Maybelline • eye studio color explosion in amethyst ablazed • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 handfulofgoo on 7/22/2013 8:42:00 PM more reviews by handfulofgoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: WET THESE BEFORE USING THEM! Wet your brush or sponge! Makes a huge difference :) I'm so happy now

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alg208 on 5/3/2013 2:27:00 PM more reviews by alg208

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Green    

i like these. the pricing is around $11.00 depending where you get it, which is pretty expensive for drugstore. these aren't perfect. they're not a must-have. since i have green eyes, purple brings out my eyes so that's why i bought it. these eyeshadows are a bit chalky and aren't true to their color. if you're using this palette, i'd suggest putting on your eye makeup first and then your face makeup, as this has a lot of fallout. i had high hopes in the glittery silver, it's chalky. the darkest purple is a bit chalky. the light pink purple on the left is pigmented and buttery. the bright purple on the right is not true to color, but pretty pigmented. and the highlight color at the bottom is super pigmented. i like these but it ranges too much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 spookibelle on 9/27/2012 11:52:00 PM more reviews by spookibelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to buy Amethyst Ablaze for a long time, but I was disappointed. The colours look like when swatched (heavily), but when I applied the right triangle (cool-toned purple) to my lid and tried to blend it, it came out really patchy and difficult to work with. The highlight shade is nothing (doesn't show up/disappears), and while the glitter is pretty, it's loose glitter- it will get all over your face. I've had better luck using the deepest purple, just on my lower lash lines. I will try the pinky-purple shade, but I'm not expecting much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovemyxb on 9/16/2012 10:40:00 PM more reviews by ilovemyxb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

OMG! when i saw the ads for this i knew i just HAD to have it! but it was kinda expensive (cvs 11.00) and just wasnt ready to get it. but as life would have it, my other Maybelline purple shadow (i dont know the name, but it had 3 pretty purples in it) fell and broke :( so i decided this was the time to get this quad! it is wonderful! the colors are bright and bold. beautiful! really looks good with green eyes! the silver is cool as an all over glitter or you can use it to high light your inner corner. all the colors blend so well... i have used this with the green quad and had a lot of good ,makeup days with it! cant wait to try the browns! i would rec everyone to try this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rubie93 on 7/22/2012 5:40:00 AM more reviews by rubie93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Really pretty shimmery purple colors, very high quality. However you get insane fallout so when using these eyeshadows make sure to do your foundation/concealer last or it will probably come off while you're scrubbing madly at your face to get rid of the fallout.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChinaGlazeJunkie on 5/30/2012 3:53:00 AM more reviews by ChinaGlazeJunkie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Purple is my favorite color and this is my HG for purple shadows. The colors are very vibrant and make my brown eyes pop. Very rarely will I hit pan on an eyeshadow. I use this so much I hit pan a couple months after I bought it. Now I have one in my train case and another one in my purse. The colors are so versatile. I can have a day look that goes to a night look very quickly. As long as I use a primer I don't have fallout and it lasts until I take it off at night. I hope this is never discontinued. I have and will buy it again. I've recommended it to many people. My sister tried many times to steal it before she bought her own. It looks great with her green eyes just as it makes my brown eyes pop. Run, don't walk, and get this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tango2470 on 11/25/2011 1:39:00 AM more reviews by tango2470

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Once again, the top shade is not simply an eyeshadow, it is a sheer glitter that you can apply on top of the shadow if you prefer a glittery look, otherwise, avoid it, it does not apply well as an eyeshadow.

I love this palette, it is pigmented, and comes with a nice range of tones, it comes with:

a very soft pinky toned lilac
a warm light purple
a darker cool toned purple/lavender
deep purple
silver toned glitter top coat

These are very purple, they are not plum, but rather purple, which I like

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ExoticDoll on 11/22/2011 2:30:00 AM more reviews by ExoticDoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this palette with no high expectations. I usually don't use drugstore eyeshadows as I've tried some from Covergirl and Revlon and wasn't too impressed, so I didn't have much high hopes for this brand. However, I was blown away with this palette! The texture is smooth and silky and isn't chalky or crumbly. The colors are pigmented, vibrant and SO long lasting! I used this with my UDPP prior to application and it lasted all day long. I received TONS of compliments on my eye make-up and everyone was blown away when I told them this was from Maybelline! They all thought it was MAC or Urban Decay. I am so very impressed and pleased with this palette. It is gorgeous and you cannot beat the price. I'll be trying the other shades for sure!

For reference, I am a MAC NC42 / black hair/ Light brown eyes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 paulinapwns on 11/4/2011 7:25:00 PM more reviews by paulinapwns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

if you absolutey love this pallet but gave up on it because it wont work with your normal primer or fades too easily, go purchase TOO FACED GLITTER GLUE PRIMER. it not only makes the colors POP but it makes it last ALLL night, till you wash it off. i wore it to a 10hr music festival & even after all the dancing & sweating the colors still stayed on & at the end of the night, they were still true to the colors on the pallet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cnd0020 on 10/2/2011 1:59:00 PM more reviews by cnd0020

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Applied these shadows dry over a paint pot primer, but the highlight shade and sparkle shade completely faded in about 3 hours. The other colors looked faded and muddy in about 5 hours.

EDIT: Tried applying a little spritz of water in my palm and dipping the brush in it, then into the shadow. It makes all the difference in the world. These are stunning and true to pan when applied wet.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products