NYX • Powder Blush - Expresso/Espresso • Blush

rated 4.3(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katras on 9/7/2014 4:34:00 PM more reviews by Katras

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know why, but I was expecting something a bit more brown - more tan, less rosy - maybe it was the stock pictures, maybe it was the name and my imagination or maybe I just wasn't paying attention but it was a surprise. This is a very pretty matte medium rosy-pink color with a dash of brown, which lends itself to looking quite natural on my light skin, when using a light hand to apply, has a very good lasting power, didn't cause blemishes and isn't tested on animals, however because I was looking for something more deep tan-pink, less rosy, I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 qtsara615 on 5/24/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by qtsara615

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this blush mostly because of the shade. It is the perfect browny-rosy-pink that looks very natural on my NC-20 skin. I like that this adds extra dimension to my contour and gives a very sculpted look to the cheeks. The lasting power is not amazing, I would only wear this for an average work or school day, definitely not a special occasion blush (Would use NARS or Milani for that).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BassKitten808 on 1/17/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by BassKitten808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

**2nd UPDATE** 05/10/2014

Okay..I LOVE this blush now, it really grew on me. It's so flattering and natural on my warm, tan skintone. I would say it really gives my face a somewhat "sultry" look. Easy to blend, highly buildable (which I love cause you have more control), nice finish (not chalky or powdery and lays very nicely on the skin) and decent staying power (if it was longer lasting I'd give it a 5). This is currently the most flattering blush I've ever used on myself I can almost see why I thought my makeup was oddly better looking when I was 17. Would repurchase!

______________________________________

**UPDATE**
I increased my rating to 4 instead of 2, I still wouldn't repurchase though. For some reason, as I started to use it more the blush became more pigmented & less chalky somehow. It's like there was a top layer that needed to be swept away first. I used the same brush aswell. Now the pigmentation is great, you can get a really good color payoff that can be easily blended out if you apply too much. It looks nice & natural on my skintone perhaps a bit too rosy now that I look at it for my liking, as my taste in blush has changed, hence why I wouldn't repurchase. It's a good, solid blush with perfect pigmentation (not overly so where you can only lightly tap your brush in -- hate blushes like that) & blendability. The wear is nice too as I don't notice too much fading throughout the day. Hopefully NYX releases more nude-toned shades as I'm really digging the formula of this blush now.

________________________________________________

Back when I was 16-17 (mostly in 2010) this was the one blush that I wore all the time. Back then, this blush was so natural & flattering on my skin (I was always quite tan, think NC37-40). Now for some reason that I recently got it again, it applies quite sheerly on me. I have to build it up so much but it still ends up looking almost chalky so I use another blush over top of it. Maybe I just got a bad one but I swear they must've changed the formula. Mine doesn't have mineral or lanolin oil listed on the ingredients list but I'm pretty sure it used to. This blush used to be more pigmented, albeit a bit more powder kick-up (now it's very smooth & tightly-packed, there's almost no powder fall-out from what I've experienced) but it was a lot more pigmented then this. A Mac Sheertone blush is a lot more pigmented then this if you want an idea. I have to swipe my brush in several times to get it to somewhat show up. It's a beautiful color but I think because of how it applies, it would work best on lighter skintones. It's a shame because this used to be the most flattering blush I've ever used for my tan skin. On behalf of the old formula I used to use & the new one I got, the wear time isn't amazing (it never was) but it blends out really nicely so it never looks overdone. I now just use this as a blending-out eyeshadow & it works nicely for that but I'm still very disappointed.

As for the shade itself, it's a matte warm rosey-pink with brown tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aharb013 on 9/21/2013 2:14:00 PM more reviews by aharb013

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a rosy-tan coloured blush with a bit of subtle shimmer and sheen. It is pretty pigmented, it blends fairly well but not excellently, and it has average lasting power. I like using it as a contour and blush in one.

I do recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sushiomelette on 9/16/2013 9:25:00 PM more reviews by sushiomelette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm very impressed with this blush. It's a brownish pink color that turns warm on me. It has lasted all day without fading. It's a perfect everyday color. It makes me look like I just worked out for an hour. I can't wait to try the other colors!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mayjunejuly on 11/11/2012 9:51:00 PM more reviews by Mayjunejuly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this blush ever since i bought. Brownish pink is what I'm missing my blush collection. And I'm absolutely in love with this blush! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 italiagirl007 on 2/18/2012 10:10:00 AM more reviews by italiagirl007

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this a lot! It's pink enough to use as a light "I'm not wearing any blush" blush, yet brown enough to use as a contour. Blends very well, not chaulky. I think this would work best for warm skin tones. Definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* uraznbabygurl on 8/20/2011 12:31:00 AM more reviews by uraznbabygurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This one looks blah in the pan (as do most matte nude blushes, IMO). If you're looking for pinkish-brown blush, this one is a nice option. It reminds me of MAC Blushbaby, except it is more brown. Expresso (or Espresso) is definitely on the warmer side, and I think it's dark enough to use as a contour for lighter skintones. I'm around NC30 and it's a super flattering blush on my skin. I'm impressed with the quality of NYX blushes, and this one is no exception.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More NYX products

More Blush products