Nuance by Salma Hayek • Quinoa Smooth & Shine • Hair

rated 3.3(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 michelleengler on 6/28/2012 12:23:00 PM more reviews by michelleengler

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am completely blown away by the quality of this shampoo and conditioner. I know many people overuse this phrase so much when reviewing products, but this is truly THE BEST DRUGSTORE SHAMPOO & CONDITIONER I HAVE EVER USED. I have fine (but tons of it), naturally curly hair that I am constantly using a flat iron on because I do not like to wear my hair natural/curly. I have to be extremely careful with the products I use because not only is it fine and naturally curly, but it is fragile and very prone to dryness, split ends, and frizz. It did absolutely everything it claimed it would do up to and including drastically reducing my blow-drying/styling time. My hair was shiny, more manageable, much less frizzy than it normally is after blow-drying, and not to mention smelled wonderful (and still does-I washed my hair last night, slept on it, and it still smells like I just stepped out of the shower). Couldn't be happier with the product and the price is beyond affordable! :) Today I plan on purchasing the Meadowfoam Leave-In as well as the Anti-Frizz Serum since all of the products in this line I've tried have been so impressive. :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LolaBlue on 4/5/2012 9:47:00 AM more reviews by LolaBlue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

OMG I'm in love. Seriously, in love. I have thick, long, partially color treated hair (I'm growing it out), and this stuff is freakin' amazing. It makes my hair so soft and shiny, and the scent! The scent alone is enough to make me love it. I was a little hesitant to pay $8 per bottle, but it's very concentrated stuff and I find even with my hair a bottle lasts me a couple of months (I was my hair every other day). It doesn't irritate my scalp like a lot of shampoos do, but it gets it perfectly clean, and the conditioner leaves my hair tangle-free and shiny. And on a slightly shallow note I love the packaging of this line; very chic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lipstickbullet on 1/3/2012 11:19:00 AM more reviews by lipstickbullet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have straight hair and it is thick so I tend to opt for smoothing shampoos. I also love trying new products so after running out of BioSilk, I decided to give this a try. I rate is as being middle of the road, not too great but not terrible. About the same as any other drugstore shampoo...comparable to the Herbal Essences smoothing formula. Glad I gave it a try...but will try something else when the time comes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kellyowl on 12/21/2011 1:32:00 AM more reviews by kellyowl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

So sad this didn't end up working for me! I went to CVS when I ran out of conditioner, and when I saw this I decided to be spontaneous and give it a try since I never heard of it before - wish I hadn't! Even in the shower while my hair was soaking wet, I could feel how dry it was starting to feel. My hands AND wide toothed comb got stuck in tangles that I never knew a conditioner could create. It only got worse when my hair was damp, and by the time it was completely dry? Hellllllo frizz ball! My hair was super poofy, dry and frizzier than a humid day in August. No thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Maureen on 11/14/2011 7:41:00 PM more reviews by Maureen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Perfectly adequate performance. KILLER AWESOME FRAGRANCE. I'm one of those Kerastase-believers who go to any lengths for lovely hair, because I choose to relax it, which means all other care has to be thoughtful and extremely beneficial to hair, given that deadly relaxer blow I deal it about twice a year.

This shampoo and conditioner did nothing to harm my hair that I can tell. Just keeps it status quo. But that SMELL! That SCENT! Oh my gosh, it's amazing. So amazing that I've been using this set exclusively for the past month (that's also how I can tell that it hasn't harmed my hair - gave this stuff a good run). No WAY that scent can have an organic or natural origin, it's too complex and lovely. Remember the way the old, original Pantene smelled (in your nostaligic mind?) Or how Revlon Fabulous (or was it Outrageous? I forget the name) smelled? Like above and beyond "normal" shampoo smell. I find myself with the most gorgeous-scented fingertips, and sometimes my old mind forgets from whence the scent came --- then I remember, it's from my HAIR!

I've had a couple men comment on it, too, that I smell so good. Hell yeah I do.

No complaints here, but this set is not spectacular, either, as in I haven't seen a marked improvement, just no harm. That's assez bien, in other words. So 3 lipsticks for performance, and an extra one for OMG, THAT FRAGRANCE!

You know, if WEN had that scent, I'd so be a WEN girl. Like, with the quickness. Ah well.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chuchu33 on 10/5/2011 11:51:00 AM more reviews by chuchu33

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well, I love Salma Hayek so I was super excited to try her stuff out. I got this Shampoo and Conditioner and I have to say I really dont like it. :( I tried it and my hair was frizzy and looked dull and it seemed to make my hair look broken? But I was an optimist, as I changed my hair brush too...I thought maybe the new hair brush caused those issues. So I tried it again with my old faithful hair brush that I know works great and I still had the exact same issue, so it was this shampoo and conditioner. It smells awesome and the bottles look sleek and sexy, It's just not the right stuff for my hair. Up for swap it goes. For reference my hair is dark brown and wavy, not super thick but not thin either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 9/28/2011 8:07:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been waiting for this line to reach my local CVS store and could not wait to try it. I decided on trying out the conditioner. It does smell really good and has a nice thick, creamy texture. When I was rinsing my hair out, my hair felt silky and soft like seaweed. Thats where all the positive aspects end. I found that the dry down was horrible on my hair. My hair was frizzy and looked dull. It does have good natural ingredients and I will probabaly try it as a leave-in instead or maybe purchase the matching shampoo to see if my results are better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendigrl on 9/9/2011 7:51:00 PM more reviews by wendigrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like it! I did what it said it would do and IT SMELLS LIKE WHAT FLOWERS IN HEAVEN WOULD SMELL LIKE. Or so I would like to think :) I will keep using because the scent and would re-purchase for the scent. It takes my nose to happy, happy place. I also love the idea behind the whole line too. Can't wait to try more stuffs by her.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alchemii on 8/15/2011 3:20:00 AM more reviews by alchemii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the smoothing hair line! it smells so good! AND I LOVE THAT IS PARABEN FREE! i have to say I am really impressed with Salma Hayeks products. I have tried numerous things...and the skincare line is just amazing. Great natural ingredients, and feels luxurious =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 supergirlieque on 8/10/2011 9:35:00 PM more reviews by supergirlieque

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Tried this new line from CVS and the only really good thing it has going for it is the scent. It smells AMAZING, truly. But as far as a shampoo/conditioner line, it's alright. It certainly didn't ruin my hair, and I guess it did what it said- my hair was smooth & shiny- but other products do a WAY better job of it. Thinking of it now, when I first got out of the shower I actually thought it had dried out my hair until I brushed it (which wasn't a pain) and blow-dried it (yeah, I still heat style) when I saw that my hair looked alright. Again, just alright. IN the shower, as I said, the scent was DIVINE and the shampoo lathered pretty well. The conditioner was thick-ish and clung to my hair when I applied it but was also pretty easy to rinse out. I have long, colored, overall pretty healthy hair and this kept it that way. I wasn't too impressed though, so I recommend saving your money. This line is pretty pricey (for DS brand) and the packaging is awful! The plastic on the bottles is SO hard I can already tell squeezing out the dregs of the product is going to be quite difficult.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Nuance by Salma Hayek products

More Hair products