Oscar Blandi • dry styling heat protect spray • Styling Products

rated 4.7(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 JeanLE on 8/20/2014 4:16:00 PM more reviews by JeanLE

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was looking for a dry heat protectant, rather than 1 that goes on wet/damp hair. I found this in a discount store and tried it: it's fabulous! I guess I'm the only reviewer that doesn't mind the fresh, lemony scent! I think it smells nice and it disappears immediately anyway. I usually put this on after blow drying and before using my irons. I swear, it seems to provide a light hold which is an added benefit and it definitely makes my hair less frizzy and smoother. It works whether curling or straightening and I snap it up whenever I find it at the discounters, but I have paid full price even though it killed me because it's worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bikerchick on 6/30/2014 2:54:00 PM more reviews by bikerchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Where has this been all my life?? This is probably the best heat protectant I have ever used. I have long (mid-back length), thick, wavy, damaged hair that I heat style almost every day. When I use the Oscar Blandi protectant I really feel like my hair is being protected from the high heat of my flat iron. I'm left with soft, smooth, and shiny hair that also smells great! It doesn't leave my hair flat or greasy. It's a bit on the expensive side, but I will repurchase for sure! It is worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 3/18/2014 8:41:00 PM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really liked this product, but deducted a lippie because usually heat protectant products have some other property to them; smoothing, anti-frizz, etc. This one is simply a heat protectant. I do feel as though it actually protected my hair from all heat styling, as it appeared shiny and healthy even after multiple blow drying/curling iron blasts within a few days. It's a bit pricey, (around $20-25? at Sephora) but lasted me several months with almost every day use. If you're looking for a good heat protectant, try this. However, there are many products out there that are multi-faceted that may be more of a bang for your buck!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misscynthia06 on 3/16/2014 6:48:00 PM more reviews by misscynthia06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product. I only wash my hair twice a week and use this to protect my hair when I blow-dry and re-style on days I didn't wash.

It smells awful, like lemon pinesol...but the scent doesnt last long and once you style your hair it is virtually undectable.

This really protects your hair, It has made such a difference in my blow-dry routine.

I usually find this for around $7.99 at Marshalls/TJ Maxx, I have also seen it at Target for around $16, and Sephora sells for $23. Obviously better to find a cheaper source, but honestly I would pay full price because I really believe this product is protecting my hair from all the crap I do to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lauraasti on 2/6/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by Lauraasti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Finally found my HG heat spray! Every other spray I've used left my medium thick (but getting thinner since coloring over the past few months) hair flat, greasy and dirty looking. I looked over this and tried other brands at first, but that was such a waste! Goes on so fine, I got worried it wasn't spraying at all at first. Not even remotely greasy and doesn't cause buildup at all. And it dries fast, which is great if you're getting ready in a hurry! It does have a lemony cleaning chemical scent, but it doesn't bother me and it fades very quickly. I also love that it's alcohol-free and I feel better about putting one less drying alcohol product on my hair. I tried the travel size bottle first, in case it let me down like every other product, but soon went right back to buy the full-size! Much pricier than my budget prefers ($24 for full-size, $11 for travel size) but a little goes a long way and my hair looks great. I especially love that I don't wash my hair every day (fake redhead problems), but this doesn't make it look greasy at all, even after a few days. I don't think enough people know about this product and they're missing out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Texas22 on 12/25/2013 9:38:00 AM more reviews by Texas22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. You have no idea how long I searched for an aerosol heat protectant. I let my hair air dry 50% of the time and I don't put product in it while its wet, so I needed something to use before curling/straightening while dry. I spray a mostly on my roots and ends, and it's NEVER crunchy. (Of course, use in moderation...a little goes a long way) I beat style my hair every other day and only get. It cut twice a year. My hair dresser never complains and says my hair is extremely healthy for what I put it through. Only a few split ends and hardly any breakage, and I have VERY fine hair. Like...baby fine.

Two downsides are the smell and the price. It smells exactly like lemon pinesol. I make sure to walk out of my bathroom to spray, for fear of suffocation haha. But you get used to it. The price is a bit high at around $25, but I've been lucky and have been able to find it at Marshall's a few times for $8. I snatch it up and save it every chance I get.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 candykiss on 8/29/2013 6:57:00 PM more reviews by candykiss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product,makes my hair soft and protects it from my flatiron. sprays on dry and leaves no residue. It does have a strong perfume fragrance at first but quickly goes away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiaDGB on 7/22/2013 3:26:00 PM more reviews by TiaDGB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! Before this, I was using the Frizz-Ease Thermal Protection Serum, which I loved, but since I already use a serum for my leave-in, adding another serum over top was just weighing my fine hair down. This can be used in conjunction with virtually ANY other hair product, without coating your hair in greasy layers of product and weighing your strands down.

This product is just as the name says; A virtually weightless, dry spray. It leaves hair soft, shiny, smooth, and manageable. It seems to provide light hold, but it does not take the place of hair spray (for those who use it). The product claims to protect hair up to 450 degrees, and it seems to do so. After straightening and blow-drying, my hair is free of that gross burnt smell that I get when I don't use this. Plus, this even controls frizz!

I would also like to say that this product is excellent for everyday use (even for those who don't wash their hair everyday). Due to my fragile, dry hair, I only wash 2x a week, and I can literally apply this product everyday between washes without getting any buildup. It's awesome!

My only gripe about this product is that it smells kind of like a cleaning product, but since the odor does not linger in your hair, I can deal with it.

It retails for $23 at Sephora, but I purchase mine from Winners (a Canadian department store, for any Americanos reading this) for like $7.99. I will gladly pay full price for this if I end up having to though. It's just THAT good! Highly recommend.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minnaC on 1/31/2013 3:42:00 PM more reviews by minnaC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I received a free sample sized can of this and I love it! It really helps make my hair shiny, soft, and feel healthier after I've straightened it with no mercy. It cuts straightening my somewhat wavy hair by 2/3 the time. One thing I don't like is the scent. I'm sure other hair products smell worse but I don't use many other hair styling products so I'm just not in love with this scent and it is pricey. I think I will purchase a full size when I run out of the sample!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sangrmahlia on 5/14/2012 12:16:00 AM more reviews by sangrmahlia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This product is expensive but I will be restocking because I can see, feel and even smell the difference when I blow-dry my hair with and without it. I had terrible depigmentation (my hair used to be jet black but after meddling with heat styling it turned slightly brunette, so sad) and about two weeks after using this every time I blow dry my hair I started noticing it has become darker again. Also the end result is very smooth and shiny, and I had none of those burnt smell after. The only downside is it smells a bit like my floor cleaner. I have had this for almost three months now and have been using it very sparingly because a little already goes a long way for me (on my first try I think I overdone it because it's a spray and I didn't really feel it on my hair but later I learnt using a small amount is good enough). I'm not sure of its holding ability because I'm only using it for a straight blow-dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Oscar Blandi products

More Styling Products products