Essie • Dive Bar • Polishes

rated 4.3(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 AFellowMakeupNewb on 9/22/2013 9:52:00 AM more reviews by AFellowMakeupNewb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was super excited to get a "fall" nail polish color and since the other one I wanted (a less darker green) was sold out I got this one since it looked beautiful. It looks black. Like maybe "off-black" if that exists. But the shimmer is nearly invisible and I only notice it if the light is right and because I know it's there. Pretty disappointing but it's less offensive than an actually black polish. Meh. Will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redeyelinerjunkie on 5/13/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by redeyelinerjunkie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

NOT true to bottle color.

Dive Bar, like Midnight Cami, is a dark shimmer polish that looks incredible in the bottle but just doesn't deliver. The shimmer isn't dense enough to really shine through the dark base, so it just gets overpowered.

You need to be out in the sun for this color to look anything like teal: the rest of the time it's muted, murky -- just a vague dark color. Much darker than the bottle shows.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gracep on 9/30/2012 6:40:00 AM more reviews by gracep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have mixed feelings about this product. I don't know if I got a bad bottle or something, but this colour was nothing like what I thought it'd be. I Google Imaged it and it was a ver pretty metallic greeny-blue. On my nails after the required 2 coats, it's a flat warm navy colour. It still gets three because I like the colour anyway, but I have to admit that I'm surprised and disappointed that it was in no way like the bottle or picture colour.

As well as the colour issue, the application was terrible. I don't know if this is a common Essie thing, because this is the first Essie polish I've ever used, but the texture was thick and sticky. All nails now have tiny bubbles in the paint (no one else would notice them, but it's not ideal for me), and the polish did that annoying thing where when you try to put the second coat on and use enough to make it opaque, it does that thing where the texture is like gum or something. For a polish that cost about $12, I found that pretty disappointing.

Overall, I still like this product because the colour is like nothing I have had so far and is a nice vampy kind of navy, but just be aware that if you're expecting that metallic, duochrome colour, you may be disappointed. Perhaps keep it in the fridge first or something so that you won't have the annoying texture issue I did, too.

Update: I became more satisfied with the colour over time as I saw it in different lights. It's pretty much a very deep, metallic teal. It's nice! Also, somehow the bubbles in the manicure seemed to go away, so all good. I updates my rating from 3 to 4 because of these developments.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heyjoni on 8/5/2012 11:02:00 PM more reviews by heyjoni

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Dive Bar is a hidden gem from Essie. It's a sexy blackened teal in a sea of endless Essie pastels, light colors, and pinks. The application is great; the polish glides on the nails, looking great in one coat, but needing a second to even it out. Recommended if you like dark, slightly metallic, or vampy polishes and near-black shades.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 britishmakeup on 8/2/2012 1:13:00 AM more reviews by britishmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

The formula is great as usual with Essie polishes. But the color that shows up on your nail isn't as pretty as the color in the bottle. It's duller and doesn't have the same dimensions. You don't really see all the duo chromes that you see in the bottle on your nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 girrlbot on 7/11/2012 3:22:00 PM more reviews by girrlbot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my most used polish for my fingers! The color is stunning especially in natural light because you can really see the blues and greens! Whenever I can't decide what color to paint my nails I always turn to this. The color is subtle enough to wear to work yet still fun :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missnewname on 5/21/2012 2:31:00 AM more reviews by missnewname

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This color is everything I wanted Butter London's "Bluey" to be! While "Bluey" went on a deceptively medium teal base color with blue-green shimmer, "Dive Bar" has a DARK inky blue-teal base color with teal shimmer. It is almost like navy but greener. In the bottle it looks slightly more indigo but I was happy it wasn't, as there are tons of colors like that available. "Dive Bar" is sort of unique. It reminds me of an LE Urban Decay nail polish that came in a super stingy miniature set a couple of years ago called "Grunge." That is one of my favorite colors and it's nice to have found a dupe. Although it is dark, it is not so that it appears black or anything. Two coats are all I needed to get it non streaky and opaque. The wear is good, too. Essie has one of the best polish formulas IMO!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silkpuppet on 3/13/2012 9:24:00 PM more reviews by silkpuppet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was drawn to Dive Bar because of its dark, opalescent teal shimmer. I never gravitate toward blues or greens in nail polish but this was so eye-catching. I applied two coats and was fairly satisfied with the formula, a little drippy but nothing major. Initially, I found the color to be a flat gunmetal/navy and was bummed. Once I stepped outside into natural sunlight, I could see the super fine green and teal shimmer within the dark base. It is a really unique polish and takes on different sheens and tones depending on your outfit and the lighting. If you love variations of black/dark polish, I recommend you try this. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 3/4/2012 9:39:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this color - but even better as a base with others on top (It reads grayinsh on me - but I still get the blue/teal/green. This looks great with China Glaze Quirky Smile over top. A funky, rich, deep blue/green shade. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fleetgoddess21 on 2/14/2012 3:19:00 PM more reviews by fleetgoddess21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Dear god I'm in love. I adore moody complex dark colors besides just gunmetal and black and this absolutely nails it for me. I love blues and emeralds and teals but this color is so unusual and complex with its darkness. Its so incredibly smooth too. Sometimes I love Essie polishes and sometimes I really hate them. This one is a huge huge love.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products