NARS • Larger Than Life Long-Wear Eyeliner - Via Veneto • Eyeliner

rated 3.4(47 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 wrocamora on 8/19/2014 8:40:00 PM more reviews by wrocamora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeliner was not worth the price I paid for it. Despite it's long-wearing claims, I find that it smudges easily on my oily eyelids and waterline. I have tried far more pigmented liners that stay put from Urban Decay, Stila, MUFE, and even the drugstore. I do like that it is quite creamy and that it is a twist up pencil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 7/14/2014 4:53:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
- Creamy but sets quick.
- twist up do you don't have to sharpen
- dark, black color
- stays put on water line
- does not smudge

Cons:
- pricey
- if you're looking for something as dark as urban decay's perversion, this isn't as dark as the UD eye liner
- many dupes out there (prestige total intensity eyeliner in "black" is an awesome and affordable eyeliner)

Overall, I would repurchase!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Claire2612 on 6/26/2014 6:15:00 AM more reviews by Claire2612

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to LOVE this product...and the SA said that she sold this eyeliner to a lot of Asian girls and swore it wouldn't smudge. It doesn't smudge. BUT this eyeliner unfortunately irritated my eyes terribly :( I tight lined my upper waterline and my eyes started watering and the next day I woke up with red puffy eyes and some conjunctivitis. Yuck. I thought maybe I was sick but after searching online it was obvious I had had an reaction to the eyeliner.

So...if you are after a smudge proof eyeliner - and trust me I have tried a lot of eyeliners and this is the first one that doesn't smudge...! Buy this. It just didn't work for me - but not because it smudged but because of a stupid allergic reaction :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Andtaylorr on 6/4/2014 1:27:00 AM more reviews by Andtaylorr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Best black eye liner hands down I've ever tried. I've tried countless eyeliners in my lower and upper waterline and everything seems to smudge/smear off. And I have Asian eyes so it's hard to find a good black eyeliner to put on my waterline. and nothing compares to this eyeliner. When I put this eyeliner on it says in my water line all day, this thing won't budge! It's not a smudge able eyeliner! The liner comes with a twist bottom so you don't have to sharpen every time! Will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 smanha on 5/27/2014 8:14:00 PM more reviews by smanha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This liner doesn't last as long as I hoped it would. I use it mostly on my upper lash line: it's smudged, faded, and gone within 4-6 hours. It's a shame! The formula is creamy , and the color is bright. I just wish it would stay put!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* channingto on 5/6/2014 7:50:00 PM more reviews by channingto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I love this for my upper tightline! I never ever use pencil on my lids because they are oily and I find that liquid eyeliners last the best there (revlon's colorstay liquid eyeliner). I don't use it on my waterline because I don't like the look of that on me and I think it's impossible for my oily and watery eyes to find one that would stay even if I liked that.

I've been in search of a pencil liner for my upper tightline. I've tried gel and even that fades plus it's more of a hassle. I've tried creamy pencils, dry pencils and pencils that tug. None have even come close to
working for me - LITERALLY only lasting a MAXIMUM of 30 minutes when placed in the upper waterline. I have very long days because I need to get up early and I stay up late so my days are often 16-18 hours long.

Let me preface by saying that my eyelids are very very oily, watery and I touch my eyes a lot. UD primer potion creases on me. Nars smudge proof eye primer works the best for me but can crease at the end of a very very long day. Without a primer, maybelline color tattoos crease like no other. Basically when I take out an oil blotting sheet, I pat that over my eyelids too.

First off, this eyeliner goes on so easily, which worried me that it'd slide off, but it has a thicker consistency as opposed to just creamy like UD pencils which don't last more than 10 minutes on me. It's very very black and I love that especially for the purpose of tightlining. I tested this the first day and had issues with allergies and put in eye drops several times throughout the day. By the end of the day, the outer and inner corners faded and left light smudges under my eyes but the majority of the middle was still there and looked amazing. It may be a deal breaker for some since it faded on the edges but for me, this really is as good as it gets. So now I just line most of my tightline leaving just a bit of buffer on the edges (not noticeable) and it lasts all day!! I'm amazed. Let me say that it is NOT perfect at the end of the day. It fades slightly but what I love that it doesn't transfer to my lower waterline at all, which I've always had a problem with. It just fades away. No black eye boogers at the end of the day.

Thought I should mention - after putting it on, it can be tricky to layer.. When I went over the line again after a few seconds, it rubbed some off but after going back over it a few swipes it was fine.

ALSO. When my boyfriend saw me in the morning, he asked if I had false lashes on. I didn't. He said it looked much fuller. !!! This sold it for me. I have sparse thin lashes and tightlining with this saves them - especially when I skip my liquid liner.

Yes it's expensive. Of course I'd love a bigger bang for my buck - but for what it gives me, I NEED this! The way this blows everything else out of the water just sells itself. So happy I gave this a try.

I don't think it's last on the lid or waterline if you have any issues with oiliness or watery eyes but if you're looking for a pencil to tightline - give it a go if your store supports returns. If not, I'd say break off some of the tip at the store for hygene, try it, break off the tip (for the next person), and go back later if you're happy with it at the end of the day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crystal105 on 4/30/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by crystal105

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Fail. It's not the worst eyeliner I've ever used, but I will not buy it again. It's not all that long lasting, it's not especially smooth and it will literally flake off. I think that whatever is in it that's supposed to make it long lasting is what makes it flakey. It's not that it's overly smudgy, it's just not any less smudgy then much cheaper eyeliners. Not awful, but should probably cost $4. Even at $4, I probably would not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 winghin on 4/23/2014 12:55:00 AM more reviews by winghin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The main reason why I purchase this was that the Sephora beauty advisor said this one is smudge and water proof. I've tried it on the back of my hand on the spot and doesn't rub off...which I thought I got myself a winner. WRONG. Totally a different story on my eyes. Smudges, rubs off easily and not pigmented. This is not cheap either. This is disappointing, Nars!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CODYKERI on 2/16/2014 3:29:00 PM more reviews by CODYKERI

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love the color, and how easily it applies, but like others said it is so difficult to sharpen and didn't last long on me at all. won't be rebuying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lingre on 1/5/2014 4:23:00 PM more reviews by lingre

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love the copper brown color but then theres not much else I like about this eyeliner which is so unfortunate! It goes on very very easily but it comes off just as easily! Its really awful. I have year round allergy sinus issues so I may touch my eyes a little more than the next person but I've used many different types of eyeliners and this one is at the bottom of my list... There is nothing long-wear about this. Its really disappointing. I almost want to use my Tarte Amazonian Clay powder on top of it and see if it stays better. That may help the top lids but I also line the bottom lids. I have large eyes (think Mila Kunis) so I have a lot of eyelid to work with, this just not sit well at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eyeliner products