MAC Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder (Pressed)

4.0

71 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Silica, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Zinc Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Synthetic Wax, Calcium Silicate, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Cetyl Acetate, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-1, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol /- (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77163/Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 42090/Blue 1 Lake, CI 75470/Carmine, CI 77289/Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77288/Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77510/Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77742/Manganese Violet, CI 15850/Red 6 Lake, CI 15850/Red 7 Lake, CI 77007/Ultramarines, CI 19140/Yellow 5 Lake, CI 15985/Yellow 6 Lake)


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have combination to oily skin. 4N1 Shell Beige Estée Lauder DB.

Before I bought this I had extremely oily patches on my face. I would look like I had my face dipped in oil and even small children would comment

You can't (and don't need to) apply too much of this as it leaves a white residue. I apply it with a Make Up Store (swedish brand) fabric sponge on my T Zone, and also under my cheekbones as a type of highlighter/contour *thing*

First time I tried it, I dabbed it on to my whole face on top of my foundation. That left me looking like low blood pressure patient. I go for a more natural look where you accentuate your own features and that's why I only apply it in the areas I know I'm going to get oiliest. Sometimes I use a smaller brush to apply it like Mac recommends you to, but I believe it's better to 'press' it in if you have very oily skin. It hasn't made me breakout a single time which is a miracle for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

lovely packaging. it gives an airbrushed look to my skin. i have extremely oily skin and it keeps oil at bay for an hour which is ok for me. whats sad is it broke me out terribly so i wont be repurchasing. plus the price is crazy


on 6/9/2015 3:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I used this product alongside the loose version of this powder and I have to admit I reach for my loose one more as it does a much better job of setting my makeup in place. However, this pressed version is great for touch ups throughout the day as it comes with a little compact mirror and you don't have to be messing around with a loose powder whilst out and about.
Handy product if you can afford both, definitely a good addition to my handbag. A dupe for this would be Rimmel stay matte, does just as good a job (if not better).


on 4/3/2015 9:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was sick of my powder being darker than my foundation (even after countless times of being colour matched) and I was also sick of my make up looking cakey so I thought I'd give this a go and I absolutely love it. I've got sensitive skin but I've also got a really oily tzone and really dry cheeks but I find that this is suitable for all over my face. It stays put throughout the day so there's no need for touch ups. If you're looking for a natural colour but with a matte finish if definitely give this a go. My only negative point would be that you need a rougher brush to apply or a sponge, soft brushes don't seem to work.


on 3/3/2015 6:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I bought this as an alternative to loose powder because I'm sick of the mess I make with loose powders- I'm just too clumsy! I have dry skin so wanted something lightweight to set my concealer without looking powdery or cakey. I use a small soft brush to apply this sparingly to areas where I need to set or knock back shine and this works a treat. I've not experienced any flashback but I imagine if you piled lots on you might have a problem with flash photography. This is very matte on me but might not be enough for oily skins .


on 11/2/2014 2:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this product in hopes it might keep make up in place for longer. I have tried applying with Mac make up brushes, with sponges, with a puff - nothing works. I fail to see the point in this product. I will not be buying it again and will keep searching for an alternative as I found this product completely pointless. I suppose a plus side is that it's suitable for all skin.


on 9/16/2014 6:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have extremely oily skin which is acne prone, however I do not have many inflamed active blemishes, just a few small spots here and there. I have pretty big pores that get clogged easily, but I generally managed to keep my skin under control with Retin-A. I am always on the hunt for a powder that will help me keep my oils at bay, which believe me, is not an easy task. About half an hour after I have a shower and wash my face my skin is like an oil slick! I have to blot about every hour throughout the day to avoid looking extremely oily and scaring everyone away. Up until about a month ago I was using Clinique Stay Matte pressed powder and I was relatively happy with it, however I'm always on the lookout for a better product and after reading good reviews for Mac Prep + Prime and how well it worked for people I decided to give it a try when my Clinique powder ran out. At first my impression of it was 'Ok'. I liked the packaging, however I really don't like the fact it doesn't come with an applicator, or sponge of some sort. It means it's just that extra thing I need to carry around in my bag. It did help to keep my oil under control but not dramatically, i'd still get really greasy really quickly, in about an hour and it was any better than the Clinique. I feel like sometimes after a few hours of wear and after a few blots with blotting papers my make-up would start to get patchy and if I put the powder on top of that it would only emphasise the problem. My main issues with it, is that as soon as I had started using this, I started breaking me out. Painful cysts around my chin that wouldn't go away for ages. My forehead was covered in small red bumps, so were my cheeks. This does not happen to me. My pores were incredibly blocked, every night i would take off my makeup and i would see loads of new blocked pores, blackheads, whiteheads and new pimples. At first I didn't attribute it to the powder and continued using it for a month. I then read many reviews on the MAC website and saw that the same thing happened to a lot of girls with acne prone, sensitive skin. I immediately stopped using it and went back to my Clinique. My skin improved immediately and no new breakouts since then! Overall, in my opinion, its a mediocre product. If you've got acne prone, sensitive skin, I would be careful with this and if you do decide to give it a try, watch your skin careful and if you start breaking out, then stop using it right away.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This lasts me such a long time-I seriously only have to repurchase this once every three or four months and I wear makeup constantly. The price does make me wary, but I only buy this about three times a year.


on 8/23/2014 8:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've recently discovered this after spending years trying every product under the sun to keep the dreaded oil at bay and I love love love this powder! My skin is so oily it drives me mad but I can just carry this around with me all day and lightly dust in onto my face with a kabuki brush when I need to. It doesn't add any colour on top of whatever foundation/face powder/bronzer I've got on so I don't end up with an orange face! I also find that it doesn't cake my makeup which can happen if you're adding powder throughout the day to mop up shine. I would definitely recommend dusting it on using a brush rather than with a powder puff. I usually prefer loose powder but haven't tried the loose powder version just because I think if you're needing to carry something around to mop up oil when you're on the go then pressed powder is much easier. I used to spend every few hours blotting my face with blotting sheets (which I still love) but I find with this product I only need one or perhaps two touch ups and it keeps my make up in place and skin matte for the whole of my working day.


on 8/7/2014 9:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a finishing white as white can be powder. If you are being photographed with a flash it will show. We have all seen pictures of celebs with white powder under their eyes. I use this all over my make up to set it and I use a heavy sponge so I can get tons of product on it and put it right under my eyes which makes me look awake and fresh. Actually that is the only reason I bought this powder. I love this powder and can not live without it. Another MAC product I love is Paint pot in Painterly but I use it as a primer. This powder comes with no sponge as using it with a sponge would be way too heavy. 35.00 CAD but it will last forever. A must have for the make up geek. I have not tried the loose version which I hear is somewhat superior. One word of caution: this is very white and if you put it on like a normal pressed powder you will look ghastly.


Back to Top