Laura Mercier • Moisture Supreme Foundation • Foundations

rated 2.7(23 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 ashley914 on 5/23/2014 4:53:00 PM more reviews by ashley914

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

On my hunt for the perfect hydrating sheer to medium coverage foundation I decided to give this a try.

Pros - light feel

Cons - settled into my pores
made my dry areas appear patchy

I think this foundation would be better suited for someone looking for a semi matte finish that had normal/normal to dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shilohcalista on 4/25/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by shilohcalista

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been trying to use this product multiple times because the term moisture is very beneficial for my skin type and age. I have tried the previous version of the moisture makeup and thought it had insufficent coverage and was definately scented which is a deal breaker for me as I need unscented fragrance free only. I was hoping they had corrected the smell issue and maybe the coverage issue. I found the previous version only mldly moisturizing.

First issue the smell is different but just as noticeable as the original product. However this smell is more of a natural unpleasant smell as opposed to a more perfumey smell which is what I get from the original. All her foundations have strange smells but this one smells like a rotten carrier oil to me although it does fade a tiny bit once its on your face. I shook the bottle vigorously as recommended.

Second issue, the same named color is now darker and off perhaps more yellow than the original. Either one it no longer fits my skin tone.

Third issue, this product is NOT moisturizing at all. Its hard to spread evenly and it dries very quickly.Not at all what I was expecting it to be.

Fourth issue, the product made my average pores swell up to giant craters and dried into a patchy mess no matter what application method I used. Something in this product stings my face upon application---this does subside. It also accentuates dryness and flakiness and every single line on your face. Not for me or anyone with less than perfect normal or maybe very young skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 26cyj58 on 2/4/2014 10:19:00 AM more reviews by 26cyj58

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I went to Laura Mercier a few weeks ago, intent on buying the Moisture Supreme. However, on the advice of the SA, I went for the Oil Free foundation in Sunny Beige. She told me I have normal to combo skin. I always assumed I was normal to dry, and I have never gone for an oil free foundation. Anyway, I took her advice.
The next day I had it on and it was a gloopy mess that sat on my skin, separating in every possible area - cheeks, nose, forehead, etc. The colour was spot on, but the foundation itself was horrendous. It actually stung my face and felt tight.
I returned it to Laura Mercier, and got the Moisture Supreme instead. The girls there gave me the exact same colour, Sunny Beige.
Unfortunately this is not much better. While the stinging sensation has gone, and the separation that came with the Oil Free does not happen, it's just...........not nice. It seems to settle in fine lines, fade in patches, oxidize quickly and what's more, the colour Sunny Beige is much more dark in the Moisture Supreme. They could have told me the colours are not exact matches in the two foundations. I 'm quite frustrated. This foundation cost the guts of €50 and I feel I may as well have burnt a €50 note.I feel that the service I received from Laura Mercier leaves a lot to be desired.
There's a lot to be said for going into Boots and in your own time trying on cheap foundations on the back of your hand (a lot of which, I might add, outperform Laura Mercier) and deciding which colour is right for you and your skin type, without being hassled by some SA who makes you feel compelled to buy and tries to upsell their product as well. I doubt very much that I will repurchase Laura Mercier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alliemarie655 on 10/28/2013 6:39:00 PM more reviews by alliemarie655

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Very shocked at all the negative reviews of this product.

I've used it for years now. I have terribly terribly dry eczema prone skin on my face and almost always foundations would start to form dry patches on my skin.

With this, it moisturizes my face beyond what my moisturizers do. Like a double-attack of moisture.

I find that it has great coverage for what I need (I don't really have acne or anything that needs major coverage) and I don't need a concealer -- this foundation is enough.

I guess it's a little bit pricey but the bottle always lasts me 6-8 months so I feel like it's a pretty fair price.

I would say that if you have severely dry skin you should give this a try. Definitely changed my life and my face. I've even had people comment on how nice my skin is. Totally unheard of comment before I started using this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ldercole on 10/14/2013 5:47:00 PM more reviews by Ldercole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

My holy grail foundation. Flawless natural finish. Looks like a second skin NOT a mask. I have both oily and dry patches and this foundation covers beautifully. Def worth the price. Bottle pump allows for easy dispense of product. Controls shine. Just apply matte primer if you want a complete matte finish. I apply Ben Nye banana powder over top of this foundation for an immaculate finish. Lasts all day. Feels light on the skin. Strongly recommend. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cat82 on 9/15/2013 8:28:00 AM more reviews by Cat82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I've never in my life used such a bad foundation!! My skin usually takes great to any foundations from the cheapest ones to the more expensive ones so I don't kno what the hell is in this foundation!!! I applied it with my makeup brush, travelled 25 mins to wrk and in that short time it's like it all gathered in to clumps of muck on my face and looked like I didn't even blend it on to my skin!! Vile vile product!!! I went straight to boots and bought rimmels lasting finish foundation and its flawless on my skin!! Do not buy this foundation!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gracielleanne on 5/30/2013 5:07:00 PM more reviews by Gracielleanne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Inspire of all the negative reviews and the average rating, I decided to purchase and give this product a try. The first couple of times I've used it, I wasn't sure how I felt about the product. It was kind of a love/hate relationship. But I've gotten a bunch of compliments on my skin when I wear this foundation which made me decide that I do like the foundation. It is no Chanel or Ysl, but I like it for everyday use. The staying power is just okay and it transfers a little but it is lightweight and build able. You do have to use a good moisturizer and a primer if you want it to last longer. I'd say it lasts about a good 4 hours maybe more with a primer and a setting powder. I'm not sure if I would repurchase. I will have to wear it for a bit longer to decide whether I love it enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xyan on 5/23/2013 12:58:00 PM more reviews by xyan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

You have you apply a good moisturizer before applying this foundation, otherwise you may notice uneven coverage. This isn't a problem for me because I always moisturizer before applying makeup. The coverage is perfect for me, and makes my skin look fresh (not too matte and not too glowy). Also, a little goes a long way, and I love that this uses a pump to dispense the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kish888 on 5/17/2013 3:09:00 AM more reviews by Kish888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first time to give a comment for a certain product i used here in makeupalley. To start, i have a dry and flaky face... And been hunting for a good foundation that can hide the dryness - but i dont know, i just feel that the coverage of this foundation is ugly, although i will continue to use it and hoping that eventually i will fall in love with this product. But for those who are planning of buying one i would suggest try it 2x before buying :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lenright on 4/28/2013 6:15:00 PM more reviews by Lenright

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really dislike this foundation. I had heard amazing things about laura mercier and her foundations and concealers, so iam super disappointed. I thought that if i splurged a little bit to get this foundation that it would be worth it. I have combination skin, but since its getting warmer my skin is getting oiler. The foundation felt heavy on my skin and looked really cakey. when i went to the department store i was returning the laura merciers illuminating tinted moisturizer because it didnt look right on my skin, and the coverage was too sheer for my liking. I told the lady at the counter that i wanted the creme foundation, but she gave me the moisture supreme instead. She told me that the supreme foundation would be better and that the creme foundation was too much coverage. I thought she knew what she was talking about so i let her do her thing. Then when she gave me the foundation, she matched me all wrong!! i got back home and i looked at how dark and fake it made my skin look.. i continuously have the hardest time finding foundations because all the people at the department store match me wrong... they always give me a darker shade than my skin tone!! needless to say i am majorly pissed because i spent 43 dollars on a horrible foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Foundations products