Laura Mercier • Moisture Supreme Foundation • Foundations

rated 2.6(25 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 LiseC on 10/11/2014 1:54:00 AM more reviews by LiseC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

OK, so my typical acne-prone face had been going off the charts for the last year. After process of elimination and every dermatologist rx out there, I came to the conclusion the breakouts *might* be a result silicone. Devastating. So I did hours of research and apparent there aren't a lot of foundations don't contain silicone (or a derivative - dimethicone, cyclomethicone, etc).
Here's the deal: Silicones make your skin look gorgeous. They make the makeup sit on your skin and move with it. Anything that does not contain them just can't be compared. Apparently, most your options are natural makeup and natural makeup has, generally speaking, terrible coverage (which sucks for my acne-scared face!). Which is how I came across this product.

No, I am not in love with it BUT in a market where silicones dominate everything, this water-based formula is pretty darn good when you put it up against the other options.
Why the 3 lippies? Color - can't find one that is 'just right'. Settles a little weird (looks good from a distance, settles into pores / cakes a little bit up close). Coverage - really good.
So I ended up going with a natural brand for now but I may be back to this in the future when I want more coverage and those looking for alternatives to the silicone formulas should at least give it a shot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EmilyJS on 9/22/2014 3:49:00 AM more reviews by EmilyJS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

For a product that's titled "Moisture Supreme", it sure is drying. It enlarges pores, makes skin look dry, is extremely yellow, sheer in coverage, is patchy.... It's almost like someone was trying to make the worst foundation possible, and I've used more than one foundation from the lowest end of the budget scale. The cheapest foundation I've ever seen in any store was at least 50 times better than this, and this was so expensive it hurt my feelings.

Now that's off my chest, I'll explain a little. It says in the instructions to use it with a stippling brush or a sponge, but the product separates (REALLY SEPARATES) when it comes into contact with water of any amount, so don't use a beauty blender. I also tried my fingers a few times, and it just produces the same pore enlarging cakey mess... I'm not sure how they concocted a formula that was sheer yet also cakey, but the team at Laura Mercier mastered it here.

The colour is extremely yellow. Now, I don't pick on colour because everyone has different colourings and it's up to the buyer to find a match for themselves - but it is worth mentioning for other customers that this is extremely yellow. The shade I bought, "Porcelain Ivory", looks bright yellow on my hand - like a colour corrector (though I do have neutral/pink undertones)... I'd like to mention here that I bought this online and was not colour matched, though I'm usually very forgiving of colour and blend well. I'm not giving this product any hate because I bought a mismatched shade.

I'm generally not one to complain, but this product is so bad it actually has me shocked. Usually there is something I like about a product... Maybe it has good coverage? Maybe it's a good colour? Maybe it makes my pores look good? Maybe it gives a healthy glow? But I honestly can't find one single thing that's not bad... Even if it just did nothing, I'd still wear it... I think this may be the first foundation I've ever had to throw in the bin, and I've been collecting and wearing foundation every day for 12 years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ashley914 on 5/23/2014 4:53:00 PM more reviews by ashley914

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

On my hunt for the perfect hydrating sheer to medium coverage foundation I decided to give this a try.

Pros - light feel

Cons - settled into my pores
made my dry areas appear patchy

I think this foundation would be better suited for someone looking for a semi matte finish that had normal/normal to dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shilohcalista on 4/25/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by shilohcalista

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been trying to use this product multiple times because the term moisture is very beneficial for my skin type and age. I have tried the previous version of the moisture makeup and thought it had insufficent coverage and was definately scented which is a deal breaker for me as I need unscented fragrance free only. I was hoping they had corrected the smell issue and maybe the coverage issue. I found the previous version only mldly moisturizing.

First issue the smell is different but just as noticeable as the original product. However this smell is more of a natural unpleasant smell as opposed to a more perfumey smell which is what I get from the original. All her foundations have strange smells but this one smells like a rotten carrier oil to me although it does fade a tiny bit once its on your face. I shook the bottle vigorously as recommended.

Second issue, the same named color is now darker and off perhaps more yellow than the original. Either one it no longer fits my skin tone.

Third issue, this product is NOT moisturizing at all. Its hard to spread evenly and it dries very quickly.Not at all what I was expecting it to be.

Fourth issue, the product made my average pores swell up to giant craters and dried into a patchy mess no matter what application method I used. Something in this product stings my face upon application---this does subside. It also accentuates dryness and flakiness and every single line on your face. Not for me or anyone with less than perfect normal or maybe very young skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 26cyj58 on 2/4/2014 10:19:00 AM more reviews by 26cyj58

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I went to Laura Mercier a few weeks ago, intent on buying the Moisture Supreme. However, on the advice of the SA, I went for the Oil Free foundation in Sunny Beige. She told me I have normal to combo skin. I always assumed I was normal to dry, and I have never gone for an oil free foundation. Anyway, I took her advice.
The next day I had it on and it was a gloopy mess that sat on my skin, separating in every possible area - cheeks, nose, forehead, etc. The colour was spot on, but the foundation itself was horrendous. It actually stung my face and felt tight.
I returned it to Laura Mercier, and got the Moisture Supreme instead. The girls there gave me the exact same colour, Sunny Beige.
Unfortunately this is not much better. While the stinging sensation has gone, and the separation that came with the Oil Free does not happen, it's just...........not nice. It seems to settle in fine lines, fade in patches, oxidize quickly and what's more, the colour Sunny Beige is much more dark in the Moisture Supreme. They could have told me the colours are not exact matches in the two foundations. I 'm quite frustrated. This foundation cost the guts of €50 and I feel I may as well have burnt a €50 note.I feel that the service I received from Laura Mercier leaves a lot to be desired.
There's a lot to be said for going into Boots and in your own time trying on cheap foundations on the back of your hand (a lot of which, I might add, outperform Laura Mercier) and deciding which colour is right for you and your skin type, without being hassled by some SA who makes you feel compelled to buy and tries to upsell their product as well. I doubt very much that I will repurchase Laura Mercier.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alliemarie655 on 10/28/2013 6:39:00 PM more reviews by alliemarie655

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Very shocked at all the negative reviews of this product.

I've used it for years now. I have terribly terribly dry eczema prone skin on my face and almost always foundations would start to form dry patches on my skin.

With this, it moisturizes my face beyond what my moisturizers do. Like a double-attack of moisture.

I find that it has great coverage for what I need (I don't really have acne or anything that needs major coverage) and I don't need a concealer -- this foundation is enough.

I guess it's a little bit pricey but the bottle always lasts me 6-8 months so I feel like it's a pretty fair price.

I would say that if you have severely dry skin you should give this a try. Definitely changed my life and my face. I've even had people comment on how nice my skin is. Totally unheard of comment before I started using this foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ldercole on 10/14/2013 5:47:00 PM more reviews by Ldercole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

My holy grail foundation. Flawless natural finish. Looks like a second skin NOT a mask. I have both oily and dry patches and this foundation covers beautifully. Def worth the price. Bottle pump allows for easy dispense of product. Controls shine. Just apply matte primer if you want a complete matte finish. I apply Ben Nye banana powder over top of this foundation for an immaculate finish. Lasts all day. Feels light on the skin. Strongly recommend. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cat82 on 9/15/2013 8:28:00 AM more reviews by Cat82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I've never in my life used such a bad foundation!! My skin usually takes great to any foundations from the cheapest ones to the more expensive ones so I don't kno what the hell is in this foundation!!! I applied it with my makeup brush, travelled 25 mins to wrk and in that short time it's like it all gathered in to clumps of muck on my face and looked like I didn't even blend it on to my skin!! Vile vile product!!! I went straight to boots and bought rimmels lasting finish foundation and its flawless on my skin!! Do not buy this foundation!!!!!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gracielleanne on 5/30/2013 5:07:00 PM more reviews by Gracielleanne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Inspire of all the negative reviews and the average rating, I decided to purchase and give this product a try. The first couple of times I've used it, I wasn't sure how I felt about the product. It was kind of a love/hate relationship. But I've gotten a bunch of compliments on my skin when I wear this foundation which made me decide that I do like the foundation. It is no Chanel or Ysl, but I like it for everyday use. The staying power is just okay and it transfers a little but it is lightweight and build able. You do have to use a good moisturizer and a primer if you want it to last longer. I'd say it lasts about a good 4 hours maybe more with a primer and a setting powder. I'm not sure if I would repurchase. I will have to wear it for a bit longer to decide whether I love it enough.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xyan on 5/23/2013 12:58:00 PM more reviews by xyan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

You have you apply a good moisturizer before applying this foundation, otherwise you may notice uneven coverage. This isn't a problem for me because I always moisturizer before applying makeup. The coverage is perfect for me, and makes my skin look fresh (not too matte and not too glowy). Also, a little goes a long way, and I love that this uses a pump to dispense the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Foundations products