AM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have plenty of matte shadows, but I really wanted a pallette with a selection of mattes that was really portable, and this answered that call. However, after all the rave reviews I was rather disappointed. Just because the colors are matte doesn't mean they have to be so dull. They have a dull blue (Matt Horowitz), a dull eggplant (Batali), and a dull dull dull (Schilling) teal/grey-blue. I don't mind muted colors, but I've tried a number of looks with these colors and they just make me look drab and sad. And what's worse is that they aren't particularly pigmented. The two lightest shades, Smith (cream) and Chung (pale pink), are okay for highlighting the brow but they aren't very pigmented, so I keep digging into them; there's big divots in those whereas the other colors are barely touched. I use it a lot, because of the light brown (Gallagher), chocolate (Ramirez), and taupe (Patel), but they're pretty average. All in all, the colors had good consistency but average pigmentation. I'll definitely use it, but I like Stila and Too Faced's mattes a lot better.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peaches1027 on 11/28/2012 10:12:00 PM more reviews by Peaches1027

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Now that I've owned this for a couple of weeks and have used every color in the palette, I feel ready to write a review. I've used this nearly every day since I got it, and I love it. The colors are very pigmented and wear well even without primer, although I prefer to use primer under all of my eyeshadows. I can create endless looks with this, and I like the soft sophistication of the colors. I also pair these matte colors with shimmers and frosts with great results. The only two duds in this palette are Matt Chung and Matt Smith, the lightest colors in the palette. They are not very pigmented and are chalky. That's why I couldn't give this five lippies. The other colors are great, and if I had to pick a favorite, it's Matt Schilling. Cute cardboard packaging. Regular price this is $34.00, but I got it for $19.40 including shipping on an ipsy promotion. I would repurchase this. I think it's a great value. Just be prepared to supplement the palette with other highlighting colors to replace Matt Chung and Matt Smith.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amanda311 on 9/30/2012 7:36:00 PM more reviews by amanda311

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I had the realization a few weeks ago that I actually only own like 4 matte eye shadows- a base, a random brown and plummy red I got in Clinique bonuses, and a black and pink in a Tokidoki quad. I guess I'm more or a shimmer and glitter gal. But I do have to admit I like to have a matte crease shade. My lack of matte colors is propbably why I stopped wearing eye shadow during the day- and I'm also pressed for time in the morning lately, but otherwise my eyes look too "done" just for work and class. So I decided to pick up this matte palette. At nearly $40 after tax it loses points with me because the pots are so ittybitty- but at the same time I can't be too sore because it takes so long for me to hit pan lately. The packaging is super cute, but i can trace the fall-out I experienced to the brush that's included. The eyeliner side of the brush is fine, but I find the shadows show up better, and therefore you need less, with a sponge-tip applicator, so I only use the other end for blending. Lastly the colors in this palette lean towards the cool end with the exception of the neutrals so I guess I would have liked a better balance there. Enough griping though, because this palette is actually really great despite those things because I now have the sades I need to have a complete selection. The shadows are buttery and the pigments are lovely and a few of the colors (most notably the tealy-green) are unexpected and cool. Give this a shot but be mindful that if you are very dark the nudes might not show up and of you are very light the highlights might not show up (so that could potentially mean you leave 2 colors unused except for maybe blending).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 silencia on 6/24/2012 12:05:00 PM more reviews by silencia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

If you're somewhat dark, I don't recommend this product. The first 3 shades (the neutral ones) don't show up at all. Have to admit I like the packaging though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TheBalm products

More Eye Shadow products