NARS Larger Than Life Long-Wear Eyeliner - Via Veneto

3.5

57 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/21/2015 10:00:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I got this in a bday set from sephora. It had 3 Nars products in the set (2 lip crayons & this eyeliner). I hadn't broke out the eyeliner to use until recently (my bday is in March). Idk the FRP of this eyeliner because it was free but I'd totally rebuy this when I run out. Really great very black & I've slept in if I admit & it remained relatively the same as when I applied it which I found amazing. I love it is retractable (NYC u got go catch up!) I don't know how go use the sharpener I don't want to waste precious product. This is better than my MUFE AquaEyes pencil. This is non smudging so if you want to smoke it out I would rec'd Urban Decay pencils. This makes a neat tidy tightline/waterline very precise formed lines. They don't blend out but that is the whole concept "point"!! I love Nars but I cannot afford much of it. I have a few treasured items!!! A good way to wear this is to line (w a sharpened tip the end of the Nars includes a sharpener) the outer 3rd of the eye just immediately above the lash line & tight line the last 1/4 of the way to the outer part of the eye in addition then do your waterline on the bottom & keep the waterline going past the eye in a very small flick & if u need to sharpen it up u can use a precision qtip dipped in a non oily euemakeup remover (EL in the dark blue plastic bottle w the gold cap is awesome) or even better Almay remover pre soaked qtips to sharpen/clean it up but that makes a classy subtle wing w a pencil. learned this from MUA diff product review who in turn learned it from a fancy place before you think I'm some high class broad I've never been to that particular store & YMMV but I tried it w this liner w awesome results! My most treasured eyeliner pencil.



on 6/11/2015 7:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I first picked up this eyeliner a couple of years ago because I was completely out of eyeliner and it caught my eye. This is honestly my holy grail eyeliner. It's very pigmented, very creamy and it lasts (both on the eye and the pencil itself, if that makes sense.) I've never had problems with smudging on my lid or my waterline and it stays all day. Thankfully though it comes off easily at the end of the day. I really love the sharpener at the base of the packaging, I don't use it a lot but if I want a really precise and thin line I reach for it.

The only problem I've had with this is that if I tightline and wear contacts it irritates my eyes a bit.

From my experience it's completely worth the money.


on 4/12/2015 1:30:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This came in a Sephora Favorites kit, maybe about half normal size. I like that it twists up. It goes on pretty black and doesn't drag, is smooth. But for some reason, it'll stay in my upper tightline but not my lower. I'll continue to use it for lining and layering black powder over it but I won't use it for tightlining anymore.


on 3/18/2015 12:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is better than urban decays zero. It lasts all day but isn't intense black. It's also retractable which is a plus I don't have to sharpen.


on 2/21/2015 8:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

When I got this, I was so excited after hearing all the rave reviews it had on youtube. However, with the experience I had I am left totally confused. I honestly think something was wrong with mine because it just seems so off from what others are saying. This is not only the worst eyeliner I've ever tried, but one of the worst products. When I opened it, it was fine. I would say it performed like a mediocre eyeliner. It lasted all day, but the pigment was not great. I was determined to make this work, though. I started to notice, though, that it was drying out rather quickly. Weird for a pencil eyeliner, right? Anyways, I put it away for a little while and when I revisited it again a short while later I was confronted not with an eyeliner, but what can only described as rock shaped like an eyeliner. When it hurt my eyes and no pigment came off because it was so hard and dry, I thought that perhaps warming it up on the back of my hand would help. You know how you get that faint white line when you scratch your fingernail against your skin? That's what happened when I tried this. I'm trying to think of positives for this and the best I can come up with is that it at least was a mediocre eyeliner for about two months before drying out. But I'm not sure if something was wrong with mine because mine seems to be quite a unique experience. I'm not going to buy it again, though, just in case this is how the eyeliner really is. Based on my experience, I am going to say to stay far away from this eyeliner but I have a suspicion that mine could have bad. Also, a lot of people have had success with it so I say if you really want to you should try it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2015 10:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Eyeliner didn't work for me for a variety of reasons. The color itself is a soft black, definitely nowhere near as pigmented as Urban Decay's Perversion, or Milani's Liquifeye in black. It also irritated my eyes, and I wear contacts. Overall, wouldn't repurchase.

Pros: twist up eyeliner, no sharpening needed!
Cons: flaked everywhere, I could see it on my under eye with tiny specks of black, not a good look. It's on the drier side of eyeliners, difficult to smudge.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the longest lasting pencil eyeliner ive found. For reference urban decay is a smudgy mess on me. I have oil pretty much everywhere. I love it for drawing the top line too, stays put and i NEVER use pencil for the top due to my oilyness but this is the only one i can. BUT if you want something to smudge or smoke out this is too hard for that. Its not that type of pencil you need to be firm with this. If you want softer but good lasting power perhaps mac prolongwear in definedly black. Thats softer. This is more like loreal infalliable if you want a drugstore option. Really smudgey one is the urban decay, much softer pencil for me a mess, for many a pleasure to use. Toodles


on 1/20/2015 8:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

These are the only pencil liners that stay put on my waterline and don't transfer to my upper eyelids. Love these! I only wish, and I know that's why they stay, that they were a little creamier.


on 1/11/2015 11:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

Via Veneto is a pitch black matte eye liner from NARS. It is a twist up (mechanical) pencil and the claim is that it last for 12 hours. This does not glide on smoothly, the texture is harder than the make up forever eyeliner and the Urban Decay 24/7. I tested this out for over 24 hours and this does last with minimum smudging on the upper lash line. However for the waterline it smudged within 3 hours. Check out my video for the before and after pictures.






on 1/8/2015 9:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use this eyeliner for lining my upper water line every day. No smudges, ever. I put this one early in the morning and usually remove my makeup at 9/10 p.m.. Never once find any black smudges under my eyes. This stuff is fantastic.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Sephora VIB ROUGE/Beauty Insider Birthday Gift 2015 by Orange mint Pop



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Jungle Red

61 reviews
image

Exhibit A

361 reviews
Back to Top