China Glaze Sunset Sail

3.4

14 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is my first China Glaze nail polish and it didn't impress me. I thought this was a good brand? This nail polish isn't opaque at all. You need at least 3 coats to get it lookin' right. Even after the 3 coats it'll look streaky and uneven. This stuff reminds me of the cheap nail polishes I used to buy as a pre-teen. Yuck.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/22/2014 7:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I had this polish in my stash and the color is gorgeous. However, I should have tossed it before...it is not opaque to look good with 2 coats. One coat is streaky and 2 coats is not much better. Three coats would be thick I would think. The two (streaky!) coats I put on did not wear well either. It is too bad as it's a lovely nudeish color.


on 11/19/2013 1:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am a faithful follower of China Glaze polishes. I've yet to find one that I didn't love.
Sunset Sail is no exception.
It goes on a bit sheer with one coat, so I'll admit that it's not quite as opaque as I'd have liked. But once the second coat is applied, it evens everything out and creates a nice opaque finish. I was worried that this would be a three-coater, but it seemed just fine after two.
It takes a little longer to dry than their other shades that I've tried, and for that, I took one lippie off. I tend to be constantly on-the-go and need quick use of my hands at a moment's notice, so long-drying polish is a bit of a nuisance.
That aside, I love the color itself. I was in the market for a pretty, peachy nude to match my pumps (because who doesn't love to match their nails lacquer to their pumps?) and this is perfect for that. It's not overly brown-toned, so it's not a straight up light tan. It's more a super-flattering soft peach/pink. It goes well with my neutral toned skin.
All in all, I like this. I wish it dried more quickly and was perhaps a tad more opaque, but I reckon I'll still reach for this color quite regularly regardless. It's pretty and feminine (which can be rockered up with some bold jewelry and a nice red lip/winged liner combo on the face), and it's timelessly elegant.

EDIT 12/3: I got into a different light with this lacquer on and it made my hands look downright jaundiced. Dang. In cool light, it looks great, but warm or natural light definitely brings out some weird undertones. I'm sure this would be great on someone with lighter, pinker skin, but my hands are quite olive-toned.


on 12/10/2012 11:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I wanted a nice peach, and heard bad things about Essie A Crewed Interest, so I searched for comparisions. Most were very thin, which I don't like. While this isn't a dupe, I like the shade, peach yet nude but not bland at all. It has shimmer, which I usually don't go for, but in this it really works. The only issues I have is that 1) it's not opaque in 2 coats. One of the few I have that really needs more, and that's surprising. It could also be the base I was using at the time, Nail Magic Base and Therapy, which made my nail 'thristy' for the first coat so I tended to need more polish. And 2) the dry time seems forever on this one! For such a sheer (compared to creams) polish, it really could dry faster and ding less. Overall, pretty, but not a flawless application. :\

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2012 3:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I am always hesitant to buy nudes/pinks/peaches because they are never opaque enough for me and I don't like seeing the white tip of my nail. This is not the case with this nail polish, I absolutely love it! It is opaque in 2 coats without it being streaky and dries fairly quick for CG nail polish. I do use seche vite with it, so it gives a great glossy shine. It's also the exact same tone and colour of my skin which can be a bit trippy to look at haha. My go to nude nail polish!


on 9/12/2012 12:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My first nude-ish nail polish. I really like it, perfect for my skintone and I've been using it for weeks! I thought it would be less peachy but I really like it and the glitter doesn't show up at all , very happy with this nailpolish!


on 9/6/2012 12:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This sandy neutral works well with my warm skin tone. The formula is a little thick for my preferences, but still applies cleanly. I think of this as a great interview color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/2/2012 3:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Love this nude peachy colour! Has the slightest shimmer to it but I think that makes it more summery which I like. The first coat was very sheer and I was worried it might take many coats to get it opaque, but after the 2nd it was pretty good and I gave it a third just to make it perfect. It also lasted a long time before chipping.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2012 12:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Sunset Sail is a peachy nude polish with barely noticeable silver microglitter. I don't have many nudes in my collection as they tend to be sheer, streaky, and it is always hard to pick a good one for your skin tone. But Sunset Sail is really nice. It does look better when I have less of a tan, but it doesn't look completely off or horrible, either. It goes on much more peach toned than it looks in the bottle, but like I said, it's actually a really pretty color. Nothing groundbreaking, but a good shade if you prefer more neutral colors or can't wear brights to work. I definitely recommend testing it or looking at lots of swatches online though, because I can see this looking really strange on certain skintones.
The polish was a little thick, but still easy to work with. It was totally opaque in two coats, and with a base coat and a top coat this lasted about 6 days on my nails, which is average wear for a China Glaze polish for me. Again, this isn't a OMG love it must-have color for me, but it's definitely nice to have around when I'm sick of this zillions of pastels and bright colors I own.


on 7/4/2012 10:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm waiting for my first coat to dry so I can do my second. It's a bit streaky but I can already tell the results will be beautiful after the second application. It looks like a slightly shimmery nude in the bottle but is more on the peachy side one the nails; which was exactly what I was looking for. Next time, I think I'll just go to the salon to have them apply it. Neutral colors are always tricky for me.




Top Rated China Glaze Products

image

Dorothy Who?

33 reviews
image

Ruby Pumps

386 reviews
image

Emerald Sparkle

67 reviews
image

Frostbite

69 reviews
Back to Top